#suspense · arc · blog tour · book blogger · Book Review · Bookouture · Crime/thriller · netgalley

#BlogTour! #Review – Mother by S.E.Lynes (@SELynesAuthor) @Bookouture

MOTHER - Blog tour
Happy publication day to S.E.Lynes! ‘Mother’ is published today by Bookouture and what a way to kick off publication day than a blog tour! I am delighted to be one of the blogs hosting S.E.Lynes today, alongside the lovely Sharon Bairden from ‘Chapter In My Life’! Huge thanks to Bookouture for the blog tour invite, as well as an ARC of the book. As the blog tour is only just beginning, make sure you follow the blogs listed above to ensure you’re kept up to date with all the goings on.

Mother-Kindle
How far would you go for the perfect family?

When Christopher Harris climbs into his family’s dusty attic, he finds a battered old suitcase containing a letter. Inside the letter is a secret; a secret about his mother that changes everything. 

Every mother loves their child. Every child deserves to be loved. But Christopher has grown up so lonely it hurts. 

Finally, Christopher thinks he has a chance at happiness. A happiness he will do anything to protect, whatever the cost…

An unputdownable thriller about the lies we tell and the secrets we keep, Mother will hold you breathless until the very last page and leave you reeling. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister and Apple Tree Yard.

What does TWG think?

I really have no idea where to start with this review to be honest! I still can’t quite decide whether I’m on the fence with it, or whether I am off the fence completely.

The prologue reeled me in big time. In such a short space of time the author had gotten my attention, peaked my interest and left me wanting more. Honestly, I couldn’t have wished for a better opening for this book.

Part of me was expecting the story to contain in the same vein, yet part of me was looking for something out of the ordinary. Y’know, a mixed bag type of thing. As I was reading the first chapter, I kept having to stop and check that I hadn’t accidentally missed a part of the book out – I was extremely confused! The story is being narrated by an unidentified person who is basically narrating Christopher’s life, including his feelings surrounding his newfound family bombshell. Whilst I found the bombshell theme incredibly interesting as it was set in the 1980’s when things were a lot different to how they are now, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit lost.

I thought the addition of the ‘Yorkshire Ripper’ was cleverly thought out, whilst also being combined exceptionally well with the fictional story S.E.Lynes has created. As the story progressed my confusion didn’t let up. I got the gist about the emotional values surrounding being a mother and so on, but I couldn’t seem to work the rest out. If I’m being honest, I wasn’t too worried that I couldn’t work things out at that moment because as I’m sure you already know, I am a big dunce when it comes to workout out the ifs, whys and hows when it to psychological thrillers/crime procedurals, or anything along those lines. At least I admit it, right?

Thankfully during the second half of the novel things began to make a little more sense and feeling shocked became a regular occurrence. For me, the element of surprise and grit was rather slow burning, yet it was written in such a mesmerising and clever manner.

As for the storyline itself, I appreciated the overall theme of the novel for sure, but I just couldn’t gel with how everything came together and the journey the storyline took from beginning to end. Don’t get me wrong the suspense element is extremely well crafted! The fact that I couldn’t work the book out is of my own doing and not the authors I’m sure!

S.E.Lynes is like a composer of the literary world. Her writing skills are enchanting and very addictive on their own – I reckon that this author could write a story about a cow eating grass in a field, and make it come alive with no qualms at all. She really does have an exceptional talent. Whilst the storyline and I, didn’t end up being best buddies, I am super excited to read more from this author. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about ‘Mother’ since I finished reading it – it certainly has left some sort of mark that’s for sure!

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

About the author: 

After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen to be with her husband. In Aberdeen, she worked as a producer at BBC Radio Scotland before moving with her husband and two young children to Rome. There, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She lives in Teddington. Her first novel, Valentina, published by Blackbird Digital Books, came out in July 2016. Her follow up novel, Mother, is published by Bookouture.

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – Mother by S.E.Lynes (@SELynesAuthor) @Bookouture

  1. Oh my lord, kindred spirits in the figuring out thing, I don’t know how many reviews I’ve posted saying ‘it might be just me, but I didn’t work out x, y or z!’ Great review:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.