#BlogTour! #Review of Trust Me by Angela Clarke (@TheAngelaClarke) @AvonBooksUK

Trust Me Blog Tour banner
Thrilled to be hosting day two of Angela Clarke’s blog tour for her recently released novel, Trust Me, which is the third book from the Social Media Murders series. Here is my review:

Angela Clarke

YOU SAW IT HAPPEN. DIDN’T YOU?

What do you do if you witness a crime…but no-one believes you?

When Kate sees a horrific attack streamed live on her laptop, she calls the police in a state of shock. But when they arrive, the video has disappeared – and she can’t prove anything. Desperate to be believed, Kate tries to find out who the girl in the video could be – and who attacked her.

Freddie and Nas are working on a missing persons case, but the trail has gone cold. When Kate contacts them, they are the only ones to listen and they start to wonder – are the two cases connected?

Dark, gripping, and flawlessly paced, Trust Me is the brilliant third novel in the hugely popular social media murderer series.

What does TWG think?

Even though ‘Trust Me’ is the third book in the ‘Social Media Murders’ series, I found it relatively easy to keep up with the storyline, despite having not read the first book in the series. There are a lot of characters in this storyline, but given the nature of the investigation and how complex it seems to be, I would be rather shocked if it did contain less characters. At least this way, the investigation comes across more realistic and closer to the real deal. I really enjoyed the complexity of the plot, especially as usually I am the first one to get confused by really complex storylines with a lot of characters! Angela Clarke made the plot extremely easy to understand without losing any of the momentum.

What would you do if you saw some rather horrific events via a Facebook live video?

You’d go to the police, right? Of course you would!

But, what if you nobody believed you? It IS social media after all….

Well, that is what happened when Kate contacted the police about a video posted on Facebook. No proof = no case. Was Kate seeing things? Was the video actually there, or is her memory starting to fail her? When Kate gets in contact with another two officers, a lightbulb begins to flicker at the end of the tunnel…but for how long?

The entire case, of which the storyline is focus on, brought me out in chills. It could happen. Anything can be posted on social media and then deleted, it’s so scary to think about what can happen, and then removed, in a blink of an eye.

I was hooked by the multiple shock factors within the story – they kept me on my toes, send shivers down my spine, and even remove all of the moisture from my mouth. All the events in the book were so real it unnerved me. I am no longer a wuss when it comes to books of this genre (yay me), yet whilst I enjoyed the intensity of the graphic events, I did end up feeling a teensy bit queasy. I can’t even pinpoint why. Maybe it was how cold-blooded they came across? Or how realistic? Or how shocking? Or even a mixture? I’m not saying that I love feeling nauseous, I don’t, but feeling queasy thanks to certain events of this book I didn’t even consider a bad thing. Does that make me weird?

I LOVED Freddie’s attitude to her work! It’s as though she has thrown the ‘how to act at work’ manual out of the window, ripped up the file of procedures to follow, and has decided to just follow her own gut and hope for the best. Even the times she gets her knuckles tapped she doesn’t change her ways, instead she sticks her two fingers up at her superiors and looks smug when her instincts were right. To be honest, I’m surprised she didn’t end up losing her job! Freddie is my favourite character out of the entire book, I would be devastated if she didn’t appear again. She really is the breath of fresh air, sassy, fiery character who made me giggle when I probably shouldn’t have. My bad.

As for Detective Inspector Nasreen, I couldn’t gel with her as much as Freddie. Don’t get me wrong she is a fantastic addition to the storyline, but a lot more hard-nosed than Freddie.

So, what did I think of ‘Trust Me’ overall? I bloody loved it! If I was put on the edge of my seat any more, I would have fallen off and landed on my backside. THAT’S how immersed in the storyline I was! It truly was a rollercoaster ride of intensity, complexity, and multiple shockers.

Yet anther fantastic book from creative genius, Angela Clarke, an author whose mind you wouldn’t want to cross down a dark alley! Outstanding.

Thanks Angela & Avon Books.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US


Leave a Reply

