#BlogTour! #Review – The Stolen Girls by Patricia Gibney (@trisha460) @Bookouture

The-Stolen-Girls-Kindle
The young woman standing on Lottie’s step was a stranger. She was clutching the hand of a young boy. ‘Help me,’ she said to Lottie. ‘Please help me.’

One Monday morning, the body of a young pregnant woman is found. The same day, a mother and her son visit the house of Detective Lottie Parker, begging for help to find a lost friend.

Could this be the same girl?

When a second victim is discovered by the same man, with the murder bearing all the same hallmarks as the first, Lottie needs to work fast to discover how else the two were linked. Then two more girls go missing.

Detective Lottie Parker is a woman on the edge, haunted by her tragic past and struggling to keep her family together through difficult times. Can she fight her own demons and catch the killer before he claims another victim?

The Stolen Girls is a gripping and page-turning thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Karin Slaughter and Robert Dugoni.

What does TWG think?

First of all, why the fudging fudge fudge have I not read the first book in this series?! Despite the fact that I didn’t start this series in order, I found it fine to read as a standalone. However, I really do feel that I would have enjoyed it a bit more if I had read the first book as I would have a better insight into Lottie’s backstory. 

Oh.My.God this book! It didn’t take long for my body to be covered in goosebumps and my brain forgetting how to breathe! There was no easing in gently, or gradually increasing the intensity level. No. It really was super intense nion straight away.

A body is found, the victim was pregnant.
A young woman and her son approached Lottie Parker for help…on her doorstep.
A storyline with multiple murders, and multiple missing people. Are they linked? Who is the killer? WHY are they going on a rampage?

Now, seeing as I hadn’t read book one, it took me a little while to come up to speed with what happened in Lottie’s past. Thankfully the author decided to bring it up in several characters conversations in the storyline. Although, I could tell early on that something devastating must have happened due to the way that Lottie and her family were acting. It kept me glued though!

‘The Stolen Girls’ kept me on my toes from page one with a storyline that was full of spine tingling, toe curling, and heart racing moments. I have to admit that I struggled to read certain parts of the book due to the extremely vivid imagery that made its way into my mind, thanks to Patricia Gibney’s outstanding (if yet uncomfortable) descriptions of certain situations. It was really quite surreal, I had to keep looking on the floor to ensure that a murdered body hadn’t found its way into my home! In my opinion, it takes a lot of talent to be able to write such vivid and descriptive scenes, such as the ones which Gibney wrote in ‘The Stolen Girls’, as well as managing to make the situation come alive for the reader, whether they wanted it or not.

Like I say, pretty uncomfortable reading but geeeeez the author did good!

Again, ‘The Stolen Girls’ is the type of book that needs to be devoured to be believed. You need to read the book with your very own eyes to be able to appreciate the authors high-end literary skills, that’s for sure. I wish I could sit and natter about this book all day, but I think I would get slapped on the wrist for spoilers.

Despite wishing that I had read the first book in the series beforehand, ‘The Stolen Girls’ seemed to enjoy taking my breath away and scaring me half to death. Patricia Gibney has written such a hair-raising tale of devastation and destruction, I couldn’t stop reading. An intense, jaw-dropping novel by Patricia Gibney, I most definitely will be reading a book by this author again, very soon.

Thanks Bookouture.

UK 🇬🇧 http://amzn.to/2puBdJc
US 🇺🇸 http://amzn.to/2pcNNgs

About the author

Patricia yearned to be a writer after reading Enid Blyton and Carolyn Keene and even wanted to be Nancy Drew when grew up. She has now grown up (she thinks) but the closest she’s come to Nancy Drew is writing crime!

In 2009, after her husband died, she retired from my job and started writing seriously. Fascinated by people and their quirky characteristics, she always carries a notebook to scribble down observations.

Patricia also loves to paint in watercolour and live in the Irish midlands with her children.

www.patriciagibney.com 

https://www.facebook.com/patricia.gibney1

The blog tour isn’t over yet! If you have missed any of the previous hosts tour stops, you can find out their blog names below! Make sure you check out the last three days of the tour from tomorrow. Details below:
The-Stolen-Girls---Blog-Tour
Leave a Reply

