#BlogTour! #Review – The Gin Shack by Catherine Miller (@katylittlelady) @HQDigitalUK

CM1

As most of you are aware (well, if you’ve been a fan of TWG since the beginning), I am a huge fan of Catherine Miller’s work. Her two previous novels are such thought-provoking, beautiful reads which still resonate with me to this day. When Catherine Miller personally asked me to be involved with the blog tour for her new book, The Gin Shack, I was completely taken aback. Not only that, the author wanted little ol’ me to kick off her blog tour….ON her publication day, what an incredible honour! Thank you Ms.Miller for giving me the honour of supporting you and your brand new book today.

Let me kick off this tour by wishing Catherine Miller a truly amazing HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!

CM

You’re never too old to try something new!

When octogenarian Olive Turner is persuaded by her son to move into a retirement home, she congratulates herself on finding the secret to an easy life: no washing up, cooking or cleaning. But Olive isn’t one for mindless bingo with her fellow residents, and before the first day is over she’s already hatching a plan to escape back to her beloved beach hut and indulge in her secret passion for a very good gin & tonic.

Before long Olive’s secret is out and turning into something wonderful and new. Only a select few are invited, but word spreads quickly about the weekly meetings of The Gin Shack Club. Soon everybody on the beach wants to become a gin connoisseur and join Olive on her journey to never being forced to grow older than you feel.

A journey of friendship, defiance and a quest for the perfect G&T.

What does TWG think?

Finding out that Catherine Miller’s third novel was going to be about gin, really did surprise me; especially as her previous two novels had quite a serious topic for the storyline. I was aware that the author wanted to try something new, but, as someone who isn’t allowed to drink alcohol, I wasn’t sure what to make of the concept.

However…..

It  didn’t matter whether I drank alcohol, liked alcohol, didn’t like alcohol, or fancied dressing up as a llama whilst necking several tequila, the storyline of ‘The Gin Shack’ was absolutely brilliant! To be honest, the entire novel was cleverly written – it blew any umm-ing and ahh-ing of out of the water.

Olive has reached a time in her life where her mind thinks she’s 20, but her body tells her that she’s eighty-wonderful. Unfortunately, Olive’s son is concerned about leaving her sharp mind and her weakening body alone to care for herself. As far as Olive is concerned, moving into a care home is going to be bliss; no cooking!! There is one major downside to that move; no free access to her beach hut…..

I fell in love with Olive’s character straight away, whilst at the same time disliking her son’s character. He annoyed me big time! As for Olive, I’m surprised her beach hut was able to accommodate her personality, it’s larger than life! I adored her cheeky and free-spirited side, aka the ‘not giving a f….’ side, she couldn’t give two hoots whether people liked what she got up to, all that mattered was whether Olive was happy. What exactly is wrong with that?

There is so much more to Catherine Miller’s latest novel than just gin, and it’s very moving.
There were times throughout the storyline where I felt incredibly sorry for Olive. All she wanted to do was keep her hobbies, it wasn’t really asking for much yet for Olive it was as though she had lost part of her. Aside from the fact that this book is mostly about gin, the storyline does have a back story to it and most of the characters are more than what they seem. You’ll find out when you read it!

I wish I could sit here and explain my views a little better, but if I did that I wouldn’t be too popular due to spoilers. Soooo it means that this review is quite tricky to write. Apologies!

Olive is the sort of person that everyone should have in their lives; she has sparkle, confidence, a big heart, as well as a touching back story which will no doubt make you have ‘something in your eye’. I love her to pieces.

In my eyes, Catherine Miller has done it yet again! She has written such a memorable, heart-warming, soul-searching, addictive and magical novel which warmed my body from the tips of my toes, to the top of my head. Catherine Miller’s enticing words made me giggle, sigh, and for the first time ever, make me feel as though I was ‘one of the gang’ (even though I don’t drink). To an outsider, a Gin Shack may seem to be a waste of time or pointless. But, to Olive, her friends, and now the readers of Miller’s brand new book, ‘The Gin Shack’ is THE book to read and losing yourself in. Yes it’s funny at times. Yes it’s bonkers at times. Yes there is copious amounts of gin. But you know what? I have never, ever felt more at home in a storyline as I have with Catherine Miller’s.

Such a fantastic, fun, and moving novel, perfect for reminding you of what is TRULY important in life (alongside gin). Out-gin-standing. The Gin Shack is my top hug in a book, book ever.

Catherine Miller is definitely an author to watch in 2017; phenomenal work as always.

Huge thanks to HQ Digital UK & Catherine Miller!

Buy ‘The Gin Shack’ by Catherine Miller, NOW!

This is only day ONE of the tour don’t forget, so make sure you follow the other folk on Catherine Miller’s tour! Apparently there is a World Gin Day? Who knew!!

CM1

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Gin Shack by Catherine Miller (@katylittlelady) @HQDigitalUK

  1. Aaah your review is brilliant, I love the way you capture the way it is written and say how it made you feel .. Another book on my TBR list

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

