TWG Solo Blog Tour For ‘Someone To Love’ by Lucy Scala (@LucreziaScali) Day 1! @Aria_Fiction

stl

Welcome to day one of TWG’s solo blog tour for ‘Someone To Love’ by Lucy Scala! Aria Fiction have put their faith and trust in me to host this blog tour on my lonesome. It is a HUGE deal, and one I am ever so grateful to the publisher for allowing me to do so! This is how the blog tour is going to work; it’s a four day tour which begins today and ends the 4th October (I know you can do the math but y’know). Day one (today) has a guest post from Lucy Scala about love, day two is TWG’s review of the book, day three is an author interrogation…cough…interview (sorry) and lastly, day four sees TWG writing about love. After all, we all need ‘someone to love’! I hope you stick with me for the next few days as you’re definitely in for a treat (plus I would love the support, as will the author!).
stl1Blurb.

A heart-warming story of a young woman’s search for her one true love. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Mia is thirty, has a history of unhappy love affairs and a mother who arranges blind dates for her. Every night Mia dreams of her ideal man, but in the morning she wakes up next to a brute with drooping ears and a bristly coat. By day she runs one of the best-known veterinary clinics in Turin and organizes pet therapy sessions at the local hospital. True love never seems to enter her life. Or so Mia thought, until she meets Alberto, an attractive doctor, and Diego, a policeman who has just moved to Turin from Puglia.

At last Cupid is going to shoot his arrow; will he manage to pierce the heart of the right man for Mia?

Not only is today the first day of the tour, it is also the publication day for Lucy Scala! Happy publication day bellezza! ‘Someone To Love’ is available to buy now from Amazon UK. However, the Italian translation is already available here.

Let’s kick off this tour, yes? Welcome to TWG Lucy Scala and her take on love!

I’m not a picky person; there are a few, but important things that I look for in a man. And I fall in love a few times and with difficulty, but when it happens I love with all my being. I’m suspicious, do not open up to everyone, and only show myself a bit at a time. I was greatly disappointed in love which made me afraid to fall in love again, I was afraid that someone would hurt me again. And it’s true; love comes when you least expect it. Knocks on your door and elbows its way into and changes your life.
Seven years ago I met my current partner. It was not one of those crazy love stories, that makes you reach for the  sky, but it was something more gradual. I fell in love day by day; I fell in love with his small gestures, his surprises, his attention. I also love when he speaks to me in the morning and I would like to stay silent.
He taught me that not all men are the same, not everyone wants to hurt and not all of them can give you the same kind of love. And it is true, with him I discovered many things and we grew up together. We bought a house and I hope soon to be able to create a family with him. I was lucky to meet a love like that of Mia, the protagonist of my novel.

About the author.

Lucy Scala grew up in Moncalieri and Turin. Her love for animals led her to the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Grugliasco, where she still studies alongside her writing. Somebody to Love is her first novel and was a bestseller on Italian Amazon and ITunes.


Join TWG and Lucy Scala tomorrow for a review of ‘Someone To Love’!

aria

Blog Tour! A New York Love Story by Cassie Rocca (@cassierocca)@Aria_Fiction #Review #Extract

nyls
Brand new week and a brand new blog tour! What a way to kick off the week with a trip to New York and one or two Christmas Tree. After all, it’s only -calculates- 90 days until Christmas, surely a nod to Christmas is allowed, now? (TWG may or may not have had several nods to the festive season already. Cough.)

nylssBlurb.

Giving a present is not always easy. Clover O’Brian knows that only too well: her job consists of helping people in the arduous task of choosing unusual gifts. Christmas is coming, New York is buzzing, and Clover, who has always loved the festive period, savours the atmosphere.

Cade Harrison already has everything in life. A Hollywood actor, he is handsome, rich, famous and popular. Success, however, has its downsides; having just emerged from a disastrous relationship with an actress, he feels a need to hide away in an area unfrequented by stars, in an apartment lent him by a friend, far from prying eyes – especially those of tabloid reporters. But as chance will have it, the apartment in question is right opposite the one occupied by Clover, who until now has seen Hollywood actors only on the big screen. Two quite different lives meet by chance, at the most exhilarating time of year…

What does TWG think?

