#BlogTour! #Review – Till The Dust Settles by Pat Young (@py321_young) @Bloodhoundbook

BLOG TOUR (9)

 

til the dust settles FINAL
The lives of two women who never meet are about to collide.

Lucie married young. Her husband has become abusive, controlling and violent.  Having lost everything as a result of the marriage, Lucie decides it is time to walk away.

As she leaves the house on the morning of September 11th, heading to a job interview at the World Trade Centre and the promise of a new life, the unthinkable happens.

On a street in New York, choking on the dust, Lucie stumbles upon an opportunity for a new life.

She thought the grass would be greener. But starting again is never that simple…

Sometimes, what lies ahead is even more deadly.

What does TWG think?

Wow, wow, wow and WOW! What a book! Set during the devastation that was September the 11th, Till The Dust Settles mixes realism with fiction as we follow the life of one character, Lucie, who was caught up in the horrendous attack. The news bulletins you watched on T.V on September the 11th hit home once again as the terror that the victims faced, are re-visited.

Lucie was running for her life. Her windpipe became narrower with every breath she took. Bodies were strewn here, there and everywhere as multiple lives were destroyed in a spineless attack. Who’s looking for Lucie? Will her husband, the man who restricted her breathing on more than one occasion, wonder if she was still alive?

Wowza. Just like millions of people, I too watched the devastation unfold on my T.V screen on September the 11th. Unfortunately, around 3000 people lost their lives. How can you even put into words what happened that day? Pat Young, I’ll admit, has been exceptionally brave taking on a storyline which centres around one of America’s biggest tragedies. But, without sounding at all macabre, the author has done a brilliant job. I often wondered what went through the minds of the people trying to escape that day, and now, thanks to ‘Till The Dust Settles’, I have more of an idea.

With Pat Young’s novel, it was really difficult not to sit and take notice of the storyline that was unfolding before my eyes. I went through a range of emotions even though I wasn’t involved in the travesty directly, yet the author’s gut wrenching descriptions, and eye-opening events made me feel as though I was walking the same path as Lucie.

I also feel that Pat Young deserves a pat on the back (pardon the pun) for putting domestic violence back into the spotlight, in such a realistic and black and white manner. I can’t lie, Lucie’s situation with her husband sent shivers down my spine, but it’s topics like those which need to be written about.

‘Till The Dust Settles’ is an intense, powerful and heart-wrenching read about love, loss and ultimate devastation. Pat Young has included two extremely difficult and heart-breaking topics in her storyline, both of which have been written with such poignancy and realism. I sat and took notice. My heart ached for the lives lost and the emotional scars endured.

I feel a bit odd saying this considering the nature of the book, but, I thoroughly enjoyed this book; it had me hooked the entire way through (even though my heart was in my mouth as well!). Fantastic book.

Thanks BloodHoundBooks.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Leave a Reply

