#BlogTour! #Review – The Sinking Chef by Sylvia Ashby (@bysylvia_a) @NeverlandBT

sinking chef

The Sinking Chef Cover
“Bridget Jones meets Burnt in this delightful comedy novel about a talented YouTuber and the guy who keeps trying to bring her down. Although part of a series this book is completely standalone, as are all other novels in the Pot Love Series.

In Belsize Park, London, Ashley works hard on her daily YouTube channel “The Sinking Chef”. It’s filmed right in her kitchen, so she doesn’t go out much.
James is a gruff British TV director, turned publisher, who Ashley had a crush on ages ago. She has moved on but when he calls with an offer to take her out to lunch she doesn’t say no. It’s only lunch – what can go wrong? The day Ashley meets James for lunch and he promises her a book deal, she makes the worse decision in her life – to hide the book deal from her boyfriend, Giacomo. As things progress Ashley’s secrets mount up
and other things in her life unravel. Is there a connection? And how is she going to get out of this without losing Giacomo and the life she loves? Set in the heart of fast-paced London, The Sinking Chef is a charming story of love, recipes, secrets, and the determination to do thinks right by those you love most in your life.”

What does TWG think?

Sometimes I get the urge to read something completely different. You know, not my ‘usual’ type of book. Sometimes I just want to read without my brain having to decipher character motives within the storyline. Sometimes I just want to lay on the sofa and lose myself in a book; no fuss, no hidden agenda, just me, myself and the storyline. With a title such as ‘The Sinking Chef’, I had high hopes that Sylvia Ashby’s novel would be just the book to fit my reading criteria of that night.

I just wanted to read….

Ashley seems to be going from strength to strength with her Youtube channel, ‘The Sinking Chef’. The only downside to her achievement is how most of her day consists of finding things to do. Literally. One day she may search her house for something to do. Or on another day she might trawl online and venture into chat rooms dedicated for certain types of people. The beauty of Ashley’s personality is that you really have no idea what bonkers idea she will think of, or do next. Despite holding my head in my hands and thinking; ‘oh my god she didn’t just do that’, I found myself becoming more and more entranced by her overall, addictive personality. What a memorable character!

As for the storyline itself, I rather enjoyed the overall feel of the book, including the homely nature of the recipes (as weird as that sounds). I’m not going to lie, the storyline didn’t blow me away but, seeing as I just wanted to read a book that I was able to lose myself in, enjoy and just….read, ‘The Sinking Chef’ allowed me to do exactly that. The storyline wasn’t hard going, over bearing or too intense. Instead it was just right.

I loved Ashley’s character and I whole heartedly agree that she is the modern-day Bridget Jones. Personally, she made the book for me.

As I had never read a Sylvia Ashby novel before now, I was looking forward to trying a new author to see if I would end up with another ‘go to author’.
Verdict: reader, I now have another go to author!

Fun, flirty and pretty bonkers; The Sinking Chef is perfect for folk who just want to read without getting sucked into a tug of war with your own mind.

Thanks NeverlandBT.

AMAZON LINKS
The book is exclusive for Amazon & in Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US // Amazon UK // Amazon Australia // Amazon Canada

Author bio

Sylvia Ashby is fond of the written word: books, blog posts, recipes, even an explanation to the HM Revenue & Customs as to why she thinks skirts should be exempt from VAT – she’s written it all! She likes travelling and has lived all over Europe – London, Brussels, Amsterdam and Sofia, Bulgaria. Currently, she lives in Leuven, Belgium with her husband, daughter, son and a sparrow called Jack, who comes occasionally to peck the seeds she leaves for him on top of the garden shed.

Website: http://www.sylvia-ashby.com/
Twitter: @bysylvia_a

The Sinking Chef giveaway

1st prize: £25 Amazon voucher and an eCopy of the book
2nd and 3rd prize: ecopy of the book

INTERNATIONAL

To enter the giveaway: click here! Good luck!

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Sinking Chef by Sylvia Ashby (@bysylvia_a) @NeverlandBT

  1. I read and loved this too. Ashley is cringe worthy sometimes but in the most adorable and relatable way. My review is up at the weekend. I’m glad you enjoyed the read too. 🖒
    Amanda.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour of The Sinking Chef WEEK ONE – sylvia ashby

Leave a Reply

