#Review – The Summer of Second Chances by Maddie Please (@MaddiePlease1) @AvonBooksUK #ARC

Untitled-1
Lottie is about to discover that even when you think you’ve lost everything, hope and romance can be just around the corner . . .

It takes time to build your life. To get into a long-term (OK, a bit boring) relationship. To find a job (you don’t completely hate). Lottie might not be thrilled with the life she’s put together, but it’s the one she’s got.

So when in the course of one terrible evening, it all comes crashing down around her, Lottie has a choice: give herself over to grief at being broke, single and completely lacking in prospects.

Or, brick by brick, build herself a new life. And this time, with a little help from friends, a crumbling cottage in Devon and a handsome stranger, maybe she can make it the one she always wanted.

The Summer of Second Chances is an irresistibly funny read about never giving up, whatever the world throws at you. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Jane Costello and Christie Barlow.

What does TWG think?

If you’re in desperate need of a pick me up, or feel as though your brain has been working overtime and requires an urgent book shaped antidote – then this book is for you.

Lottie has lost everything; her money, her home, her relationship, but most importantly – she has lost her peace of mind. With an uncertain future ahead of her, Lottie needs to make a decision; wallow in self-pity from the discomfort of her car as a new home, OR make the most out of a bad situation and follow the only path that she can see. The only way is up…

What a fab little book! Don’t be fooled by the colourful cover as there is A LOT more to this storyline than meets the eye. Despite the fact that the storyline contains several deep themes, the author has ensured that those moments are laced with some rather unforgettable one-liners.

At the start of the book we see Lottie’s world crumble, but, by the end of the book it’s as though she is a completely different person. To see a character flourish so much in such a short space of time (for us), was quite similar to watching your child learn something new for the first time. I got a bit emosh ;).

Just like Lottie, we have all been put into a situation where we have no idea how to get ourselves out of; ‘The Summer of Second Chances’ reminded me of that fact in a way that made me go ‘oh hang on a minute, I am quite proud of myself’. When we go through difficult times we don’t see our strengths working hard. We bluff. We shrug it off. It’s not until AFTER the event when we’re able to sit and gather our thoughts, and we are able to appreciate what we can do if we have no other option.

For me, this storyline was the perfect reminder of how NOT to give up, as well as advising me that eye-candy was the perfect distraction from any troubles. Obviously I’m not going to disagree with that, are you? Lottie’s new neighbour, Bryn, was such a hoot. He came across as such the opposite to Lottie in terms of mannerisms and traits, that when they were in a conversation, it was like a dog trying to have a chat with a cat. Yet weirdly enough, it worked. Well I think it worked anyway, I may have been too busy laughing!

‘The Summer of Second Chances’, for me, really is a sunshine after the rain type of novel. The storyline contains so much hope – some might mistake it for the gold at the end of a rainbow. I mean, there was nothing black and white about this storyline, at all. Every chapter was full of colour, humour and positivity; I loved it.

I adored this book, I’m not going to lie. I started this book in a bad mood and I finished it with a huge grin on my face. ‘The Summer of Second Chances’ is a diamond in the rough, but it’s a gem of a book that I won’t be forgetting anytime soon.

Thanks Avon.

The Summer of Second Chances by Maddie Please, will be released on the 17th July 2017. If you wish to pre-order your copy ready, you can do so here.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#Review – The Summer of Second Chances by Maddie Please (@MaddiePlease1) @AvonBooksUK #ARC

  1. Thankyou so much for this lovely review. It’s just so kind of you to take the time and I’m thrilled you enjoyed The Summer of Second Chances. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s