#BookReview! The First Time Mums’ Club by Lucie Wheeler (@lucie_wheeler) @HarperImpulse

lw

A gorgeous, heartwarming debut for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Paige Toon and The Unmumsy Mum!

Meet Pippa…

After years of trying and a failed IVF attempt, Pippa is thrilled to see two little lines appear on a pregnancy test. Finally a precious baby to call her own. This is all Pippa has ever wanted…if only husband Jason could show just a little excitement.

Imogen…

A baby is the icing on the cake for Imogen and Alice – proof that their love for each other can overcome any obstacle. But when Imogen starts receiving malicious texts, it’s clear that not everyone is thrilled about the girls’ good news.

And Ellie…

A drunken one-night stand and Ellie’s life is ruined! Pregnant, jobless and the relationship with her best friend, Chris, over- forever. Because Chris just happens to be the father of Ellie’s baby…and potentially the love of her life!

For these first time mums the road to motherhood is bumpier than most!

What does TWG think?

If I wasn’t broody before I read this novel, I sure as hell am now!!! Waiting for Lucie Wheeler’s book to land amongst the blogger community was quite similar to the last month of pregnancy; long and couldn’t come quick enough! The thing is though folks, I am rather disappointed. You know when you wait an absolute age for something whilst getting more and more excited as each day passes, the day finally arrives and you end up feeling ‘OH’, ever get that? I am at that point, so I am rather disappointed.

I mean, WHY THE MATERNITY DID THE BOOK HAVE TO END?!?!?! Nobody told me that it would end…I wasn’t prepared for the story to finish and be left sitting there. -cries eyes out- I WANTED TO STAY WITH IMOGENNNNNNNN, WAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Ohhhhhhh, sorry, did you think I was going to say that I was disappointed with the book? Er hell no! Being a mummy myself I was able to relate to a lot of the storyline, especially Ellie’s situation (to a point). Pippa, Imogen and Ellie all have babies on the brain, after all, all three ladies are expecting! At first the ladies are complete strangers yet they are all drawn to a certain café. Well, seeing as it’s Ellie’s sister who owns the café it would be a bit tricky for her not to be drawn to it…

Each lady has their own individual story; Pippa is married to husband Jason and after a failed attempt at IVF, they’re FINALLY going to be parents, Imogen is married to wife Alice and despite all of the hurdles their relationship has had to jump over, they are about to complete their family with a baby of their very own. Oh, and finally, there is Ellie who is probably the least maternal woman of the group, yet ta-daaaa she is about to become a mummy after a drunken sha….shenanigan left her eating for two. And you know what? They’re all unbelievably fabulous!

If you’re a pregnant, first time mum and are currently experiencing feelings such as the ones mentioned in this storyline, or if you have already had your baby(ies), you’ll know that finding out you’re pregnant has got to be one of the most phenomenal yet terrifying experiences. Yes, even if the pregnancy is planned! Lucie Wheeler has captured those fears, apprehension and sheer enjoyment, in every part of her storyline absolutely magnificently. A lot of people may think that pregnancy and impending parenthood will be a vision of white roses and bouncing rabbits (well, that was how you got there), when in reality it’s not always like that. Lucie Wheeler has taken the topic of pregnancy, laid it bare and written about it in such a black and white manner; aka realistically. Take Ellie for example; as soon as she found out she was pregnant she felt as though her whole world had nose-dived, yet that is quite a common reaction to pregnancy, especially if unplanned!

Falling pregnant isn’t a case of wham, bam, thank you mam and a baby is made. No. Some women may need additional help or may be classed as high risk, so their feelings are going to be completely different to women who do fall pregnant on the first sniff of the Sea Man. What really impressed me with the entire storyline was how nearly every avenue was explored; fertility issues, same-sex marriage, single parent, rocky marriage and so on. Hand on heart, how many storylines do you know of that cover all of the above in one sitting?

Even though I adored every character (bar one), I resonated more with Imogen’s personality and beliefs. She became my ‘go to’ character very quickly and it was her labour that caught me more than the others. Daft eh? On a very personal level what with being considered ‘higher risk’, just like Imogen I’ve always know that I wanted to be a mummy; her fears and levels of uncertainty was as though I was watching a video of myself pregnant. Maybe that’s why I found her to be my ‘go to’ character, I don’t know.

For me, ‘The First Time Mums’ Club’ was such a flawless representation of motherhood, even where the labour was concerned! I could go on and on about Lucie Wheeler’s book all night, it really is THAT good. But I won’t though!

It is incredibly rare to read a storyline which not only captures your heart, your soul and your ovaries, it also leaves you feeling a level of fulfilment that you have never, ever felt before; just like The First Time Mums’ Club. I cannot put into words how much I adored every word and every feeling that this storyline contained; every single thing was…perfection.
Personally, ‘The First Time Mums’ Club’ had the right amount of giggles, the right amount of solidarity and girl power, the right ratio of serious to light-hearted moments, and even the right way of showing all first time mums (and mums in general) that it’s more than okay to not have everything together ALL of the time.

Lucie Wheeler’s debut novel, ‘The First Time Mums’ Club’ is such an outstanding and beautifully written tale about motherhood and friendship; I cannot tell you how much I LOVED reading this belter of a book. I was absolutely devastated to reach the end of such an empowering and fantastic book, so much so I am debating whether to read it for a second time already!

Phenomenal debut novel from the inspirational, Lucie Wheeler. It’s safe to say that ‘The First Time Mums’ Club’ is ranking in TWG’s Top 5 books of 2017 so far; roll on book two!!

Thank you HarperImpulse!

‘The First Time Mums’ Club’ will be published by HarperImpulse on the 5th May 2017 – you can pre-order the novel now from Amazon UK.

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BookReview! The First Time Mums’ Club by Lucie Wheeler (@lucie_wheeler) @HarperImpulse

  1. Reblogged this on The Writing Garnet and commented:

    It’s publication day for Lucie Wheeler and the #firsttimemumsclub! Congratulations to Lucie on the release of her debut novel! In case you missed it before, I’m reblogging my review of her book! Let’s get her book buzzing today!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: #BlogTour! #Guestpost from ‘First Time Mums’ Club’ author @lucie_wheeler @HarperImpulse | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s