What a job! Can you imagine being a personal shopper for people, helping them find gifts for their loved ones? Having to find out loads of information about the people the client wishes to buy for, finding unusual gifts, what’s not to like? I mean, you’re being paid to shop, win win really! It’s lucky that Clover O’Brian enjoys her job really,  considering that she gets all walks of life expecting her to find the right gifts for people she doesn’t know. Actually, come to think of it, it sounds like quite a difficult job! It’s hard enough buying things for people you do know, let alone for complete strangers! Add a top Hollywood actor to the mix and you have eye-candy with an unlimited budget. Simple really..if the press don’t see.

I didn’t know what to make of ‘A New York Love Story’ to begin with, it took me a couple of chapters to gel with the storyline and the characters. I found Clover, at first, a bit like marmite. She came across as a lost soul with a sharp tongue and extremely defensive, I tried to work out why she was like that. Although, as soon as her family popped up in the story, it soon became clear why defense seemed her go to mechanism.

Once I was able to sink my teeth into the storyline and more characters popped up in different ways, I found myself loving being in New York, especially seeing as I have never been there! The way that Cassie Rocca described the city made me feel as though I was sitting on the street kerb, watching everything unfold. I have no idea how close her descriptions were to the real city, but as far as I’m concerned, Cassie’s description is what New York looks like!

Even though the title of the book has ‘love story’ in it, I wasn’t expecting the book to have the true love story element. Part of me thought that it would be lightly touched upon, so I was pleasantly surprised when the topic of love took over the book. I tried to remain impartial to the characters and not choose a side, but I did, I admit it. I seem to get even more involved in storylines lately, and a love story is no different!

There was a lot of drama in ‘A New York Love Story’ which always kept my interest and allowed the love element to be an addition to the story, rather than the main focus. I liked that, very cleverly done.

‘A New York Love Story’ kept my interest all the way though (after I gelled with it), reached my emotions and made me want to curl up with a hot cuppa and watch someone put up my Christmas tree. Thanks to Cassie Rocca and ‘A New York Love Story’, I will make sure I have lights everywhere this Christmas as you need to light up your life somehow.

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for giving me a complimentary copy in return for my honest views.

A New York Love Story by Cassie Rocca, published by Aria Fiction, will be released on the 1st October 2016 and is available to pre-order now from Amazon UK.

Extract.

“Then, next time you’re looking for peace and privacy go to a desert or wear a mask! You can’t force people not to notice you…” Clover sighed. “However, if it helps, this neighborhood is inhabited mostly by kids and middle aged people. It’s unlikely that you’ll find a hysterical woman at your door asking you to autograph her butt!” She noticed he was deeply embarrassed by her reference to the episode that all the tabloids had gleefully reported, and her animosity somehow weakened. 
“I’ve always wondered how you can keep an autograph on your skin intact. I guess you must avoid washing that part of the body: a kind of disturbing idea, don’t you think?”
“In that specific case, the autograph was immediately transformed into a tattoo.” He was trying to restrain an ironic smile, while turning towards home.

“Oh god! Are people really willing to go that far?” Clover laughed with incredulity. She was following him and was satisfied to have found something to embarrass the Prince of Hollywood with. This was the nickname that the gossip magazines had given him. “Now I understand your desire to stay away from people. It can’t be easy to have to sign a bottom every time you go out for groceries!”

“It’s not something that happens to me every day,” Cade replied and kept walking. “And anyway, these are displays of affection from my fans. I can’t complain: I owe my success to them.” Clover had doubts about the sincerity of this. It seemed as if he were acting in a screenplay, as though he’d been instructed to answer these kinds of questions in a diplomatic way.

“If this is how you feel, then you would enjoy meeting a client of mine, she’s really sweet. She has the biggest butt you can imagine! I think she would probably like to have her right butt cheek autographed by you, if you would sacrifice yourself in the name of love for a great fan of yours…”
“Very funny.”
“It could become a new trend, actually a full time job for you: the buttocks autograph artist. I’m sure it would be a big success in Hollywood.” When they reached the gate of his villa, Cade Harrison looked at her, said: “If you have finished with your bullshit, I will say goodbye…”
“Oh! Already? Don’t you want to sign my butt too? Maybe you would like to make a dedication on my back… if I remember correctly, I read somewhere that you did that too.”
“If you have an ice pick, I can start right now.”

aria