#Review – Hot Mess by Lucy Vine (@Lecv) @orionbooks @ElaineEgan_ #HotMess

1756536526

Hot Mess [n.] – someone attractive, who is often in disarray.

Have you ever shown up to Sunday brunch still smelling of Saturday night?
Chosen bed, Netflix and pizza over human contact?
Stayed in your mould-ridden flat because it’s cheap?

Meet your spirit animal, Ellie Knight.
Her life isn’t turning out exactly as she planned.
She hates her job, her friends are coupling up and settling down, and her flatmates are just plain weird.

Some people might say she’s a hot mess but who really has their sh*t together anyway? For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that will speak to millennials everywhere.

What does TWG think?

OHMYGOD where has this book been all my life?!?! -puts back of hand to forehead dramatically-. I am over the moon that an author has taken one look at the ‘lovey dove sticking tongue down neck slurping bae’ type love stories, cleared them away like a totes dramatic clearing the desk scene in a Hollywood movie, and been all ‘just…no, time to get realistic!!’. Well, TECHNICALLY the author may not have done that, but in my mind she has (just to clarify before I get spanked).

I will reiterate; WHERE HAS THIS BOOK BEEN ALL MY LIFE?! Choosing to be single is the quickest way to get a bucket load of dirty looks, people don’t expect you to like your own company! Some folk just want to be selfish, get laid when they choose to and not when they get poked in the back with a morning love stick. Tell me, why is that so hard to believe?

Well ladies, times are about to change thanks to Lucy Vine and #HotMess! First of all let me just give you a little tip; don’t have a drink in your hand at the start of this book. Why? Because, (and trust me on this), you will no doubt laugh your booty off, end up spilling your drink onto your lap and watch it settle in the most unfortunate place. Yes,  you will look like you’ve done a little wee wee in your pants. Oh and yes, the first chapter (and the rest of the book tbh) is absolutely hilarious. I don’t mean ‘HAHA that’s funny’, I’m meaning full on snorting, tears streaming down your face, as well as realising that you have actual stomach muscles. It took me a while to stop laughing after that first chapter, even whilst cleaning up my fake piddle.

Ellie has had a few disastrous dates (understatement!). What makes it worse is how she doesn’t even WANT to be on the dating scene, but thanks to her best friends and the constant stream of pitying looks from all and sundry, she meets a few guys just to see if they can change her mind. If you hadn’t guessed it already, Ellie.Likes.Being.Single.
She doesn’t want to be tied down, but nobody seems to get that!

#HotMess is such a relatable read. Ellie’s antics will have readers covering their faces with embarrassment, laughing out loud, nodding in agreement, as well-being Ellie’s biggest cheerleaders. Not only that, the book contains several characters whose personalities are larger than life, and who are incredible to read about. Two words; Ellie’s dad. (Go and buy the book so you can find out what I’m on about!)

I absolutely loved everything about #HotMess! The humour was AMAZING. The storyline, in my opinion, is exactly what the book world has been missing. The relatable factor went above and beyond my expectations. The force of the girl-power was insane – fantastically written. Lucy Vine’s novel is like the modern-day Sex and the City, except the fact that there is only one woman and not four. See, modern day!!

If you’re the type of girl who would prefer to appear on Gladiators than Blind Date, #HotMess is your guardian angel. If you’re the type of girl who is all for the white picket fences, couple double denim, and pet names for each others private parts, then you’re going to see the side of the #singleladies in all its glory!

Laugh out loud hilarity from page one, through to page 304. #HotMess is filthy, fun, and effing fabulous, there is nothing about Lucy Vine’s book that I didn’t like. Honestly, this book is outstanding, I’m having withdrawal symptoms already. Roll on the next book from Lucy Vine, I want her as my new BFF! OHMGZ please -begs-.

Absolutely phenomenal. Hot Mess is the easiest 5 stars I have even given a book, even though it deserves the whole universe of stars!

