#BlogTour! #Review – Second Chances by Minna Howard (@Adelica) @Aria_Fiction

Ba da ba da da da
Monday Monday so good to meeeee
Monday mornin’ it was all I hoped it would beeeeee.

Nothing like a bit of Mama’s and Papa’s on a Monday, especially as it’s a brand new week and, as you should know by now, that only means one thing – TWG kicks off a blog tour! I am delighted that Aria Fiction give me this honorary spot most weeks, so thank you!

This Monday morning will be all that you hoped it would be as it’s the start of Minna Howard’s blog tour for the aptly named; ‘Second Chances’. Here is my review:

Second Chances - jacket

Succumbing to a rather clichéd midlife crisis, Dan Haywood swaps his family for an expensive red sports car and a younger woman. After 24 years of marriage, his wife Sarah is left to pick up the pieces.

Trying her best to re-style her life, comfort hurt children, make time for ‘helpful’ friends and maintain her burgeoning career as a dress designer, Sarah feels pulled in a hundred directions. And it doesn’t help that obstacles – mostly in the form of other middle-aged men – seem to conspire against her.

Proud of herself for moving house and starting to build an independent life, she is shocked when Robert Maynard, her rather dashing new next-door neighbour, insists that the house was promised to him. Now she is destined to be pulled into his life by events beyond her control.

After one failed marriage, will she be able to find happiness again? And do second chances really come to those who wait?

What does TWG think?

Minna Howard is back with a brand new book, Second Chances, which fits in well with the author’s style of her previous novels. I have to admit, whilst I enjoyed the majority of this book, I finished reading it with mixed feelings.

Sarah Haywood had her life turned upside down when her husband decided to trade his lifestyle in for a younger model. Yes, I am talking about his car, AND his wife. As far as Sarah was concerned, their relationship was no different to other married couples, so Dan Haywood’s change of heart came as a shock. Sarah had the chance to make a new life for herself, but, thanks to a bit of neighbourly assumption with their genitalia, Sarah has reached her limit.

How many of you agree with second chances? Are you a once chance only type of person, if they screw that up then everything is done for? Or do you believe that every single person deserves a second chance? Just to be difficult, I believe in a mixture of both as it all depends on the circumstance. However, I don’t agree that EVERYONE deserves a second chance. As for Sarah Haywood, do I believe that she deserves a second chance at happiness? Of course I do.

The storyline itself wasn’t overly original, I’ll be honest, BUT, whilst that didn’t annoy me too much, it did mean that I hoping to be wow-ed by the book. To a point, I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Second Chances’, it was such an easy and straightforward read with no serious surprises. I managed to finish Minna Howard’s book in a couple of hours so it mustn’t have been that bad!

All of the characters made me laugh in their own individual ways. Well, except Robert. I didn’t really warm to him that much – an acquired taste! I liked how the pace flowed rather nicely and did its own thing without too much weighing it down; that meant that I could switch off and just enjoy the storyline without a care in the world. Bliss!

As I said above, I really did enjoy this book, but there was something within the storyline that made me wince on a personal level. Sarah Haywood’s job is a dress designer and she works in her friends shop, selling said designs. However, both Sarah and her friend seemed to zoom in on slim people, making quite harsh comments about women with slender figures. Whilst I fully appreciate that this is a work of fiction, as someone who always gets belittled due to their slender size, I felt that those comments in the storyline weren’t really warranted and were a bit uncalled for. Maybe I am being a little over sensitive, but I personally didn’t like those parts.

‘Second Chances’ didn’t blow me away due to the above, but, I did enjoy the lightness of the storyline as a whole.

Thanks Aria.

Buy links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2qjQTyP

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2qkiUGs

iBooks: http://apple.co/2r9dnUl

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2qJWSxY

About the author

Minna has had an exciting career in fashion journalism and now writes full time, whilst enjoying time with her grandsons and working as an occasional film and TV extra. She lives in London.

Follow Minna

Facebook: @MinnaHowardBooks

Twitter: @Adelica

Second Chances - The Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

