Repost due to error: #Review of This Love by Dani Atkins (@AtkinsDani) @SimonSchusterUK

Posting again due to error on the previous one. Apologies.

Dani Atkins

Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a long time ago, but could this love change all of that?

Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon – she’s a single, 31-year-old translator who works from home in her one-bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in dreams when she was a teenager and tragedy struck her family.
 
So, to be safe, she keeps everyone at arm’s length. Sophie understands she has a problem, but recognising it and knowing how to fix it are two entirely different things.

One night a serious fire breaks out in the flat below hers. Sophie is trapped in the burning building until a passer-by, Ben, sees her and rescues her.
 
Suddenly her cocoon is shattered – what will be the consequences of this second life-changing event?

What does TWG think?


You MUST read this book, okay? Review done. kthnx

If only this review would be as easy to right as that ^^^. Unfortunately due to the fact that Dani Atkins’ novel made my inner Ice Queen surrender to every single emotion in the storyline, I am feeling a smidge tongue-tied and may also end up in tears (again) by the time I have reached the end of this review.
(Yes folks, again)


Before I started reading, I had seen on social media that Atkins’ novel was receiving tweets stating that it was ‘extremely emotional’. Honestly? No disrespect to the author, I rolled my eyes and went ‘PFFT’ when I read that. Why? Because it can sometimes take a lot for me to truly get emotional about something, y’know, actually feel emotions -shudders-. Seeing as I was going to read ‘This Love’ anyway, the emotional responses made me rather intrigued. I knew deep down that I would probably end up being one of the few people to not cry at this book, because I am an Ice Queen….

After reading the book:

Me, not cry? Seriously? What on EARTH possessed me to be all cocky about not getting emotional?! I bawled like a baby, except it being the ugly version. If you don’t believe me nose on my Instagram as I felt the absolute need to tweet the author with my ugly crying face, seconds after reading her book. I’m nice like that.
(Dani, I’ll pay for your therapy).

‘This Love’ melted me like the snowman from the movie, The Snowman. It wasn’t the general type of emotional either (if there is one, but you know what I mean). It was the sort of emotion that comes from deep within your soul, absolutely cripples your senses and logical thinking, whilst also making you feel as though your own heart is breaking for the characters within the storyline. Raw.

Once again I am having to be slightly careful with my words to ensure that I don’t accidentally give any of the plot away. It’s pretty clear that Atkins’ has written ‘This Love’ from her own heart as her attention to detail where the storyline is concerned, is outstanding. Atkins’ hasn’t just written the bare necessities of a storyline and let the characters do the talking, no. She has created a life within the pages of the book. A life where we are able to visualise each character, every heart breaking moment, every momentous occasion, and yes, even being able to visualise the materialistic aspects too. Take a door for example. To us it would be just a door, it opens and closes, simple. If Dani Atkins’ were to describe a door in this storyline, it would be the most beautiful, iconic, majestic door you have ever seen. It may do the same things as our door, but which one would you remember out of the two?

I have read a lot of books where the characters love stories attempt to rival that of Romeo and Juliet’s or Kim Kardashian and Kanye West (I jest on the latter…I think), and whilst those love stories are always ‘awwww you guys!!!’, I struggle to relate because I am not a romantic. However, the love-type-story contained in THIS novel really made me believe that there is a little thing called love, out there. It was believable and realistic; what more could you ask for?

As for the characters in Atkins’ book, I would LOVE to sit here and have the opportunity to write my full opinion on them, however, I think my wrists would be slapped as spoiler central. So, I will try to be as vague as I can by saying that I LOVED reading about Sophie’s journey, as well as Ben’s journey. Their individual personalities were wonderfully written and a sheer joy to read.

‘THIS LOVE’ HAS TAKEN ITS TOLL ON MEEEEEEEEEEE, I SAID GOODBYE, TOO MANY TIMES BEFOREEEEEEE,

Please say I wasn’t the only one to do that….? Maroon 5-age!

Anyway, I veered off. Apologies.

‘This Love’ is such a beautifully written, literary work of art. Atkins’ outstanding portrayal of love, life and new starts, truly opened my eyes to things I never would have paid attention to before now. I would be lying if I said that this book didn’t completely blow my mind; because it did.
Absolutely phenomenal – if I could give it more than 5*’s, I would in a heartbeat.

Thank you S&S!

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

3 thoughts on “Repost due to error: #Review of This Love by Dani Atkins (@AtkinsDani) @SimonSchusterUK

  1. Wow, well, I guess I’ll absolutely have to read it. I read Our Song also by Danni and that broke my heart…into little pieces and made me sob, so much so our dog was quite alarmed. It sounds like this book made you feel the same way I felt about Our Song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

