#BlogTour! #Review – Meet Me at the Lighthouse by @MaryJayneBaker @HarperImpulse

921899071

‘One of my top books of 2017… side-splittingly hilarious’ The Writing Garnet

’The day I turned 28, I bought a lighthouse and met the love of my life’

Bobbie Hannigan’s life in a cottage by the sea with her dog and her twin sister is perfectly fine … until she decides the logical thing is to buy a lighthouse and open a music venue with Ross Mason, the first boy she ever kissed.

Bobbie tries to be professional with Ross, but the happily-ever-after they’re working toward is too good to resist. That is until someone from his past crawls back to cause trouble. Can Bobbie look past the secrets Ross has been keeping from her? Or will the boy, the lighthouse, and the dream all slip away?

Escape to the Yorkshire coast this summer with this laugh out loud romantic comedy from Mary Jayne Baker!

What does TWG think?

FINALLY!!!!! I have been waiting AGES for Mary Jayne Baker’s new book to come out, and no, not just because I’m quoted on the cover. Although, that does help, obviously!

‘Meet Me at the Lighthouse’ is pure genius from start to finish. Not a page went by where I wasn’t snorting like pig, or wiping the tears off my face with the cuff of my sleeve. Yes folks, I could NOT stop laughing. You know how it goes when someone’s laugh is funnier than the joke itself? Well my laugh it pretty hilarious, but even MJB managed to blow that out of the water with her genius sense of humour.

The moment Bobbie Hannigan came face to face with the boy she first kissed, Ross, I didn’t know whether to sing ‘THIS SEX IS ON FIRE’ or ‘LET’S GET IT ON’. Seriously, the chemistry that they both had, was sizzling. I adore the fact that Mary Jayne Baker writes kick ass heroines, aka; ones that can stand on their own two feet without pining for a lovestick. There are so many books out there where the leading lady ends up resembling a red slush puppy, but MJB ensures her leading ladies are independent women with bucketfuls of sass.

This entire book is just unique and hilarious, right from page one. I mean, take the lighthouse for example; it plays a big part in the storyline and the author has incorporated it absolutely brilliantly, and in such a way that will get everyone talking. Well, or they might be looking at their freddo’s feeling as though they have been ripped off (what’s new there then!)!

If you’re already a fan of Mary Jayne Baker’s novels, you will know that she is able to get her readers hot under the collar in a matter of seconds; Meet Me at the Lighthouse is no exception! There are some rather sexy scenes in the storyline but they’re not written distastefully in the slightest. Put it this way, if the author can write a love scene with the correct terminology of a female’s anatomy, you’re on to a winner! What also helps, is that the characters involved in the love scene have incredible chemistry. It isn’t the cringey type of chemistry when there’s stroking of arms and gazing in each others eyes…all because the man pulled out your chair for you. No, the characters involved have the full shebang.

I could sit here and say how much I loved each individual character, but I can’t as it would spoil it for you. All I will say on the character front is that there are some rather memorable (and questionable) characters throughout the entire storyline, and they are all fabulous in their own ways.

For me, ‘Meet Me at the Lighthouse’ has everything I could ever want in a book. It has side-splitting humour, kick ass characters, a flawless plot, unique situations, and wit that is out of this world. Mary Jayne Baker is an author that just keeps on getting better and better, as she writes tales that are unique and memorable instead of ones that follow the crowd. The authors humour is unbelievable, it’s absolutely brilliant! I genuinely don’t think that I will ever stop laughing at her. Sorry, WITH her.

‘Meet Me at the Lighthouse’ made my sides hurt, my collar damp, as well as making me grin from ear to ear. This book is brilliant. It’s unique. It’s side-splittingly hilarious. It’s flawless. Mary Jayne Baker is an absolute genius. I absolutely adored this book; it truly is one of my top books of 2017 without a doubt. I cannot wait to read it over, and over, and over again. Hurry up with your new book please!!

Thanks so much to the author and HarperImpulse.

BUY NOW!!!

MJB

Leave a Reply

