#BlogTour! #Review – The Little Village Christmas by @SueMoorcroft @AvonBooksUK

Blog tour banner-2
I am so thrilled to be today’s stop on Sue Moorcroft’s blog tour for her new release – ‘The Little Village Christmas’. Apologies for my late in the day posting. Big thanks to Avon for the ARC of Sue’s book. Here is my review:

image001-2
The #1 bestseller returns with an irresistibly festive tale that you won’t be able to put down!

Alexia Kennedy – interior decorator extraordinaire – has been tasked with giving the little village of Middledip the community café it’s always dreamed of.

After months of fundraising, the villagers can’t wait to see work get started – but disaster strikes when every last penny is stolen. With Middledip up in arms at how this could have happened, Alexia feels ready to admit defeat.

But help comes in an unlikely form when woodsman, Ben Hardaker and his rescue owl Barney, arrive on the scene. Another lost soul who’s hit rock bottom, Ben and Alexia make an unlikely partnership.

However, they soon realise that a little sprinkling of Christmas magic might just help to bring this village – and their lives – together again…

Settle down with a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine as you devour this irresistibly festive Christmas tale. The perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

What does TWG think?

I’m just going to get straight to the point. There really isn’t any reason to beat around the bush where opinions are concerned, is there?

‘The Little Village Christmas’ is, in my opinion, Sue Moorcroft’s best book yet! I have never fallen into a storyline as quickly as I did this one. There really was something magical about the entire novel. So much so, I had to prise the book from my hands once finished. I didn’t want it to end!!

In this book we have two main characters; Alexia and Ben. Alexia is an interior decorator, whilst Ben is an owl daddy with a habit of giving trees a haircut. Two completely different people entwined in one unforgettable story.

We enter Middledip in the middle of a renovation for the local community. Fire places are being ripped out and stored for future use, rubbish is being tipped with all villagers getting stuck in to help Alexia and Gabe. With a community project like this one, you would have thought every single person would be buzzing about what the future may hold. Unfortunately for the community cafe, excitement has just been pushed to the back of the line when someone decides to fleece the villages for everything they have worked hard for. Cue a lot of upset, anger and an unlimited amount of frustration…

Even though I could see where something in particular was heading regarding certain characters, I loved how sarcastic the characters were during the to-ing and fro-ing. It was so refreshing to read a story like that which didn’t involve 100% predictability. To be honest, I don’t think predictable is even in Alexia’s vocabulary. She certainly doesn’t strike me as the sort what with her feisty and bubble personality!

I did happen to fall in love with a certain character. A certain character who enjoyed meat for his food, and who hopped about everywhere screeching for his life. No, I don’t mean Ben. I mean Barney the owl! My dog is called Barney too so the owl reminded me of my pup and his cheeky personality.

There was so much wonderful storyline to sink my teeth into and just get lost in, I became incredibly invested in each character life and the community within Middledip. It was really hard not to! I thought the pace of the novel was absolutely spot on. The storyline had the right amount of intense moments entwined with romance, hilarity, and community spirit which meant that I didn’t have to spend a lot of time trying to work out what certain characters secrets were. I literally could just sit back, relax and enjoy the ride.

‘The Little Village Christmas’ is perfection from start to finish. There is absolutely nothing about the book that I didn’t like. I adored the characters and how much they grew throughout the storyline. I loved how the community came together to support Alexia and Gabe during their tough situation, without pushing them away and telling them to just deal with it like I’m sure a lot of other people would have done. Every thing was just….enchanting.

Sue Moorcroft has outdone herself with her latest book. I wish I could do the book justice with my opinion but I just can’t seem to fathom the right words to explain my feelings about this book. My heart feels warmer for reading it. Fact. My smile seems larger for reading it. Fact. My soul feels as though it’s been fed thanks to this book. Fact.

An enchanting, majestic, beautiful read from one of my all time favourite authors; Sue Moorcroft. With hilarious anecdotes to keep you giggling, alongside heart-breaking situations to make your heart-break; Sue Moorcroft has written everything you could ever want in this storyline.

Phenomenal. Definitely Sue Moorcroft’s best book yet, without a doubt.

Thanks Avon.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Little Village Christmas by @SueMoorcroft @AvonBooksUK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.