#Tour #Review The Many Colours of Us – Rachel Burton @bookish_yogi @NeverlandBT @HQDigitalUK

Many colours 1

Finallyyyyy!!! It’s my turn to host today’s stop on Rachel Burton’s blog tour for her debut novel, The Many Colours of Us, which was published by HQDigitalUK on the 26th April 2017! I hope you enjoy reading my review as much as I enjoyed reading this book.

Many colours

What if your life was built on lies?

Julia Simmonds had never been bothered about not knowing who her father was. Having temperamental supermodel, Philadelphia Simmonds, as a mother was more than enough. Until she discovers she’s the secret love-child of the late, great artist Bruce Baldwin, and her life changes forever.

Uncovering the secrets of a man she never knew, Julia discovers that Bruce had written her one letter, every year until her eighteenth birthday, urging his daughter to learn from his mistakes.

Julia begins to dig deeper into the mysterious past of her parents, opening up a history she’d never have imagined, but as she discovers the truth she needs to decide if she is willing to forgive and forget…

What does TWG think?

What do I think….what do I think….

1. Julia’s mother needs a stern talking to and a ruddy good shake.
2. Julia’s father should have been made to see sense when he was alive.
3. Julia needs a bloody big hug, with someone trustworthy to lead her in the right and TRUTHFUL direction.

Review done. kthx.

Fine, I’ll do a proper one! Although if I was asked to say three things about this storyline, the above is what I would come out with! Now, seeing as I haven’t been asked for three things in particular, I can now squeal and ramble!

Sometimes when I sit down to read a novel, I ensure I am on Twitter at the same time as I quite like tweeting the author whilst I read their book; Rachel Burton was one of those authors!

I have to say one thing first though as it really shocked me, to be honest I still can’t get my head round it….

HOW THE PICASSO IS THIS RACHEL BURTON’S DEBUT NOVEL?! DEBUT?!? DEBUT!?! I didn’t realise it was her debut until afterwards! The entire novel read as though it was written by an author who had perfected her craft! Can you tell that I was gobsmacked? If this is what Rachel Burton manages to deliver with a debut novel, I cannot WAIT for book two.

Julia Simmonds has grown up knowing one parent, her mother. Every time Julia tried to bring up the subject about her father, her mother culled the conversation, using the excuse of lack of memory for lack of information. As far as Julia was concerned this was her life, she trusted her mother and the information she had been given over the years. Her mother hadn’t exactly given her cause for concern regarding her father….

How could you not be hooked with a storyline like this? I thought my family had a lot of skeletons in our closets but EEEESH! It didn’t take me long at all to sink my teeth into the gritty and intense storyline, as soon as I was hooked I couldn’t put the book down, hence why it only took me a matter of hours to read. Unfortunately, I was able to relate to several of the situations that unfolded in this book, especially where Julia’s father was concerned.

Seeing as I read this book like an outsider looking in, I attempted to see the situation from each of the characters points of view to begin with, but I couldn’t help getting angry at Julia’s mother. Well, and her father! Their ‘logic’ was extremely selfish in my opinion. But like I said, I can relate to certain aspects of the book which is why my views are more emotionally based, and a lot harder than others.
Just to clarify, but views up to this point are solely on the storyline and not the way the author has written it, btw.

‘The Many Colours of Us’ blew me away on more than one occasion. It wasn’t all light-hearted and lovey dovey, the storyline was incredibly black and white at times (in a good way), powerful and unbelievably soulful. I don’t think I have ever read a debut novel that carried itself with such grace, intensity, and emotion, like Rachel Burton’s. I’m not going to lie, I couldn’t stand a couple of the characters in the book yet they brought another dimension to the novel, so they were put in the book for the right reasons (even if they did irk me).

Again, this is yet another review that I have to be rather vague about as every event and emotion in the book is linked to another. I don’t wish to get into trouble for causing a domino effect of spoilers!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Many Colours of Us’; Rachel Burton really has done herself proud by writing such a beautiful, but raw storyline. A lot of people are going to read this book and feel as though their own lives are being written about; yes, it really is that relatable.

Such a poignant and impressive debut novel. I loved it! Absolutely flawless.

Thank you HQ.

Buy now from Amazon UK

Author Bio:

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk, prodigiously early. In 2013 she finally started making one up that was worth writing down. 

She has a BA in Classics and an MA in English and has never really known what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a legal secretary, a yoga teacher and a paralegal. She never quite made it to law school.

She grew up in Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/bookish_yogi

The Many Colours of Us Schedule Graphic

2 thoughts on “#Tour #Review The Many Colours of Us – Rachel Burton @bookish_yogi @NeverlandBT @HQDigitalUK

Leave a Reply

