#BlogTour! #Review – Care to Die by Tana Collins @Bloodhoundbook #CareToDie

ctd blog tour (1)

Care to Die 1.1

A gripping new crime thriller

Struggling with his demotion back to DI and his concern for the grieving DS Andrea Fletcher, Jim Carruthers is thrown in at the deep end when the body of an old man is discovered stabbed to death in a nature reserve- a ball of cloth rammed into the back of the victim’s throat. The only suspect is a fifteen-year-old neighbour who is known to the police for antisocial behaviour. But the teenager has an alibi. 

When a second elderly man is also found dead at the same locale, with the same MO, Carruthers starts to wonder if they have a serial killer on their hands.

On discovering that the first victim, Ruiridh Fraser, has an estranged son living in Iceland, Carruthers flies out to interview the man, now convinced that the reason behind Fraser’s death lies in his past.

But what does the disappearance of a twelve year old boy forty years before, the brutal murder of a former journalist and a bitter local dispute about a nature reserve, have to do with the investigation?

Can Carruthers and Fletcher solve the case while battling their own demons?

And are they hunting for one killer or more?

This is the 2nd instalment of the stunning new Inspector Jim Carruthers series

What does TWG think?

‘Care to Die’ is the second book in the Inspector Jim Carruthers series, with ‘Robbing the Dead’ being book number one. I hadn’t read any of Tana Collins’ novels before but I was assured that her latest novel would be okay to read as a standalone. Personally, I found that some of the storyline was perfectly fine to read from a standalone point of view, but there were moments where I felt as though I was missing something and that I was walking into a conversation halfway through, as I didn’t have enough of Carruthers and Fletcher’s back stories.

Despite that, I found that the storyline was incredibly complex, full of spine tingling, and well written situations which left my breathing rapid. Even though this storyline contained a lot of harrowing and hard to read moments, my eyes couldn’t seem to drift away from the page and I found myself spectacularly engrossed in Tana Collins’ chilling words.

Have you ever read a storyline where you felt as though you were on a boat, rocking back and forth with the rollercoaster ride of a plot, unsure as to whether your intense response to the storyline (as well as the storyline itself), would be keeping you up at night for the foreseeable future? Well, I have.

Don’t get me wrong, a lot of this book was difficult for me to stomach due to the harrowing emotions it brought out in me personally, throughout the entire length of novel; yet I was fixated on the unfolding events and was so gripped by what I was reading.

Hard hitting, spine tingling, severely shocking; Care to Die is an explosion of gripping and emotive words, all in one place. Wowza.

Thanks BloodhoundBooks.

Buy now from Amazon UK

ctd blog tour (1)

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – Care to Die by Tana Collins @Bloodhoundbook #CareToDie

  1. Thank you so much to TWG for reading and reviewing my second book in the detective Jim Carruthers series. I really appreciate you being part of my Blog Tour. It means so much to us authors. The storyline in this book was particularly difficult to write but I felt very strongly that it was a story that needed to be told and I tried to do it as sensitively as I could. Thank you for giving me such a favourable review! Tana x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

