#Review of Lost For Words by Stephanie Butland (@under_blue_sky) @bonnierzaffre

Lost for words

THIS BOOKSHOP KEEPS MANY SECRETS . . .

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never show you.

Into her refuge – the York book emporium where she works – come a poet, a lover, a friend, and three mysterious deliveries, each of which stirs unsettling memories.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past and she can’t hide any longer. She must decide who around her she can trust. Can she find the courage to right a heartbreaking wrong? And will she ever find the words to tell her own story?

It’s time to turn the pages of her past . . .

What does TWG think?

Oh, wow. Just…wow. The title of this book couldn’t have been more apt if it tried. Why? Because, after whizzing through this novel as though my life depended on it, I was actually Lost for Words.

Set in a good, old-fashioned style bookshop (where else could be better for a storyline setting!!) we follow the life of Loveday Cardew; the bookworm of all bookworms if you will. Or, to go one better, she’s the prologue as opposed to the epilogue. Loveday sees the bookshop as the only place that she can truly be herself and not be expected to be something that she isn’t. It’s as though the bookshop is her safe haven…for now anyway..

As a massive bookworm myself, getting stuck into ‘Lost for Words’ really was a dream come true. Errrr, hello, a book about books!! Do I REALLY need to go into any more detail? No, didn’t think so!

As the storyline started to unfold, we weren’t just reading a story about books, deliveries and old memories. Due to Stephanie Butland’s majestic and beautiful use of descriptions, it was as though I could reach my hand out and touch a book, or smell the scent of historical hardbacks and various homes. Butland’s spellbinding writing made every single word jump off the page and imprint itself in my mind, as though I was physically seeing the books for myself. Extremely vivid imagery, it was as though the book came to life before my very eyes.

Again, ‘Lost For Words’ has one of those types of storylines where you want to sit with a coffee and talk AT someone about what you’ve read, wanting to tell them all the special things about the novel, and seeing as I want to do that right now, this review is proving to be quite tricky to write!

Now, even though I adore everything about books, I was rather pleased to learn that this particular storyline had even more beautiful things to discover, aside from books. The characters in ‘Lost for Words’ are definitely a mixed bunch, there were maybe one or two that I disliked. Maybe. Maybe not. I’m not saying. Cough. However, there were so many loveable and huggable characters waiting to be discovered on every page. Well, to me it felt like that. I can tell you that my favourite character was indeed, Loveday. There were many moments throughout the novel where I just wanted to scoop her up into a big hug, and try to protect her from anymore harm. Loveday is such a beautiful spirited, angelic minded character with fiery twist to her. In my opinion, Butland has created such an unforgettable character with such a heartwarming soul, to get all of those positive traits in one person was such a joy to discover.

‘Lost for Words’ isn’t just beautiful covers, iconic authors and magical, literary moments; no. One moment it seemed as though the storyline was plodding along in its own little world, then the next moment a characters life came crashing down on them with no warning. Truthfully? I don’t remember breathing during those parts, I don’t remember any other expression on my face except shock (my mouth was open), all I remember was that my heart was pounding and I was afraid. It was as though the storyline was brought to a standstill except for this one, extremely vivid moment…

I cried, multiple emotions came tumbling out of my eyes and I thought to myself, ‘this author is phenomenal’.

To create ONE storyline full of endless emotions, good memories and bad memories, multiple layered characters, AND an exceptional plot and setting, is just…mind-blowing. I have never read anything like ‘Lost for Words’ before, ever. It truly is in a league of its own and to be honest, not many other books come close to this one.

‘Lost for Words’ is a powerful, thought-provoking tale about one person’s journey to self discovery and learning how to be loved. Stephanie Butland’s outstanding writing style is what makes this storyline stand out from the rest, alongside her beautiful creation that is; Loveday.

Poignant, heart warming, and totally unforgettable; ‘Lost for Words’ is the soul-searching, exceptional novel that I have been waiting for.

With all my heart; wow.

Huge thanks to Bonnier Zaffre.

‘Lost for Words’ is available to buy now from: Amazon UK // Amazon US

One thought on “#Review of Lost For Words by Stephanie Butland (@under_blue_sky) @bonnierzaffre

Leave a Reply

