#BlogBlitz! #Review – London Noir by Ann Girdharry (@GirdharryAnn) @Rararesources

London Noir Banner
Super excited to be taking part in Ann Girdharry’s ‘One Day Blog Blitz’ today, courtesy of RaRaresources. Having stepped out of my comfort zone big time with Ann’s previous novel, ‘Good Girl Bad Girl’ and finding myself hooked beyond belief, it really was a no brainer when it came to agreeing to take part in today’s blitz. Ann Girdharry is back with book two from the ‘Kal Medi’ series with her latest release; ‘London Noir’. Here is my review, enjoy!

LondonNoir high defcover
Memory loss, nightmares, the urge to kill – Sophie has it all.
Is it really Post Traumatic Stress Disorder? Or something more sinister? Kal is about to find out…

After a near-fatal road accident, Kal helps Sophie, a young girl in trouble.

The girl’s friends are being murdered one by one. Why? And who by?
Kal must kick start herself out of her downward spiral to save the young stranger.
But Kal is in the grip of the London Cartel, and is someone after the girl, or is the girl after someone?

What does TWG think?

Having read the first book in the Kal Medi series a while ago, I was a bit concerned that I wouldn’t be able to follow all of the events in the latest book. I needn’t have worried however, as despite ‘London Noir’ being part of a series, the storyline was written so that it could be read as a standalone perfectly fine. You don’t HAVE to read the first book in the series as it does read fine on its own. However, I think that to understand Kal’s personality one hundred percent, as well as being able understand hers and Marty’s friendship better, I would advise you read ‘Good Girl Bad Girl’ first.

Let’s get straight to the point – I was absolutely gripped by the latest Kal Medi instalment! So much so I was able to read the book with no interruptions in 2.5 hours. It’s safe to say that I didn’t put the book down! If you’ve read Ann Girdharry’s books, you’ll no doubt agree that once you pop, you just can’t stop. It certainly was the case where this book was concerned, that’s for sure!

It was interesting to see a different side to Kal as in the previous book emotion didn’t seemed to be part of her vocabulary, yet in this book she seemed to think with her heart – much to Marty’s concern! The only real irk i had about this book was the situation with Raphael. I could understand the need for it in the storyline as a distraction, but I couldn’t seem to work out the point of Raphael being part of the storyline overall. Personally, I felt that everything would have still worked if that part was no longer included in the story. I really couldn’t see the point. It felt as though Raphael was just there to fill up some word space. Don’t get me wrong, his character annoyed me something chronic and I understood the need for debt repayment but apart from that…

I enjoyed the thrill and suspenseful nature of the storyline, it did keep me guessing and when the loose ends started to get tied up, i had several ‘ooooohhh yeah!!’ moments. Up until that moment, however, I couldn’t pinpoint ‘whodunnit’ if it stared me in the face. Well….it did kinda, didn’t it!

In all honesty, I found ‘Good Girl Bad Girl’ to be a lot more gut wrenchingly intense than this book, however, I still thoroughly enjoyed ‘London Noir’ and I would recommend this book and the entire series in a heartbeat.

Thanks Rararesources.

Purchase London Noir on Kindle

Purchase London Noir in Paperback

Author Bio – 

Ann Girdharry is a British crime suspense thriller author.

A trained psychotherapist, she worked for many years as a manager in the not-for-profit sector, for agencies working with carers, vulnerable older people, survivors of abuse, and victims of racial attacks.

She currently lives in Montpellier, France with her husband and two children.

Her debut novel, GOOD GIRL BAD GIRL, is an ERIC HOFFER BOOK AWARD Finalist 2017.

Her second crime suspense thriller, LONDON NOIR, will be published October 2017.

She is also author of Chilling Tales of the Unexpected Short Reads.

Author Links

Website www.girdharry.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AnnGirdharry

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/AnnGirdharry

Twitter www.twitter.com/GirdharryAnn

One thought on “#BlogBlitz! #Review – London Noir by Ann Girdharry (@GirdharryAnn) @Rararesources

  1. Pingback: Small Press Crime Fiction: Incident Report No. 16 - Unlawful Acts

Leave a Reply