One last thing, Hot Mess is 100% my MOST FAVOURITE BOOK EVERRRRRRR!!!!!
Go buy it, now!!!!!!

Buy right now from Amazon UK

#Review – The Forever House by Veronica Henry (@veronica_henry) @orionbooks

foreverhouse

Would you know your forever house if you found it?

Hunter’s Moon is the ultimate ‘forever’ house. Nestled by a river in the Peasebrook valley, it has been the Willoughbys’ home for over fifty years, and now estate agent Belinda Baxter is determined to find the perfect family to live there. But the sale of the house unlocks decades of family secrets – and brings Belinda face to face with her own troubled past.

What does TWG think?

As soon as I saw that Veronica Henry had a new book coming out, I just knew that I had to get my hands on a copy! I’m not going to lie, I was overcome by incredible disappointment when I saw that the book was due to be released in May this year. Now, as I’m sure you’re all aware when you’re a massive bookworm, patience for upcoming books is pretty much non-existent (especially if they’re one of your favourite authors)! I took a chance by requesting the novel via NG and I danced around my living room when I had the e-mail stating that Orion Books had approved me for Veronica’s book! Thank you!!!

You know when you’re getting older when you dream of interior design, garden landscape and owning your very own house. Thinking about it, it really isn’t THAT much to ask is it? Well, unless you’re Belinda then yes, it is. Belinda Baxter gets to be amongst beautiful houses day in day out, as it’s her job to help other people find their ‘Forever House’, whilst secretly dreaming of her own. What’s even more bittersweet is that Belinda was SO close to owning that dream home, starting her dream life and actually feeling quite positive about her future; until the rug was pulled from under her of course. My first thought was ‘will Belinda get her happily ever after?’, as she was helping other people to find their dream home and not getting her own. Surely working as an Estate Agent with that mind set is similar to dangling a carrot in front of a horse?

I warmed to Belinda pretty much instantly. She came across as such a warm natured personality with an incredibly huge heart; how could someone hurt a personality like hers? All Belinda wanted was a happy life, a life to be proud of after all these years, and as a reader, I longed for her dream to finally come true. When I read that Belinda was about to help her latest client with their request, in regards to a sought after property which held a lot of memories, I began to see a completely different side of Belinda. The family involved in that  particular property, the Willoughbys’, had their own story to tell in more ways than one. Veronica Henry’s style of writing the storyline incorporated an emotional and beautifully written flashback to the past for two of the Willoughbys. So not only was I able to get to know the family from Hunter’s Moon in the present, I was also able to learn more about their family history at the same time. Such a wonderful addition to the book.

Picking up a Veronica Henry book to read is like holding a precious gem (garnet anyone?). Beautiful on the outside yet intricate, unique and special on the inside. I haven’t read a book of Ms.Henry’s that I disliked. Not only are her book covers absolutely stunning, the storylines themselves are like beautiful gifts.

‘The Forever House’ has quite a busy storyline with a lot of characters coming and going yet, unlike others, it doesn’t leave you feeling suffocated by information. Instead, the storyline leaves you feeling involved in each of the characters lives and as though you’re part of the community. This novel completely blew me away and I wish I could find the right words to explain my views properly, however I do feel that ‘The Forever House’ is a book where YOU need to be the one to unleash its beauty for yourself.

Reading ‘The Forever House’ made me feel as though I was reuniting with long-lost friends, and I was absolutely devastated to see the book come to an end.
Full of enchanting situations, heart warming history and beautifully written characters, ‘The Forever House’ is a book that needs to be read and cherished, forever.

It’s time to unlock the door to your new favourite read courtesy of Veronica Henry and the majestic, ‘The Forever House’.

Thank you Orion Books & Netgalley.

Buy ‘The Forever House’ by Veronica Henry on Amazon UK
Buy ‘The Forever House’ by Veronica Henry on Amazon US