#review! The Christmas Cake Café by Sue Watson (@suewatsonwriter) @Bookouture

sw
Blurb.

Heart-warming and hilarious, a story that will make you laugh, cry and bring a smile to your face.  Get ready for another deliciously amazing Christmas treat from Sue Watson….

As the Prosecco chills and Bing Crosby croons, Jen Barker just knows that her long-term boyfriend is about to propose.  But instead of a diamond ring nestled in her champagne flute, Jen finds cold flat rejection.  Her once perfect life and dreams of a husband and family seem even further from reach.

A working holiday to the Swiss Alps with her younger sister Jody might not be the Christmas Jen had it mind, but it offers her the chance to recharge her batteries and recover from heartbreak.

When Jen meets handsome ski instructor Jon Zutter her hopes for a happy-ever-after seem within her grasp again. Jon is kind and gorgeous and as they bond over Sachetorte at the picturesque Cake Café, Jen thinks he might just be her perfect man. But a relationship with him comes with a catch – and there are some things even cake can’t fix.

As the snow falls and Christmas approaches, could this be the place that restores Jen Barker’s faith in love? 

What does TWG think?

Those who know me well know that I absolutely adore Sue Watson’s books, she is one of my most favourite authors. As soon as I found out that she had another Christmas book coming out, I just HAD to read it! Her first Christmas book, Bella’s Christmas Bake Off, was one of the first books that I reviewed on my blog back in April, so I am absolutely thrilled to be reviewing her second festive treat!

Oh my word, I could literally feel Jen’s excitement as she got ready to go out, especially given the fact that she thought that her long-term boyfriend was going to propose to her! I didn’t quite realise that I had stopped breathing in shock as the events unfolded; that was until I tried to shout ‘BARSTEWARD’, and realised that breathing first might be the most logical next step. Ahem.

Heartbreak can be as horrible as finding out that you picked up a roasted parsnip instead of a roast potato during your Christmas meal. Seriously uncalled for!

Luckily for Jen, her younger sister comes to her rescue and tries to persuade Jen that a working holiday to the Swiss Alps will be the perfect remedy. Ladies an gentleman, notice that I said TRIES.

During the story, I soon realised that Jen doesn’t exactly ooze good luck and I am sorry to say that I found it absolutely hilarious. Obviously, if I found myself in the situations that she found herself in once or twice…or thrice, I probably wouldn’t be laughing. But I couldn’t help myself and decided that laughing like a seal would be my ‘go to’ action of the book!

Once again Sue Watson has completely outdone herself as she has written another fantastic book which oozes her trademark humour and huggable writing. Despite the moments of hilarity; the storyline covers a few moments of heartbreak and re-building relationships which I felt added another dimension to the storyline and showed another side to each of the characters involved. One of the topics that Sue has covered in the story is quite complex and unfortunately quite popular in todays society. However, Sue has written about it so beautifully and in such a sensitive manner, it made the topic come across as ‘the norm’ instead of possibly frowned upon.

Whenever Sue writes a book I always want to give her a huge hug after reading it as it’s very clear that the book has been written from her heart and filled with love. ‘The  Christmas Cake Cafe’ is the home away from home; a truly magical book that is filled with intense emotion and a lot of love. Such a hug in a book that showcases Sue’s fabulous writing, one of her best books to date!

Thanks to Bookouture for my ARC.

Happy publication day Sue! ‘The Christmas Cafe’ by Sue Watson, published by Bookouture,  is available to buy from today (14th October) from Amazon UK.

Advertisements

TWG’s Don’t-Snooze-You’ll-Lose Deal Day With….(@suewatsonwriter) @LittleBrownUK

At the weekend I told you that this month would be full of brilliant book deals, I wasn’t lying! Today’s book deal is courtesy of one of my all time favourite authors, and her latest release.
An author who believes that lemon cake fits nicely with love and lies. An author who wanted to channel her inner Mary Berry and bring bake off to a book, with Bella. An author who, next month, will have another scrumptious book for us to read about cake…and Christmas…and cake…

Any guesses who I might mean? Of course, it’s none other than the very talented and wonderful Sue Watson! I LOVE this lady, she has swiftly become one of my good friends. I can personally vouch for this book today as I wrote a review for it when it was released:

Blog Tour! ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’ with Sue Watson!

It is a 99p book ladies and gentlemen!!!!

suew1
Blurb.

Does first love deserve a second chance?

When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Told with warmth, wit and humour, We’ll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.

