#BlogTour! #Review – Practice Makes Perfect by Penny Parkes @CotswoldPenny @simonschusterUK

Penny Parkes

THE HILARIOUS AND HEARTFELT NEW NOVEL FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF OUT OF PRACTICE!
‘If dishy doctors, cute dogs, hilarious OAPs and idyllic country settings are your thing, you’re in for a treat with this second novel set at a GP practice in the village of Larkford. Funny, moving, romantic and full of characters you’ll love – it’s perfect in every way’ Heat

The Practice at Larkford has suddenly been thrust under the spotlight – and its nomination as a ‘NHS Model Surgery’ is causing the team major headaches. Dr Holly Graham should be basking in the glow of her new romance with fellow doctor, Taffy – but she is worried that the team is prioritising plaudits over patients, and her favourite resident, the irreverent and entertaining Elsie, is facing a difficult diagnosis. Add to that the chaos of family life and the strain is starting to show.

Dr Dishy Dan Carter’s obsession with work is masking unhappiness elsewhere – he can’t persuade girlfriend Julia to settle down. It’s only as Julia’s mother comes to stay that he realizes what she has been hiding for so long. Alice Walker joins the team like a breath of fresh air and her assistance dog Coco quickly wins everyone round – which is just as well, because Coco and Alice will soon need some help of their own. Can they pull together and become the Dream Team that the NHS obviously thinks they are?

Out of Practice won the Romantic Comedy of the Year category of the RNA Awards.

What does TWG think?

I am absolutely delighted to be today’s stop on Penny Parkes’ blog tour for her new novel, ‘Practice Makes Perfect’! Huge thanks to the oh-so-lovely, Jess Barrett from S&S for inviting me on the tour! Such an honour.

For the last year or so, I have seen Penny Parkes’ name everywhere. Whenever I hopped onto Amazon a thumbnail of her book, Out of Practice, made itself known. Yet, despite that, I put her novel on the forever growing ‘to be read pile’, adamant that I would get round to reading it. Shamefully, I didn’t. However, Ms.Parkes’ name kept cropping up. I saw reviews for her first book, social media posts; I was too busy fangirling the author instead of reading her work. Well, that was until Jess Barrett contacted me and I managed to make my three-year old come running into the kitchen with my squeals. The author says that ‘Practice Makes Perfect’, and after reading her new novel, I whole heartedly agree.

Why?

Because this was THE perfect time to fall under Penny Parkes’ literary spell, without any other books coming between me, and page numero uno. If you like the thought of a dishy doctor, a cute four-legged friend, as well as the ‘shouldn’t do that’ of a doctor’s surgery, ‘Practice Makes Perfect’ will be right up your street.

If you haven’t read the first book in the Larkford Series, ‘Out of Practice’ – don’t fret. I haven’t and I found that I was able to slot into the lifestyle of the characters extremely easily, without feeling like I was missing out on any vital pieces of information which could hinder my enjoyment of this book.

This storyline is FULL of drama, drama and more drama! Who doesn’t like drama? Dan Carter and his girlfriend, Julia, seemed to be having a spot of bother, whilst the other doctors in the surgery were competing against four-legged friend, Coco, for attention. Not only does the storyline contain drama from the medical team, their patients were giving them a run for their money. After the practice was thrust into the spotlight, stress levels were raised and goal posts were moved. One moment the doctors were well aware of what their roles consisted of, the next moment they were unsure of every single detail in their lives. Personally, I LOVED watching everything unfold. I couldn’t foresee what was going to happen, at all. I just knew that I was looking forward to the rollercoaster ride.

For me, the characters of ‘Practice Makes Perfect’ is what made this storyline come to life. Their individual personalities and unique stories, in my eyes, gave the story an incredible amount of depth, as well as holding onto the relatable factor that a lot of readers look out for. As a person who should have their own seat in their local doctors surgery, I found it quite refreshing to read a novel from the ‘other side’ – the doctor side. Plus, this book has given me something humorous to think of the next time I have to venture to my surgery for even more tests. I mean, how could you not think of a certain dishy doctor, and an unhinged personality that is good ol’ Elsie? Would it be bad of me if I said that I wanted my doctor to be Taffy?

Penny Parkes’ latest novel is the type of book you need to invest time into. At 559 pages long, ‘Practice Makes Perfect’ is a hunk-a-chunk of burning love…and then some. It is, quite possibly, the longest contemporary fiction type novel I have ever read. Can I let you into a little secret? It’s also one of my most favourite as well. Yes, really.

I just love the down to earth vibe that the book gives off. The bubbly, three-dimensional characters who were able to make me sides hurt from laughing. The firecracker, Elsie, who I will remember for a very, very long time due to her unbelievably personality. All of that, plus a storyline that kept on giving – I mean, how could I not rate this highly? Of course, none of this would have been possible if it wasn’t for the brains behind it, Penny Parkes. In such a short space of time, this author managed to turn the characters into ‘friends’, rather than just a name for the readers remember. I giggled. I snlaughed. I gasped. I awwww-ed. I said ‘what on earth’ more times than I care to admit. AND I wanted to give the author a hug after the tying of the loose ends.

TWG’s verdict? Enough talking, go and buy it. If an author can turn this Ice Queen into a warm, fuzzy mess – it’s definitely a winning book.

Thanks Simon and Schuster.

Buy now from Amazon UK

The blog tour isn’t over yet, so make sure you stop by the bloggers listed on the graphic below:

 

Practice Makes Perfect Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

