#BlogTour! #Review – Behind Her Back by Jane Lythell @janelythell @HoZ_Books

Behind Her Back Blog Tour
Delighted to be hosting today’s stop on Jane Lythell’s blog tour for her upcoming novel, ‘Behind Her Back’, which is set to be published by Head of Zeus in kindle and hardback on the 10th August! If you wish to pre-order either the kindle or hardback format, all you need to do is click the following link: Pre-order now!

Big thanks to Clare Gordon from Head of Zeus for inviting me to take part in the blog tour, here is my review:

BHB
Liz Lyon is a television producer and busy single mum to a teenage daughter. She works at StoryWorld, the UK’s favourite morning show. As both confidante and team leader, she is the person tasked with controlling the conflicts and tantrums that flare up off-air. Having just started dating again, she’s also having to deal with a few conflicts and tantrums at home…

Following a blissfully peaceful two-week holiday in Italy, Liz has returned to find a new colleague has joined the station. Lori Kerwell has been brought in to increase the show’s profitability. But Liz is not sure that’s the only thing on Lori’s agenda.

As Lori builds her power base with the bosses, Liz finds herself wondering what’s really going on behind her back…

What does TWG think?

What a corker of a main character!!

Liz is a working, single mum with a teenage daughter. Simple enough, right? Seeing as Liz’s daughter is of the age where tantrums and dramas are second to none, AND the fact that Liz works in the for a T.V show where tabloid stories and drama is what keeps the show on air; it soon becomes clear that poor ol’ Liz can only do so much and petty bickering is the least of her concerns.

When I found out that Liz was a single mum, I remember punching the air with delight as it’s rare (in my experience) to have a single mum as the main character in a novel. Well, from the books which I have read anyway. Because of that, I found that I warmed to Liz rather quickly. She came across as such a bulshy, level-headed and well-rounded woman who has set out to prove all the haters wrong. Women empowerment right there, without a doubt.

Before I read ‘Behind Her Back’, I had absolutely no idea that it was actually the second book in a series, whoops! In all fairness though, I was able to read ‘Behind Her Back’ as a standalone with no qualms whatsoever. I didn’t feel as though I had missed out on any vital pieces of information, luckily!

‘Behind Her Back’ not only concentrates on the dynamics of being a working, single mum; it also sheds light on the hidden side of working in T.V. production. Things aren’t as perfect as they come across on-screen and Lythell makes that clear with her realistic tale which involves deceit, mockery, and hidden agendas.

The storyline itself is set out in a unique way, which for me, took me a little while to adjust to. I thought it worked well with the overall concept of the book, especially the main subject, but it was certainly different.

In all honesty, there were times where I was sat on the fence with ‘Behind Her Back’, and there were times where the drama became too much for me. However, I loved how atmospheric the entire storyline ended up being; it really had me hooked on the characters antics and the underlying issues.

Dramatic, eye-opening, and extremely realistic – ‘Behind Her Back’ is a pretty darn good read which had me cheerleading for the main character, Liz, from the get go. Intriguing and most certainly different; Jane Lythell has left me wanting more..

Thanks HoZ.

5 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – Behind Her Back by Jane Lythell @janelythell @HoZ_Books

Leave a Reply

