#yearofsayingyes #BlogTour! Author Hannah Doyle talks hygge! @HannahShowbiz @headlinepg

Year of Saying Yes blog tour poster
So, SO excited to be today’s stop on Hannah Doyle’s blog tour for her fabulous book, The Year of Saying Yes’. If you are aiming to be part of a squad this year, the #YesSquad is the place to be! Before Hannah Doyle’s book was released as a complete book, it was released in four separate parts. I still have the fourth part to read, and as soon as I have, those beauties will be reviewed on here. The first three parts are amazing.

For my stop on the tour, author Hannah Doyle has written a guest post about hygge. Intrigued? So you should be….
Over to you Ms. Doyle!

Hygge by Hannah Doyle.

#SayYes to getting hygge

Okay, so it gets dark super early and the temptation to stay in is high when the thermometer hits zero, but there is a positive to winter. Getting hygge with it!

(In my head, that totally rhymes with getting jiggy with it. Sadly the Danes pronounce it hoo-ga so that doesn’t actually work.)

Hygge. You know, the Danish concept that loads of people are banging on about right now. It basically boils down to being cosy. Search for #hygge on Instagram and you’ll find over a million snaps of things like hot water bottles and cute cushions. What’s not to love!

To celebrate the launch of my new ebook The Year of Saying Yes, I thought I’d put together my top five ways to hygge the heck out of your life. Enjoy.

1. Develop a candle habit

Of course one solitary candle on a table won’t do! You need multiples. The more the merrier, and get them going as soon as daylight starts to fade to give your home a cosy glow. 

2. Get your mull on

Mulled wine is the ideal drink for hygge-lovers. You don’t even need to make your own, just buy a bottle and add a couple of slices of orange while it’s warming through. Breathe in that spicy smell and pretend that you’re by a frosty fjord somewhere Scandinavian. 

3. Cosy knits are compulsory

Curl up in your warmest jumper, grab a good book (*shameless plug* maybe try mine?!) and relax. 

4. Start obsessing over interiors

Especially things like terrariums (try saying that after a glass of mull!), cashmere throws and hand-printed ceramic bowls. Basically anything to your home a little extra cheer. 

5. Gather your best ones

Nothing spreads the love like hanging out with your favourite people in the whole world. My best friends have selfishly scattered themselves across our fair isle, the brutes, so we don’t get to hang out that often, but when we do we spend a whole weekend bonding and I come away feeling so blooming hygge about life.

Happy hygge-ing everyone!

Obviously folks, play safe with the candles. I know Hannah is talking about being cosy, but there is a difference between being cosy and looking like a roasting chestnut on an open fire! If you managed to spot the oh-so-hidden shameless plug by the lady herself, it might be useful to add a link and the book info for you. You know, just in case….

yosy

Hannah Doyle’s THE YEAR OF SAYING YES will make you dirty-laugh, feel warm and fuzzy, and rediscover life’s magic – all thanks to one little word: ‘yes’. Fans of THE BAD MOTHER’S DIARY, Colleen Coleman’s DON’T STOP ME NOW, Anna Bell’s THE BUCKET LIST TO MEND A BROKEN HEART and Joanna Bolouri’s THE LIST, you’re in for a real treat.

Dear Readers,

I hold my hands up: I’m stuck in a rut. For three years and counting I’ve been hopelessly in love with the same guy – and the closest we’ve ever got is a drunken arse grab (NB: this doesn’t count). My favourite hobby is googling cats for spinsters and I’m sick of my shoestring salary that barely pays for my shoebox flat.

I need a head-to-toe life makeover. Enter my ‘Year of Saying Yes’, which is where you come in. To help me sort out my sorry life, I need you to #DareIzzy. For the next 12 months I’ll be saying ‘yes’ to your challenges, no matter how wild, adventurous or plain nuts they are. ‘No’ is not an option!

Here goes… Wish me luck! I’m going to need it.

Love,

Izzy x

Buy now: Amazon UK // Amazon US // Kobo

Leave a Reply

