#Review – The Spy Who Chipped the China Teacup by Angie Smith @cxviAngie @Bloodhoundbook

china1

Arms dealing. Murder. Corruption. 

In Africa, Taylor Hudson reaches the stark realisation that she is in imminent danger.

Time is nearly up when, out of nowhere, she is thrown a lifeline.  Left with little option, she places her trust in a complete stranger. But who is this stranger and why the interest in saving her?

The answers lie 6,000 miles away, deep inside the British Secret Intelligence Service, where a former, disgraced, senior officer is attempting to work his way back into the heart of the organisation. But what are his real intentions? 

What ensues is a deadly game of bluff, double-bluff and triple-bluff.

Can The China Teacup survive this time?

What does TWG think?

This book was the very first book of Angie Smith’s that I had ever read. I had absolutely no idea what to expect in regards to her writing style or anything, as I had never heard of her until this book.

It didn’t take me long at all to realise that the storyline would incorporate themes from genres out of my ‘usual’ range; by that I mean the addition of the spies. I didn’t want to give up reading the book due to it coming under the heading of ‘not what I usually would read’, so I gave it a go.

I’m not going to lie, there was a lot of information, character twists, and dramatic situations to follow throughout the entire novel. Sometimes I managed to follow it, sometimes I didn’t and I ended up being confused by all of the various hopping between different characters and different places. On the plus side, the complexity of the storyline meant that the intensity of the novel was raised, which meant it also kept me in suspense to a point.

I think that Angie Smith was very clever with the addition of the stranger and the lifeline. Not only did it grab my attention, it also left me with a lot of questions involving his integrity, what would be in it for him, how could Taylor actually trust this man, how did she know that he wasn’t going to tell her husband her whereabouts?

It was a pretty bold thing for Shepherd to have done, and an even bolder thing for Taylor to accept! With those questions in mind, the rest of the storyline began to unfold, re-fold, and unfold again. Just when I thought I would get answers or the situation would peak and become clear, the storyline completely swiveled and took a different route!

I could definitely tell that Angie Smith had seen Africa with her own eyes, instead of popping to Thomson for a brochure and second guessing the country. For me, Smith’s descriptions of Africa were the highlight of the book. Incredibly realistic and such a three dimension addition to the storyline.

Overall, my opinion of ‘The Spy Who Chipped the China Teacup’ kept changing throughout, so it took me a little while to work out whether I actually enjoyed it. I found the characters complexity to be a definite plus point, especially as they were all incredibly different and each brought something unique to the storyline. The intensity levels of the plot didn’t falter at all, which meant the pace was kept even and without any ’empty’ moments. Honestly? I struggled with the to-ing and fro-ing and copious amounts of information, as I couldn’t keep up most of the time. When I did manage to keep up, it was grand. When I didn’t though, it became a little frustrating.

That said, Angie Smith obviously knows her craft and I cannot fault her at all for the way she has approached the novel overall. I was entertained and gripped by the storyline itself, I’m not going to deny that. Despite this book being a ‘new one’ for me, I enjoyed what I could keep up with, as well as Angie Smith’s writing style.

I’m intrigued to see what she brings out next.

Thanks Bloodhoundbooks.

Buy now from Amazon UK

china

2 thoughts on “#Review – The Spy Who Chipped the China Teacup by Angie Smith @cxviAngie @Bloodhoundbook

Leave a Reply

