#BlogTour! #Review – The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer (@carolewyer) @Bookouture

carolwyer1
One girl found dead. Another girl gone…

Long shadows danced on the tin walls. Inside the trunk lay Carrie Miller, wrapped in plastic, arms folded across her ribcage, lips sealed tight forever…

When a girl’s body is found at a Midlands storage unit, it is too decomposed for Detective Robyn Carter to read the signs left by the killer.

No one knows the woman in blue who rented the unit; her hire van can’t be traced. But as the leads run dry another body is uncovered. This time the killer’s distinctive mark is plain to see, and matching scratches on the first victim’s skeleton make Robyn suspect she’s searching for a serial-killer.

As Robyn closes in on the killer’s shocking hunting ground, another girl goes missing, and this time it’s someone close to her own heart.

Robyn can’t lose another loved one. Can she find the sickest individual she has ever faced, before it’s too late?

What does TWG think?

Usually my reviews consist of my interpretation of the storyline, whether I disliked any of the characters, which character(s) I adored…and so on. However, I am not going to do it that way today. Nope! I could spend ages doing a very detailed review, end up repeating myself, as well as trying my hardest not to give any of Carol Wyer’s hard work away. Not that I usually do, granted – but still.

So, what IS TWG going to say about ‘The Missing Girls’?

Easy;

THIS BOOK IS CAROL WYER’S BEST YET!!!! I have no idea how she does it, but she does and she completely nails it every single time. ‘The Missing Girls’ has such a gripping, intense, and highly shockable storyline which is set you make the hairs on your arms stand to attention for the entire duration. And yes, I am speaking from experience! Detective Robyn Carter has got to be one of my all-time favourite fictional Detectives because of her fiestiness obviously, but also the fact that she is relatable and, funnily enough, human!

Even though several parts of the storyline made me wish I hadn’t eaten my lunch beforehand, I JUST managed to keep my food where it belonged (safely in my stomach) whilst the storyline’s incredibility factor went up a notch because of that! Yes folks, the fact I felt incredibly nauseous made me enjoy the novel even more. I’m weird, I know.

This, ladies and gents, is how a book should be written. This, is exactly the type of book you should read when you want to feel so many things in such a space of time. Granted fear, nausea and shock aren’t the best feelings to have, but when you’re faced with a storyline as complex and gritty as Carol Wyer’s ‘The Missing Girls’, it is EXACTLY the reaction you need to have.

Carol Wyer is a phenomenal writer. If you don’t know that already, you are seriously missing out on some fantastic novels. I admit I was a bit apprehensive of the authors genre move to start with, but I really do think it’s the best move she could have made.

Absolutely flipping genius.

Thanks Bookouture

Buy now from Amazon UK

carolwyer

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Missing Girls by Carol Wyer (@carolewyer) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