I probably sound like a worn out record, but, just like the other books that feature on the deal day, all deals are on for a LIMITED TIME ONLY. Unless of course a date is specified. At 99p for such a brilliant read, it is definitely one of my top books of the year (and I have read many already). Please don’t snooze with this one as you will regret it!

Buy ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’ from Amazon UK

If you already have read this book, or any others of Sue’s, please go and support her by writing a review. Don’t think of it like an essay, it can be a wonderfully written, constructive two lined review, at least you have written one! Authors really do thrive on the constructive reviews that they are given. Think of reviews to authors like the Eiffel Tower to Paris….

Blog Tour! ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’ with Sue Watson!

suew

Blurb

‘A charming, moving second-chance love story for fans of Thursdays in the Park, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Last Tango in Halifax.

Does first love deserve a second chance?

When she was almost seventeen, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of sixty-five and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future. And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Told with warmth, wit and humour, We’ll Always Have Paris is a charming, moving and uplifting novel about two people; the choices they make, the lives they lead and the love they share.’

Super excited today as it’s my turn on Sue Watson’s blog tour for ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’! Massive thank you to Sue for recommending me and my blog to take part, and to Clara at Little Brown/Netgalley for arranging my advanced copy in return for my honest thoughts!

‘What if?’ seems to be a recurring question, doesn’t it? We all wonder ‘what if?’ about our own lives. But have you ever wondered ‘what if?’ about your love life? Have you ever had your heart-broken by your very first love? I am imagining quote a few of you are nodding to that. But what if your first love came back into your life? Now, I’m not talking about your first love coming back into your life ONE year after. No. Not even TWO years after. How about DECADES later? Nah, it could never happen. Could it?

Sue Watson is definitely one of my ‘star struck’ authors because if I ever have the honour of meeting her, it will be like my two-year old meeting 1D (she loves them, thankfully she doesn’t understand they are no more!). Sue is such a down to Earth person and an incredible author, so when I found out from the lady herself that she was bringing out a new book, I was ecstatic. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the book, and by golly, I was not disappointed.

The first chapter of the book sets the groundwork for the rest of the story, and despite the amount of background that is given at first, it sets the scene with many unanswered questions to figure out the answers to in other chapters. Sue has written a book about heartbreak, new-found love and finding the real you. Rosie has been put in the unfortunate situation of having to re-start her life at a much later age than she probably would have liked. Life certainly has ways of keeping us on our toes.

Understandably, Rosie’s daughters are protective of their mum. But there is being protective and being made to feel ‘incapable’ due to her age and her sudden changes in personality. Is it a change though, or is it who she really is? The amount of emotion in this book caught me straight away. Each and every word has incredible emotional depth which pulls you in as though you’re under a spell. Yes, ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’ had me spellbound. I found it wonderful that not only did we learn about the Rosie ‘now’, we learnt about the Rosie ‘then’. Both of the past and present memories linked flawlessly which made the story flow with incredible ease.

Not many of us would ever have a second chance at love when we reach a certain age, probably because we might think ‘is it worth it?’. That is the chance you take though isn’t it? I did feel sorry for Rosie multiple times because she was dealing with grief, as well as trying to have a sense of normality at work and because of her daughters as they were grieving too. I just wanted to climb in the book and give her a big cuddle. Rosie is such a loveable character with a big heart and an even bigger personality. I was rooting for her to finally have her happy ending.

This is a book that kept on giving, there was never a dull moment for me when I was reading it. I could tell that ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’ was written from the heart due to the amount of emotion that fills the book and the way I felt included as I was reading it. I know that is a weird description to use; feeling ‘included’ with a book, but I genuinely felt included and involved in the depths of the story and the complexity of the characters.

I absolutely loved ‘We’ll Always Have Paris’. It made me laugh, made me gasp in shock, and yes, it made me cry. A true rollercoaster of emotions, but oh so definitely worth it. If only Sue could live in my house and read stories to me every day, the way that she writes her wonderful books, I would be set for life. An incredible lady definitely, but Sue is an extraordinary author. Fantastic read, thank you Sue for writing another amazing book!

We’ll Always Have Paris by Sue Watson, published by Little Brown Books, is available to buy NOW in E-book from Amazon UK//Amazon US. The paperback version is set for release in 2017.

About the author:
Sue Watson was a journalist on women’s magazines and national newspapers before working in a career in TV where she was a producer with the BBC. She has published six novels, her most well- known being Love, Lies and Lemon Cake. Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives in the Midlands and writes full time.

Sue’s Website
Follow Sue on Twitter.