#BlogTour! #Review of Last Witness by Carys Jones (@CarysJauthor) @aria_fiction

515C-x-i1SL

Amanda Thorne is on a mission to avenge her husband. Restoring his honour and protecting his legacy will be dangerous, but she will not rest until all those who have hurt her loved-ones have been dealt with. 

Her only option is to go undercover in the murky world of the gang kingpin McAllister. So, with her loyal companion Shane by her side, she heads back to Scotland to finish what they started. 

McAllister’s world is one of seedy nightclubs, drug deals and beautiful women, but he is a hard man to get close to. As Amanda gets deeper and deeper into his dangerous world, what secrets from the past will come back to haunt her, and will she be able to protect the last witness from the truth? 

A compelling, heart-stopping thriller which you won’t be able to put down…

What does TWG think?

I couldn’t wait to begin this one! I had seen Cars’ previous novel doing the rounds on social media when it was published, didn’t read it at the time but I do remember thinking to myself that I really did need to get my hands on her novel! I obviously didn’t take my own advice and ended up not reading her first novel and went diving into the second book, completely unawares; major fail.

‘Last Witness’ is the sequel to ‘Wrong Number’, SO, it would be extremely beneficial for you to read the first book BEFORE you begin ‘Last Witness’. Please don’t do what I did, even though I genuinely had no idea that the books follow one one another which meant that I spent a lot of the book going ‘errrrrr, what did I miss?’. I must admit, I was pretty disappointed. However, from the last quarter of the storyline to the very end, I was able to sink my teeth into the unravelling plot and really get a feel for Amanda Thorne’s edgy personality. She really is a feisty little minx isn’t she!

If I were to review this novel overall, excluding the initial confusion and sequel issues, I would confidently say that this storyline has one gritty, and dark plot with some rather questionable (yet intense) characters to go with it. I could see where Amanda was coming from in terms of being a woman scorned and wanting to stand up for what she believed in! I would hate to ever get on the wrong side of her or those close to her, that’s for sure!

Carys Jones’ suspenseful and dark writing style really caught me off guard (in a good way), as I really didn’t have a clue what to expect as she was a completely new author for me. In my opinion, Jones knows how to grab the reader in ‘Last Witness’ because of the intense storyline and manipulative characters, whilst also keeping the plot line believable and not over the top. However, due to spending most of the book feeling as though I was missing out on vital information, I couldn’t seem to gel with the lacking progression within the storyline as much as I would have liked.

Based on the suspenseful circumstances and heart pounding moments of the last quarter of the novel, I really did enjoy what I read; it really does hold a lot of promise. I am looking forward to her next release as I find her writing style intriguing and full of grit. Can’t complain at that really, can you!

Thank you Aria.

Buy links

Amazon // Kobo // iBooks // Google Play

LW banner

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review of Last Witness by Carys Jones (@CarysJauthor) @aria_fiction

Leave a Reply

