#BlogTour! #Review of Summer at Conwenna Cove by @DarcieBoleyn @canelo_co

Summer at Conwenna Cove blog tour 2

Thrilled to be one of the bloggers hosting Darcie Boleyn’s brand new book, Summer at Conwenna Cove, as part of the blog tour for Canelo! I hope you enjoy reading my review:

Summer at Conwenna Cove

In a gorgeous Cornish village, two brokenhearted people fall head over heels. But can the magic of Conwenna Cove heal the hurt of the past? A feel-good summer romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Phillipa Ashley and Jenny Hale.

Eve has a glittering career, a loving husband and a future. But a terrible twist of fate means she loses it all, and with nowhere left to turn she flees to her Aunt Mary’s home in Cornwall. The last thing on her mind is romance – until she meets Jack.

Jack has seen the worst things people can do to each other and realised he is better off alone. He settles in Conwenna Cove, and saves his affections for the rescue dogs he cares for. But when Eve arrives in the village he can’t deny his attraction to her.

Eve and Jack are both scared to trust, but when they come together it’s impossible for either to ignore their feelings. Can they put their fear aside and learn to love again?

Summer at Conwenna Cove is an emotional and heart-warming holiday read about being brave enough to take a chance on love.

What does TWG think?

Every time Darcie Boleyn brings out a brand new book I seem to turn into an excited puppy, unable to sit still and pining with impatience. Seriously, I’m not even kidding. Oh, and by ‘pining’ I mean DM’ing the author asking when her next book is coming out, over and over again. I’m nice like that, SOOOO not annoying.

Anyway. Cornwall. Again. Deep down I really didn’t want to groan about the setting as Darcie Boleyn is one of my favourite authors, but the groan just shot out before I could stop it. Now, I don’t have anything against Cornwall as it sounds so beautiful, it’s just there are loads of books which are set in Cornwall, most of them being published recently!

I kept an open mind and as I ploughed into the storyline and got to know the characters, my ‘issue’ with the setting went completely out the window. Eve has hit rock bottom. No longer is she the confident, carefree, optimistic individual she once was; instead she is a woman who has reached her breaking point. All I wanted to do was give Eve a big hug and obviously I couldn’t. I felt so, so sorry for her as a character as her circumstances were quite heart wrenching to read about. Seeing as Eve needed a change of scenery, my mind was so occupied with the way that she was feeling I didn’t seem to mind where she went, as long as she took the time she needed to recuperate.

It was from that moment that the storyline itself took precedence over the setting. The setting was an eye-catching addition instead of being the star of the show. For me, that is more important. I wanted to be able to connect with the storyline and its characters BEFORE I was able to gaze at the scenery; it’s no use if the setting of a book overpowers the true essence of the story and the characters. Hats off to Darcie Boleyn for writing such a powerful storyline that was able to showcase its own beauty.

Alongside Eve as a main character, is a man called Jack. A man who prefers his own company after being ‘stabbed’ in the back but people he thought he could trust. We’ve all been there, eh? I didn’t know what to make of his character at first as it took a while for his guard to come down, so his inner personality was always hidden away. It was as though he was always putting on a front. As time went on, his ‘guard’ kept doing squats by coming down, then going back up again, which meant that my opinion of Jack kept changing.

For me, the absolute stars of the show were the dogs in the rescue centre. Well, one in particular but I don’t want to say too much as I might give snippets away. I am not ashamed to say that where those dogs were concerned, ‘teary’ became my middle name. Wow.

‘Summer at Conwenna Cove’ sure does pack a punch in terms of intensity and depth. I was amazed at how full of information the book was, there was just so much to sink my teeth into!

I really have no idea how Darcie Boleyn does it, but she does. Every. Single. Time. I cannot fault this book at all, not even for the setting! I loved the diversity of the characters, the intense situations, the deep and meaningful conversations and the heart-warming moments with the dogs. Most importantly, I loved how the author brought all of the different situations and emotions together to create this mesmerising, huggable, rollercoaster ride of a novel; all without losing any momentum.

‘Summer at Conwenna Cove’ is a book to be read, cherished and understood. A book to be your hug when you’re on your own. A book to give you that confidence to be able to admit when you need to re-group. A book to give you the kick up the backside to ensure that your own well-being is put before anyone else’s. Not just A BOOK, it’s THIS BOOK.

Out-flipping-standing.

Thank you Canelo.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34925197-summer-at-conwenna-cove

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Summer-Conwenna-Cove-heart-warming-feel-good-ebook/dp/B06ZYK46GW/

Author Information

 Darcie Boleyn has a huge heart and is a real softy. She never fails to cry at books and movies, whether the ending is happy or not. Darcie is in possession of an overactive imagination that often keeps her awake at night. Her childhood dream was to become a Jedi but she hasn’t yet found suitable transport to take her to a galaxy far, far away. She also has reservations about how she’d look in a gold bikini, as she rather enjoys red wine, cheese and loves anything with ginger or cherries in it – especially chocolate. Darcie fell in love in New York, got married in the snow, rescues uncoordinated greyhounds and can usually be found reading or typing away on her laptop.

Author Links

Blog: https://darcieboleyn.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/darcieboleyn

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/public/Darcie-Boleyn

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/darcieboleynauthor/

Leave a Reply

