#BlogTour! #Review of Lie to Me by Jess Ryder (@jessryderauthor) @Bookouture

ltm1

How can you tell the truth… if all you’ve ever known is a lie?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera? 

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

What does TWG think?

‘Lie to Me’ intrigued me from the very first moment I laid my eyes on the cover and the title; I couldn’t wait to get stuck into what I hoped would be a rollercoaster storyline.

Meredith is at the age where she has the ability to stand on her own two feet, as well as having the option to use her own mind to work out whether something should be pursued or not. Whether Meredith CHOOSES to think for herself or stand on her own two feet, is another thing entirely; especially where her father is concerned. After all, aren’t daughters the apple of their fathers eyes?

To begin with, there was no tip toeing around a storyline or the characters emotions, it was as though I had nose dived into a quicksand moment in the plot; all I could do was watch the events unfold without budging. I tried to get my head around what was happening but seeing as I had only come across one small piece of a MASSIVE jigsaw puzzle, I knew I had to be patient and bide my time by getting to know the characters, look for vital clues and not over think each situation. It’s safe to say that I was rather gripped by the book nihon straight away, hard not to be with an opening like that!

A very, very promising start to the novel made TWG rather happy, I raced through the first third of the story as though my life depended on it.

There was a point in the storyline where things started to travel in slow motion; the characters seemed unsure of their destinations and the plot seemed to struggle between ‘weak’ or ‘strong’. Don’t get me wrong, there were times where my palms became sweaty and Jess Ryder’s fantastic, descriptive writing created vivid imagery in my head, yet every now and then it just…dipped. For me, the parts where Meredith took control by going one step further when she shouldn’t have done, were my most favourite parts as they were the most gripping to read. However, what confused me the most was getting told brand new information, new characters getting involved yet none of which led to any clear resolutions. Instead, I found myself with a lot more questions than answers, all of which I hoped would conclude further on in the book; unfortunately I found that to not be the case.

I can clearly see what the author had set out to do in terms of suspense and grit, she did manage to achieve the desired effect for a lot of the book in my opinion. However, the lack of conclusion left me feeling a little bit unfulfilled. Now, if Ryder came back with another book following on from ‘Lie to Me’, that would be a whole new story and one I would LOVE to see happen. It really does have the premise to expand into another book and I really do feel as though it may give the author more scope to tie up some loose ends.

Overall, I did quite enjoy ‘Lie to Me’, thanks to its rather gritty and descriptive storyline, as well as it’s punch main character, Meredith. ‘Lie to Me’ has the punch, the suspense and enough skeletons in its closet to rival The Addams Family. Even though I couldn’t gel with a proportion of the storyline, I am really looking forward to seeing what Jess Ryder releases next.

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy from Amazon UK
Buy from Amazon US

About the author

Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer.  After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime.  Writing, that is.   So she’s very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me.  Her other big love is making pots.

https://twitter.com/jessryderauthor

We have come to the end of Jess Ryder’s blog tour for her debut novel, Lie to Me! Incase you have missed any of the previous stops on the blog tour, you can find the blog details below. Huge thanks to Bookouture for including me on this tour!

ltm

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review of Lie to Me by Jess Ryder (@jessryderauthor) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

