#BlogTour! #Review – #YouAreLoved by Jo Platt (@JoPlattTweets) @canelo_co

You Are Loved Blog Tour Banner (5)
Today I am honoured to be closing Jo Platt’s blog tour for her latest release, You Are Loved. Big thanks to Canelo for inviting me to be involved with the blog tour! I am delighted to share my review with you all today. Enjoy!

joplatt

Sometimes, life needs a rewrite…

Author Grace Waterhouse has hit rock bottom. Her ex-husband has just had a baby with his new partner and her latest novel is… well, the less said the better.

Desperate for distraction, Grace impulsively takes on a friend’s cleaning job, parachuting herself into a new social circle including an eccentric OAP, a heartbroken twenty-something and one James Brooke, an enigmatic lawyer with an unblinking stare.

Add to this mix an anxious literary agent, a hairdresser who doesn’t mince words and a newly repentant ex-husband, and Grace’s career break proves to be more breathless than breather.

They say that all you need is love – but what if that’s the one thing you haven’t got?

The heart-warming, funny and unputdownable new novel from bestseller Jo Platt is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Anna Bell and Joanna Bolouri.

What does TWG think?

Have you ever taken one look at your life and thought ‘screw you’?

Have you ever been stuck in mud so thick, that all you wanted to do is put on your comfy bra and hideous pjs (which hadn’t seen Persil since circa 1990) and camp out in your living room watching re-runs of ‘Men Behaving Badly’?

Have you ever wanted to re-write your life and start again?
(If only, eh!)

If you’ve said yes to all of the above and laughed at question number two, there is a high chance that ‘You Are Loved’ MIGHT just be the book for you. Sorry to disappoint you but there are no ‘Men Behaving Badly’ re-runs featured in this book. I know, I know – I’m devastated too. However, a bit of cringeworthy assumptions by our main character, Grace, is more than enough to make you forget about wanting to watch Gary and Tony’s antics over, and over, and over again. Trust me.

Grace Waterhouse has had her heart-broken, stomped on, and spat on by the man who she believed that she would be with until the end of time. I’m sure I don’t need to spell it out as for why, BUT, I weirdly admire Grace’s calmness later on down the line. Would I be like that? Hell no! Blunt scissors thankyouplease! Ironically, Grace puts the pen to paper about the very subject she is now a teensy bit bitter about. Look, I know some females are renowned at faking particular things, but let me tell you, emotions certainly isn’t one of them. Luckily for Grace, her best friend seems to know her better than she knows herself, and tells her to take a time out. And by golly, what a time out it is!

When books have tagline at the end of the blurb, I usually see them as a challenge. However, with Jo Platt’s ‘You Are Loved’ and her ‘unputdownable’ tag, I didn’t see it as a challenge at all. No. I saw it as a fact. Why? Because I couldn’t put it down that’s why! From the moment I opened my kindle to the first page, until the moment I closed my kindle on the last page, my eyes were fixated on one thing and one thing only; this book. Neil and Gavin (Grace’s best friends) had me in absolute hysterics – Gavin especially! Without giving too much away, Neil and Gavin weren’t the only hilarious and memorable characters from the book, and I loved them all!! Well, except one. But I believe I made my opinion on that particular situation pretty clear above? Oh, I didn’t? Grace’s ex-husband, Aiden, is an absolute cactus. Funnily enough, him being a cactus works well with the name of his new lady! Bet you’re absolutely gagging to find out what her name is now, aren’t you?

Whilst I snlaughed multiple times throughout the duration of ‘You Are Loved’, I did find that the whole Aiden situation dragged on a little bit. I really wanted Grace to kick him to the curb, instead of grabbing the carrot every time he dangled it. No! I don’t mean like that! Filth.

That aside, I enjoyed the whole ‘reinventing yourself’ part of the storyline, especially as the author managed to get such an important message across in amongst the hilarity and awkwardness. Sometimes we do need to take a step back from mundane situations, with it often being someone else who tells you that you’re sinking. Sometimes we need to do something out of the ordinary, regardless of what people might think and, to be honest, Grace did such a brilliant job.

All in all, ‘You Are Loved’ filled me with a lot of joy, a lot of giggles, and made my heart exceptionally fuzzy. Sometimes you just need a book like ‘You Are Loved’ to remind you of what is important and what isn’t. I really did enjoy this gem of a book (Aiden aside), and I am so looking forward to read what author, Jo Platt, releases next.

Thank you Canelo.

Buy now from Amazon UK

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – #YouAreLoved by Jo Platt (@JoPlattTweets) @canelo_co

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.