#BlogTour! #Review – Ice Lake by @JohnLenahan @killerreads

ICE LAKE Blog Tour Poster

ice lake
…WHERE EVERYBODY LIES. AND SOME PEOPLE KILL…

An electrifying debut crime novel and the first in a new series featuring psychologist Harry Cull. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Peter May.

AN ABANDONED BODY
Deep in the woods of north-eastern Pennsylvania, the body of a man is found – shot three times, dumped under the trees where the local kids will find him.

A HAUNTED PSYCHOLOGIST
Psychologist Harry Cull, tormented by his past, arrives in the picturesque town of Ice Lake to help with the murder investigation. There he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.

A DESPERATE KILLER
It’s not long before the second corpse turns up, this time a lawyer left for dead in the forest, and Harry finds himself on the trail of a twisted killer – who will do anything to keep the town’s darkest secrets buried.

What does TWG think?

‘Ice Lake’ is the first book in the Harry Cull series, so not only was this a brand new series to get my teeth stuck into, it’s also written by an author I have had no literary dealings with before. Not a bad start really, eh?

The cover of ‘Ice Lake’ intrigued me something rotten, the colourful tone of it screams ‘read me’ but with an added ‘dun dun dun’. To say I was excited about reading this book would have been an understatement. I couldn’t wait to get stuck in!

Set in Pennsylvania, I had to try to re-train my brain as any novels I have read in the past with Pennsylvania in them were from my childhood and included vampires. It’s safe to say that ‘Ice Lake’ does not contain any vampires, but it does contain a murder or too. Same thing I guess!

Straight away this book starts with a murder, and it’s a big one. A local man has been killed – Harry Cull has been asked to arrive on scene and do a bit of Pennsylvanian Jeremy Kyle in the shape of lie detector tests. If I’m perfectly honest, it seems as though every person that Cull comes up against is trying to appear on his ‘liar’ list. The murder investigation didn’t seem to be as straight forward as Harry Cull would have liked, especially when a second body is found and drugs are entered into the mix.

My first impression of John Lenahan’s novel was completely different to what I actually thought when I read the book. For some reason my brain seemed confused by the cover and the actual content of the novel because of the difference. Although saying that, I can’t seem to be able to pinpoint EXACTLY what I found different; except the vibe that is. I’m not saying that in a bad way at all. It’s crazy how strong our first impressions can be when it comes to books.

All in all, ‘Ice Lake’ had me engrossed throughout the entire storyline, my mind was full of questions, and I seemed to spend a lot of the book on my toes. Whilst the book didn’t blow me away as such, there was enough promising content to keep my intrigue level peaked, as well as keeping me entertained.

A very promising start to a new book series, I’m looking forward to book number two!

Thanks Netgalley.

Buy now from Amazon UK

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review – Ice Lake by @JohnLenahan @killerreads

  1. Pingback: Hello August! (Fictionophile updates and July’s #bookhaul) | Fictionophile

Leave a Reply

