#BlogTour! #Review – The Orphan of India by Sharon Maas (@sharon_maas) @Bookouture

sharonmaas1
A lost child. A childless couple. Can they save each other?

Living on the streets of Bombay, Jyothi has no-one to turn to after her mother is involved in a tragic accident.

Monika and Jack Kingsley are desperate for a child of their own. On a trip to India, they fall in love with Jyothi and decide to adopt the orphan child.

The new family return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt. As Monika and Jack’s relationship fractures, Jyothi is more alone than ever and music becomes her solace. But even when her extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, Jyothi still doesn’t feel like she belongs. 

Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront her past…

The Orphan of India is an utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.

What does TWG think?

The adoption process in the UK is complex enough, never mind going to India and adopting a child there. Put it this way, that part of the storyline opened my eyes to how vulnerable children overseas, especially in a third world country like India. Monika and Jack Kingsley, like many couples, would do anything for a child of their own. A child to protect. A child to love. On their visit to India, they meet orphan, Jyothi, a child who has been living on the streets with no family of her own. Until the Kingsley’s that is..

This is going to sound daft, but as a woman with an Indian name, I have always held a torch for the country, even though I have never been and I’m not Indian. Yet the way that Sharon Maas described Bombay made me feel as though I had been transported to the country, and that I was able to watch everything go past from the sidelines. I felt as though I was able to touch the atmosphere with my fingertips, smell the aroma of the different culture, as well as having my eyes opened due to the complex differences of Bombay and its inhabitants. Absolutely beautiful. I would do anything to feel those vibes again for the very first time.

When the Kingsley’s took Jyothi back to England, I felt that the overall vibe of the storyline changed. I felt sorry for Jyothi as she was struggling in a brand new country, with a new way of living, alongside new faces and different beliefs. A lot of us struggle with change, but relocating over 4500 miles to a completely new country, must be incredibly hard to adjust to. My heart went out to her, I must admit.

However, aside from Jyothi’s emotional state, I found her a little difficult to gel with. I perfectly understand that she has had a difficult life and so forth, but I think that her childhood had severely damaged her and it seemed as though it was going to take something almighty to come and change that. Therefore, the poor girl obviously was quite guarded and didn’t know whether she was coming or going.

Because the underlying topic of the storyline is incredibly complex, it does require patience and understanding to be able to full appreciate the dynamics of the situation, as well as the time frame that it was set in. Whilst I could understand and appreciate the overall gist of this novel, it was a little bit too intense and complicated for me to embrace fully. In no way is that the author’s fault; she has written it beautifully, and her use of language is enchanting. It’s just me.

If I were to review the book based on the overall vibe and the authors talent, I would, hand on heart, say that ‘The Orphan of India’ moved me to tears. It did. It’s beautiful, truly heart-warming. Even though I had a little hiccough with the storyline, I cannot wait to pick up another Sharon Maas novel and be transported to another beautiful place, due to her mesmerising words.

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

sharonmaas

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Orphan of India by Sharon Maas (@sharon_maas) @Bookouture

  1. Thanks for the super review, Kaisha! Hope you get to India one day — I’ve always felt that bond, too, though I don’t have an Indian name or a drop of Indian blood. It’s the magic!
    Sharon Maas

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

