#BlogBlitz! #Review – Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes) @Bookouture

Murder Game - Blog Tour 2
Super excited to be one of the blogs hosting Caroline Mitchell’s ‘Murder Game’ today! I am so thrilled that I am able to share my review with you all. Thank you to Bookouture for the blog blitz invite as well as the ARC of ‘Murder Game’. Enjoy!

Murder-Game-Kindle

A serial killer is playing a terrifying game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead.

In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the twisted killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die…

But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby persuades her boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to use his criminal connections to set up a dangerous meeting. Because to catch this killer, she needs to think like one…

But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team become. Is Mason really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining Ruby up to be his next victim?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Peter James will be hooked by this dark and utterly disturbing thriller, packed with twists until the final page.

What does TWG think?

How on EARTH do I write a review to do this book any sort of justice?!

We are back joining Detective Ruby Preston as she investigates the murders of multiple women. All the murders seem to have something in common and, according to one of Ruby’s colleagues, the current investigation is sounding all too familiar. Given that the previous killer is growing old disgracefully behind bars, there is a slim chance of him committing the murders himself. But, as the clock starts ticking even loudly, even more lives are in the balance.

Is it weird of me to say that the further into the investigation details I got, the more engrossed I became? It felt like the more gross the image was painted, the quicker I seemed to turn the page. I was hooked on absolutely everything from Ruby’s personal life to her relationship with her colleague, to the murder investigation to the man in prison. Of course certain parts of the book did ignite slight nausea but my curiosity got the better of me, naturally.

As always, I tried to piece the jigsaw pieces together to come up with my own conclusion as to who the murderer was and, up until three-quarters of the way through, I was absolutely convinced I had nailed it. Well, if I was in the police force right now, i would have nicked the wrong person. As for who the finger was pointed to in the end made me drop my jaw in shock. Was I expecting it? Was I heck!! I was pretty much looking everywhere but.

I really don’t want to give anything away so I’m trying to keep this brief! All I want to do is go ‘OMG YOU JUST WAIT UNTIL YOU READ THE PART WHERE…..’, but I don’t want Bookouture to put me on the naughty step or ruin the authors hard work. And by golly has Caroline Mitchell worked hard with this book! The entire storyline is so cleverly written! Not only did the story contain (in my eyes) multiple red herrings, every situation, circumstance and new pieces of information just flowed like a waterfall. There were no stagnant pauses, no creating characters just to fill up space, no slow areas for me to sit and twiddle my thumbs. Nothing like that at all. Instead the storyline was fast paced, full of grit, full of suspense and multiple shocking moments.

If someone asked me to find something about ‘Murder Game’ that I disliked – hand on heart I would reply with ‘absolutely nothing’. Honestly. Caroline Mitchell has written an explosive, highly intense, addictive and utterly shocking novel which kept me on my toes from the very first page. THIS is the type of novel which ticks every single one of boxes, including boxes I never knew existed.

A mind-blowing, ‘where the hell did that come from’ type of read, guaranteed to make you question everything…
Highly recommended. This author is an absolute genius.

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

Author Bio:

USA Today Bestselling Thriller Author.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family, parrot and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. Published by Bookouture and Thomas & Mercer, she now writes full time and all her books have become number 1 best sellers in their categories.

Her fast-paced DC Jennifer Knight thrillers carry a hint of the supernatural and are weaved from Caroline’s personal experiences in the police and paranormal.

Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston series is described as “terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers”. 

 Caroline also writes psychological thrillers, the most recent, Witness, has been described as “thrilling, tense, exciting, dark and twisted in the best possible way”.

 Author Social Media Links:

www.caroline-writes.com

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3076677.Caroline_Mit

https://twitter.com/Caroline_writes

www.pinterest.com/Writeparanormal

https://www.facebook.com/CMitchellAuthor/

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#BlogBlitz! #Review – Murder Game by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes) @Bookouture

  1. Pingback: TWG’s #TopBooksof2017! @Bookouture @TeamBATC @Headlinepg @HQDigitalUK @AvonBooksUK @ChoclitUK | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.