#BlogBlitz! #Review – Summer at Buttercup Beach by Holly Martin (@HollyMAuthor) @Bookouture

hollym
Delighted to be one of the fabulous bloggers involved in Holly Martin’s Blog Blitz for ‘Summer at Buttercup Beach’, which was published 30th June 2017 by Bookouture!
Here is my review:

hollym1

Pull up a deck chair and bask in the beautiful sunshine on Buttercup Beach. The sand is warm, the sea is sparkling blue and romance is sizzling in the air…

For two years Freya Greene has hidden the fact that she’s totally and utterly in love with her best friend Rome Lancaster. It’s not been easy – they work together in his glasswork business, she lives above his workshop and, he’s completely gorgeous. But Rome has never shown any sign of returning those feelings. Until now…

Lately they’ve shared affectionate touches and words heavy with meaning. Yet Freya knows Rome has a damaged heart. After losing his fiancé in a tragic accident, he’s not allowed himself to fall in love.

Freya has already had her heart broken by a man who couldn’t let go of a past love. Can she risk it happening again? Rome and Freya have a friendship that could blossom into something more. Are they both brave enough to take that chance?

Fall in love on Hope Island with the perfect romantic story to escape into this summer. For fans of Miranda Dickinson, Sarah Morgan and Jane Costello.

What does TWG think?

Just when I thought that Holly Martin had written her best book yet, she goes and releases a new one (this one). I really have no clue how Holly Martin does it. I really don’t. I mean, her previous novel, Spring at Blueberry Bay, was amazing! It was my most favourite book of hers to date….well, until she released this one of course.

Summer at Buttercup Beach is, without a doubt, my most favourite book by Holly Martin. I didn’t know it was possible. I wasn’t expecting it to be this good. Well, hang on, I knew it would be good because it’s Holly Martin and her books are ah-MAZING! I just wasn’t expecting to write IOU’s to the author as star ratings don’t go past five! Pfft.

Freya and Rome – best friends, colleagues, and more often than none; an extra in each others dreams. Think of it like this; if Freya was a hormonal teenager still in school, she would be etching, ‘FG 4 RL’ on the front of her textbooks, staring into space with her hand propping up her head incase it became to heavy with thoughts of Rome Lancaster. If you hadn’t worked it out by that, Freya has a HUGE crush on her best friend and has done for a while. She’s convinced herself that Rome doesn’t have feelings for her in return, but instead of grabbing the boy by the horn, she just assumes that he doesn’t due to his past. Has she asked him? Has she fudge….

If, like Freya, you have had feelings for your best friend, you can fully appreciate how scary that particular situation is. Not only does she work with the guy, it’s pretty clear that she is too scared to put her feelings out there in case it ruins their friendship, even though her close friends are egging her on to do so.

I have been in Freya’s position before, and I can tell you now, it is a horrible, horrible situation to be in, no wonder she didn’t know whether to tell him or not! I loved watching Freya and Rome’s friendship grow throughout the storyline, as both characters have such bold personalities. They’re both incredibly stubborn yet they both have hearts of gold, which meant that they were constantly doing right by other people, instead of doing right by themselves. As an outsider looking in, I was shouting at the book because I just wanted them both to see sense and actually talk to each other!

Once again, Holly Martin managed to create scenes which had me singing;

IT’S GETTING HOT IN HEREEEEE, SO TAKE OFF ALL YOUR CLOTHESSSS.

Hot.Under.The.Collar.

Even though I had a feeling on the conclusion of this book from an early stage, the predictability didn’t bother me in the slightest as I was too engrossed with Freya and Rome’s relationship, and ended up getting frustrated for them!

I have to make a confession. A part of this book irked me a tad. I didn’t want it to. But it did.

IT DIDN’T CONTAIN ENOUGH PAGES!!!!!!!!!

Yes. That right there is what’s wrong with this book. It’s too short. Hell, it could be 4775354564 pages long and I would still think that it was too short. Why? Because ladies and gentleman, this particular author is incredible!
Holly Martin creates realistic storylines with unforgettable characters, includes memorable laugh out loud humour, adds in a pinch of spice and drama to rival ITVbe; all in one book. To include all of that in a novel without losing momentum or vibe, takes talent, dedication, a kinky brain and a Holly Martin’s brain.

I adored everything about this novel, I’m not going to lie. For me, the thing that I love most about ‘Summer at Buttercup Beach’ is how it sends a message to anyone who has a crush; telling them to be true to themselves, not to make rash decisions, listen to your heart and just go for it.

Such a poignant and beautiful message within a humour filled, tender and cosy novel. 100% unputdownable.

Thanks Holly M & Bookouture.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogBlitz! #Review – Summer at Buttercup Beach by Holly Martin (@HollyMAuthor) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s