#BlogTour! #Review – Hide and Seek by Richard Parker (@BookWalter) @Bookouture

Hide and Seek - Blog Tour
Huge thanks to Bookouture for asking me to be involved in Richard Parker’s blog tour for  his new release, ‘Hide and Seek’. It’s a shame that the blog tour has now come to and end, however, I am honoured to be one of the bloggers closing the tour with my review!

Hide-and-Seek-Kindle

The sun is out. Your little boy is smiling. The next time you look… he’s gone. 

When Lana and Todd win a trip to Blue Crest Adventure Park, their four-year-old Cooper is ecstatic, but when Lana goes to meet them, Todd is out cold, and Cooper is missing.

No one stopped the man carrying the sleeping boy. The cameras don’t show where he went. Then Lana receives an anonymous message, telling her to visit a local school with a horrifying history…

This is no random attack. Whoever took Cooper is playing a twisted game, and if Lana wants to find him, she must participate.

What is the link between the school and her missing son? Can Lana uncover the kidnapper’s identity and save Cooper before it’s too late?

A dark, heart-in-mouth thriller that will keep you reading long into the night. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, and Tess Gerritsen will be absolutely hooked.

What does TWG think?

After reading Richard Parker’s previous novel, ‘Follow You’, and being completely and utterly hooked on every single page, my expectations for the authors new book, ‘Hide and Seek’, were exceptionally high. At least I admit it though, right?

I’m a bit of a cover lover, which means that with every book I read, I end up giving the cover some serious attention. When it came to the cover of ‘Hide and Seek’, I could not seem to work out what on EARTH the image on the front meant. Yes folks, my major ‘DUH’ moment. Of course I’m not going to know what the image on the front means until I read the book! It’s safe to say that the part of the storyline which the image resonates with, will forever be imprinted in my mind. Something so simple, yet something unbelievably spine tingling.

Lana and Todd are about to embark on a well deserved break with their little boy, Cooper. Up until now, their lives have been filled with copious amounts of stress, as well as having to constantly look over their shoulders in fear. Why are they scared? As ‘Hide and Seek’ unfolds, Lana and Todd’s situation becomes all too clear – a parent’s worst nightmare. Pieces of the jigsaw puzzle are missing, and it seems as though time isn’t on Lana and Todd’s side. If you thought that hide and seek only involved counting to ten, then you’re completely mistaken. If you’re anything like me, the game of hide and seek will never feel the same again.

In terms of graphic situations, I have to say that Richard Parker’s previous novel was A LOT more graphic than this one, yet this book seemed to affect me a lot more. I’m not sure whether that was because the storyline involved a young child, or whether the lack of gruesome anecdotes made the storyline appear raw. Thinking about it now, I would have to say that it would be both. Whilst this storyline did contain some rather cut throat (pardon the pun) material, it didn’t seem to be the storylines main focus. Instead, the damage was done to the characters emotionally to begin with, putting them in a complete and utter head funkydunk. Despite Lana being scared and severely worried, she ended up becoming the lion and going straight into the fire to protect what was rightfully hers. Did I think her husband, Todd, should have protected his family? Yes, damn right I did. But, whilst Lana ended up skating on thin ice multiple times through her own doing, I still thought that she was such a ballsy character. Good on her!

There were moments whilst reading ‘Hide and Seek’, where I thought my heart was going to pound out of my chest! I had absolutely no idea what the outcome was going to be and, despite the fact I was on edge the whole time, I was glad that I hadn’t a clue about what was going to happen! I say that now, granted. Obviously at the time I was watching my daughter like a hawk, despite us being in the house with both doors locked. Precautionary measures and all that jazz…ahem.

Did Richard Parker’s ‘Hide and Seek’ live up to my expectations? Well, whilst it took me a little while to get into the swing of things where the storyline was concerned, ‘Hide and Seek’ surpassed my expectations. I mentioned the authors previous novel at the start of this review, and how my expectations for his new novel were high because of that. I need to be honest; both books may have been written by the same author, but they are in no way comparable as my expectations for one of them, cannot be used as a starting block for the other. Why? Because the storylines are completely different, not only because they’re about different things, they’re also written from a totally different angle. Yes, ‘Hide and Seek’ for me, was a slow burner, BUT, once that flame started burning it didn’t seem to stop. The author grabbed my attention big time, making my eyes follow the storyline until the very end, regardless of how uncomfortable the overall topic had me feeling. I just could not stop reading.

I really enjoyed ‘Hide and Seek’ as it was full of enough gritty and twisty moments to keep my attention for the foreseeable future. Richard Parker is a brilliant author who in both novels I have read of his, has managed to keep me guessing until the very last-minute. I most certainly can’t complain at that!

Cut throat, spine tingling, heart-wrenching, and chillingly addictive; ‘Hide and Seek’ will have you on the edge of your seat in anticipation.
Roll on the next book!

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy: Amazon UK // Amazon US

About the author.

Richard Parker was formerly a TV script writer, script editor and producer before turning his hand to penning twisted stand alone thrillers.

HIDE AND SEEK is his fifth book and is published August 2017.

FOLLOW YOU was his fourth psychological thriller. Reviewers are saying it’s Bookouture’s darkest crime novel to date.

STALK ME was his third and rode high in the UK and US charts.

SCARE ME was his second. Hollywood movie rights have been acquired by major US studio, Relativity Media. Star of PRISON BREAK and screenwriter of dark horror thriller STOKER, Wentworth Miller, has written the big screen adaptation.

STOP ME, Richard’s darkly fiendish debut, was shortlisted for the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award.

Author links: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Website

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review – Hide and Seek by Richard Parker (@BookWalter) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

