#BlogTour! #Review – The Child by Fiona Barton (@figbarton) @TransworldBooks

The Child PB blog tour poster 1

51BM-4SK0wL._SY346_

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it’s impossible to ignore.

For one woman, it’s a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her.

For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered.

And for the third, a journalist, it’s the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.

The Child’s story will be told.

What does TWG think?

Having not read Fiona Barton’s debut novel, The Widow, I had absolutely no idea what to expect with this book and this author. It’s always the same though, isn’t it, when you try an author for the first time. I had seen so much about this book on social media when the e-book came out earlier in the year, I instantly placed it on my radar, hoping that I would get round to reading it eventually. Thankfully the paperback version of ‘The Child’ is due for release very soon, it gave me the well needed keep up the youknowwhat to FINALLY see what all the fuss was about. That’s another thing. This book had A LOT of people talking and, whilst that is a brilliant thing, I had everything crossed that it wouldn’t be another book that had been hyped up in the media….

Honestly?

To begin with I did side with the ‘hyped up’ opinion of this storyline. However, after sticking with the storyline and digesting it in my own individual way, I soon found out that Fiona Barton’s clever story telling, had made its way under my skin for a nap. I had to read more. I had to find out about the child. I had to find out what REALLY happened. What I didn’t expect, however, was the journey to the truth to be as dark and twisted as it was. Not that I’m complaining obviously, it was full of grit!

Personally, the high level of intensity was the star of the show and without it, I really don’t think I would have been hooked as much. I mean, even though the storyline was rather complex, I did find parts of it a little bit samey, as if I had heard it all before. That said, due to the way in which the author executed the storyline, I was able to appreciate the authors skills on their own.

Whilst ‘The Child’ didn’t blow me away as such, it certainly had me hooked due to the brilliant writing from Fiona Barton. This book made me bite, so for that reason I can’t wait to see what this author brings out next.

Thanks TransworldBooks.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Leave a Reply

