#Harpercollins · arc · blog tour · book blogger · Book Review · netgalley · womens fiction

#BlogTour! #Review – True Love at the #LittleBookshop – @_AnnieDarling @W6BookCafe

true blog tour banner
I am truly delighted to be hosting todays stop on the #LittleBookshop blog tour! Having loved Annie Darling’s first book in the series; ‘The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts’, I jumped at the chance when Harpercollins got in contact about the blog tour. Huge thanks to Jaime Frost for getting in contact! Here is my review of Annie’s new book; ‘True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop’, which is out to buy in e-book & paperback right now!

annie

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise – not to fall in love with each other…

What does TWG think?

Let’s get straight to the point; Annie Darling set the bar extremely high with the first book in the series, which meant my expectations for this book were extremely high. #sorrynotsorry. At least I’m being honest about it, right?

Verity Love is an independent woman (if you’re not singing the Destiny’s Child version of that song….do I even know you?!) who just wants to be left alone to live her life as she pleases. With multiple sisters, however, Verity is constantly badgered about the ‘state’ of her relationship status. Why can’t her sisters and friends, understand that she actually WANTS to be single? To keep the Spanish Inquisition at bay, Verity Love creates her own boyfriend, just so she can get some peace. Despite of Verity’s on the ball planning (her fictional boyfriend just happened to be away for work A LOT), her foolproof plan falls through quicker than a pair of heels being dropped in a nightclub ready for dancing on a Saturday night. Will Verity Love ever find true love with anyone other than Jane Austen?

As you’re aware, this is the second book in the #Littlebookshop series, and whilst it COULD be read as a standalone, I would highly recommend you reading the first book in the series beforehand, because there is a lot of background information in the first novel, which could hinder your enjoyment for the second book if not known. If you wish to get your hands on book one now, click here.

Verity Love’s attitude to life and relationships always seems to make me giggle. Weirdly enough, it’s not because it’s funny, it’s because she is absolutely bang on the money and if anyone else attempted to live their life just like her, they would fail miserably. What I did find hilarious however, was the name of Verity’s cat. Even though I’m allergic to cats, I just want to get one so I can call it the same name….STRUMPET. Oh my god, what a fabulous name! The cat totally lives up to its name, although it’s a greedy heifer and can usually be found sticking his paws into places which he shouldn’t. No, I mean REALLY shouldn’t – health and safety ring a bell?

Verity’s fictional boyfriend was a genius move. I did feel quite sorry for her and how she constantly got bombarded about being single, all because those around her were either married, or giving the cat a run for his money in the name stakes. In this instalment, we find ourselves meeting a brand new character who certainly makes himself known during the storyline; Johnny True. Please, please say that you’ve just had a lightbulb moment and seen the connection between the two surnames?!

For me, Verity was such a relatable character who became the voice of single women around the world. Well, aside from the fictional boyfriend thing…that could get messy. She came across as such an honest, warm-hearted yet fiercely independent woman, who knew what she wanted, as well as knowing that she could ask herself one question and get the ‘right answer’. So readers, what WOULD Elizabeth Bennett do?

Verity’s need for peace and quiet was written beautifully. It wasn’t just a case of ‘leave me alone I have a headache’, it was more of a case of sensory overload which drained her from top to toe. Some might find it funny, but it is actually a real thing. People out there do actually suffer with things like this.

So, the burning question for me regarding this book wasn’t ‘what would Elizabeth Bennett do?’, it was ‘did I enjoy the book as much as the first one?’ Honestly? Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed ‘True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop’, it didn’t blow me away as much as ‘The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts’. Personally, I felt like there was something missing; a little bit more magic perhaps. The storyline, (whilst written truly lovely – sorry), felt like it was going through the motions without much element of surprise. Don’t get me wrong I laughed, smiled and was completely engrossed with Verity’s journey, but I found myself waiting for that extra something to pop up.

If I could describe Annie Darling’s new book in one word it would be; cosy. If you’re a romantic at heart who is a fan of Jane Austen – you will absolutely loved this book. If you’re not a romantic at heart, don’t stress because this book contains something for everyone. It has humour. It has a cat with a belter of a name. It has true friendship. It has true love. It has grabbing life by the bookshelf. It really is the perfect read to curl up with and forget all the hate that’s going on in the world right now.

Thank you Annie Darling for yet another enchanting novel.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.