arc · aria fiction · blog tour · book blogger · Book Review · Saga

#BlogTour! #Review – The Girls of Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke @Aria_Fiction

The Girls of Mulberry Lane - jacket

1938, Mulberry Lane, London. War is looming, but on Mulberry Lane there are
different battles being fought… Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.

Maureen Jackson is a prisoner of her father’s blackmail. Three years earlier, she’d
been hoping to marry Rory, the man of her dreams. However, after her mother’s
death, she was left to care for her overbearing father. Now Rory is back in London
with a pregnant wife in tow to remind Maureen of the life that should have been
hers.

As war threatens, Janet Ashley hopes to marry her sweetheart Mike, but her father
refuses to grant them his blessing. Defying his wishes, Janet finds herself pregnant
and her mother Peggy is determined to hold her family together at all costs. Will the girls of Mulberry Lane manage to snatch happiness before the darkness of WorldWar II descends?

What does TWG think?

Rosie Clarke is back with a brand new book! Not only is it a new book, it’s also start of a brand new series, how exciting! I have only read one of Rosie Clarke’s previous books, so I was looking forward to seeing how ‘The Girls of Mulberry Lane’ would make me feel seeing as I just adore historical fiction. Set in London during war-time, life was extremely difficult for the residents of Mulberry Lane.

All Maureen wanted was to marry the love of her life, but seeing as life doesn’t always go the way we want it to, Maureen’s dream was unable to come true due to having to care for her father. With Rory moving on with his life, Maureen finds it hard to let go of what should have been.

Local girl, Janet, decided to choose her own path in life, going against the head of the family (her father) but wanting to marry her sweetheart Mike, the father of her soon-to-be child. Will she regret going against her fathers wishes?

Having struggled a tad with Rosie Clarke’s previous novel, I was over the moon to find myself falling head over heels in love with the Mulberry girls! For me, there is nothing I like more than delving into historic London during wartime. It’s fascinating. Eye-opening. Heart-breaking. I mean, historical fiction is based around real life events which a lot of us were not on this planet to witness, and for us it can be quite heart-breaking to read. Yet on the other side of the coin, readers who were brought up during those years will be able to resonate and remember certain events as though they happened yesterday. I cannot imagine what anyone felt during those distressing years, I can only guess thanks to Rosie Clarke’s poignant and realistic writing which managed to find its way into my soul from the get go.

I loved how unique each of the characters were, as they all brought something different to the overall feel of the storyline which, for me, kept my attention a lot more. In my eyes, there is nothing worse than reading a book with flat and boring characters. Luckily in this book, that was not the case. Because of how much I liked the characters, I found myself becoming far too attached to their journeys which meant I ended up feeling quite emotional when something happened to them, or someone close to them.

By the end of ‘The Girls of Mulberry Lane’, I realised that I had found some new fictional friends, and I cannot wait to take a trip down Mulberry Lane with book number two.

A heart-wrenching, beautifully written, addictive novel from Rosie Clarke,

Thanks Aria Fiction.

Amazon
Kobo
iBooks
Google Play

The blog tour isn’t over yet, so make sure you stop by all of the other hosts:

The Girls of Mulberry Lane - blog tour banner

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Girls of Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke @Aria_Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.