#BlogTour! #Review – A House to Mend a Broken Heart by @AlisonSherlock @Aria_Fiction

A House to Mend a Broken Heart - blog tour banner

Wahey!!! Brand new week of a brand new month and Aria Fiction have me kicking off Alison Sherlock’s blog tour for her new book, A House to Mend a Broken Heart! Woo, thanks Aria Fiction!

A House to Mend a Broken Heart - jacket

Everyone is hiding from something…

Full of warmth, laughter, tears and heartache. Find out if there is a happy-ever-after at Willow Tree Hall. Perfect for the fans of Milly Johnson and Lucy Diamond.

Willow Tree Hall has seen much better days and has been the proud ancestral home of the Earl and Countess of Cranley for centuries.

With no qualifications and escaping her past Annie Rogers takes the job as housekeeper to widowed Arthur, the charming current Earl of Cranley. After a bad fall puts Arthur in hospital, it’s up to a reluctant heir apparent Sam Harris, to lend a helping hand and try to find a sustainable future for the Estate.

With the house requiring a full renovation Annie suddenly finds herself completely out of her depth with a team of dodgy builders and Sam watching critically from the side-lines.

With Sam running from his past and Annie hiding from hers, just maybe together they can bring Willow Tree Hall back to life.

The start of a beautiful new series focusing on the lives and loves, trial and tribulations of all those who live and work at Willow Tree Hall.

 

What does TWG think?

First Alison Sherlock book I have read and I have to say, I was quite pleasantly surprised! It’s a bit hard to know what to expect from a book when you haven’t read any of the authors work, however, the cover of ‘A House to Mend a Broken Heart’ caught my eye when it was first put onto social media as I found it rather pristine looking. Obviously I was intrigued by the title, after all, how can a house mend a broken heart! Who’s heart was broken? Why did it need mending? What did the house do to fix the broken heart?

So many questions.

The house in question is Willow Tree Hall; a stately home which has housed generations of Earls and Countess’s of Cranley for years. However, Willow Tree Hall isn’t looking its best, it’s feeling a little sorry for itself. The current Earl of Cranley, Arthur, has been doing the best that he can with very little help as his grandsons are too busy in their own lives. Well, some say too busy, I say too selfish, but who am I to judge!

Poor old Arthur has a fall and finds himself in hospital, whilst his housekeeper, Annie, tries to keep Willow Tree Hall above water. Not literally.

If you’re a fan of watching Grand Designs, you’ll adore this book. When Arthur’s grandson appeared on the scene, he decided to take it upon himself to hire a builder who seemed to think himself qualified after watching ‘Bob the Builder’ on T.V..
‘It will be fine’ he said
But it wasn’t fine.

I’ll be honest, after the first couple of chapters, this storyline had ‘predictable’ written all over it. It wouldn’t have taken a genius to work out who, if any, were going to get their happily ever after. However, does it honestly matter whether it’s guessed or not?
No it does not!

It didn’t bother me. I wanted to read a happy ending style book. A story where all of the characters involved go through some form of heartache, uncertainty, disappointment and regret, before they realise which new route takes them down the path to happiness. After all, everyone finds happiness in different ways, right?

‘A House to Mend a Broken Heart’ is predominantly a light read, with some rather quirky characters making themselves known along the way. Before I began Alison Sherlock’s novel I was feeling rough, no energy and my brain had decided to go on standby. After reading Alison Sherlock’s novel I felt cosy, relaxed, and calm, with a smile upon my face. I didn’t have to over think the storyline. I didn’t have to try to work out any of the characters. I didn’t find myself getting too annoyed with any of the characters like usual. Reading ‘AHTMABH’ I was able to just….be. I was able to enjoy the re-birth of Willow Tree Hall. I was able to imagine Rose and Beryl’s fashion sense. I was able to feel the chemistry between certain characters. I was able to envision the design work on all of the rooms. I was able to imagine sliding down the banister of the staircase like Sam and Will.

I never knew that a house could mend a broken heart. I never knew that a book had the power to make me feel calm. Until now. Not only is ‘A House to Mend a Broken Heart’ true to its title storyline wise; for the duration of this novel it became A Story to Soothe a Painful Body.

Thank You Alison Sherlock, you most certainly have a way with words.
Thanks Aria Fiction.

Buy links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2o5GQx8

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2nH94x4

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2nvjCPG

iBooks: http://apple.co/2pEA9SH

Follow Aria 

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – A House to Mend a Broken Heart by @AlisonSherlock @Aria_Fiction

Leave a Reply

