#BlogTour! #Review – Exquisite by Sarah Stovell (@SarahLovesCrime) @OrendaBooks

exquiste

Bo Luxton has it all – a loving family, a beautiful home in the Lake District, and a clutch of bestselling books to her name. Enter Alice Dark, an aspiring writer who is drifting through life, with a series of dead-end jobs and a freeloading boyfriend. When they meet at a writers’ retreat, the chemistry is instant, and a sinister relationship develops … Or does it? Breathlessly pacey, taut and terrifying, Exquisite is a startlingly original and unbalancing psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

What does TWG think?

The only way that I can describe this novel without blatantly writing spoilers, is via these  three words; Psychological Love Affair. I really don’t know how to else to surmise it, yet those three words sum up this novel for me, if I were to be asked.

‘Exquisite’…what a title! On its own it’s catchy. Intriguing. Bold.
Put that title on a pitch black background, what do you have now? A book that gives me goosebumps just looking at it. It’s crazy what a title and cover can do for a book.

‘Exquisite’ has an extremely entwined storyline which makes talking about it rather difficult. I have never given away a spoiler in a review, and I don’t intend on starting now.

Let me get straight to the point; I struggled with the concept of the storyline as I couldn’t sink my teeth into it as much I was hoping I would. However, whilst the storyline wasn’t my cup of tea, I was absolutely mesmerised by Sarah Stovell’s exquisite (sorry) story telling. Whenever the storyline veered towards emotional situations, the author seemed to write those moments with her own heart and soul. It often felt as though it wasn’t just Bo and Alice’s rendezvous, but the readers as well. I know that sounds odd, but when you’re reading a powerful piece of writing and the author is able to reel you in with every word on the page, it’s a bit difficult not to surrender yourself to the underlying current of those words. Those feelings. Those emotions.

I really can appreciate the time and effort that went into writing this novel, as the brains behind the story telling obviously knows her stuff. Sarah Stovell seemed to know how to engage her readers. How to push her readers buttons. How to put her readers under a literary spell. Even though I have fully admitted that the storyline and I weren’t bosom buddies, I am still in awe at the authors beautiful, beautiful writing.
For me, the author is the star of the show.

Thanks Orenda.

Buy now from Amazon UK

 

Exquisite blog tour poster (1)

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – Exquisite by Sarah Stovell (@SarahLovesCrime) @OrendaBooks

  1. Kaisha. Thank you. You have given me hope. I thought that my reading meter was broken. I was the same as you. Thought the writing was strong but kind of meh about the story as I dissed it early on and it wasn’t as shocking or deep as I hoped it might be. I thought I was the only one not totally in love with it. I would definitely read more by Sarah Stovell but I think I’ve just read too many books which felt the same and didn’t quite feel hooked by this as others had.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

