#BlogTour! #Review – The Forgotten Family of Liverpool by Pam Howes (@PamHowes1) @Bookouture

The-Forgotten-Family-of-Liverpool-Kindle
The fighting has finished – but are their troubles just beginning?

It’s 1951 and rationing is finally coming to an end. But while Liverpool is recovering from the ferocity of war, a family is about to be torn apart…

Dora Rodgers is settling into a new life with her daughters Carol and Jackie, moving on from the betrayal of her husband. But then an unexpected knock at the door rips her family in two. Carol is taken away by a welfare officer to live with Dora’s estranged husband Joe. 

Dora is determined to fight for her child, but she struggles to cope when a tragic accident leaves her mother in hospital, and shocking news from Joe breaks her heart once more. 

With her family in pieces and her marriage over for good, will Dora ever manage to get her daughter Carol home where she belongs?

The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is a brave and tear-jerking story of one woman’s quest to protect her family. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Annie Murray and Kitty Neale. Discover Pam’s Mersey Trilogy today.

What does TWG think?

‘The Forgotten Family of Liverpool’ is book two in Pam Howes’ Mersey trilogy and, in my honest opinion, I believe that it can be read as a standalone. However, I would recommend reading the first book in the series, ‘The Lost Daughter of Liverpool’ beforehand, just so that you haven’t missed out on any vital information from the main characters back stories, before delving into the a new chapter of their lifestyles.

Having really enjoyed the first book in the series, I was super excited to read this novel. I couldn’t wait to catch up with some of the old characters, as well as creating new ‘friendships’ with new characters. Well, except Ivy of course, I would be lying if I said that I was yearning to meet up with her for a cup of builders tea.

Set in 1950’s Liverpool, Dora’s life showed signs of becoming even more complicated, especially where her estranged husband, Joe, was concerned. Reading about Dora’s struggles opened my eyes to the reality of the past, especially how differently situations were dealt with in those days compared to now. There were times where my heart ached for Dora and the challenges she had to face once again. That said, luck most definitely wasn’t on her side throughout the majority of the storyline, I was getting a bit exasperated at how her character always seemed to have the negativity thrown at her. Why, for two novels, did Dora face such hardships? Why wasn’t she given a break? Don’t get me wrong I know that life isn’t all rainbows and kisses, but still, I couldn’t understand it.

I did enjoy ‘The Forgotten Family of Liverpool’; it had a plot which kept me engrossed, as well as being able to make me take a walk down memory lane in terms of the historical feel. I loved the community spirit of the storyline, it was so lovely to see people coming together in times of need, and even at short notice. For me, that was the most heart-warming part of the novel.

Whilst I did enjoy being back in Liverpool with Dora and her family, I didn’t warm to the overall storyline as much as I did the first book due to what I said previously about Dora,  and how I felt that the storyline was seemed to be missing something. What that missing something was, however, I’m not overly sure, all I can pinpoint is that I needed a bit more to sink my teeth into.

As ever, Pam Howes’ delectable writing style left me wanting more; I’m looking forward to seeing what happens in the next part of the series.

Thanks Bookouture.

UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2qIcCya

US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2pOgsrD

Forgotten Family of Liverpool Blog Tour

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Forgotten Family of Liverpool by Pam Howes (@PamHowes1) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

