#BlogTour! #Review – #TheQuietMan by James Carol (@JamesCarolBooks) @faberbooks

thequietman
Eeek!!! I am beyond excited to be the second tour stop on James Carol’s blog tour for his new book, The Quiet Man, which is out on the 4th May (paperback, e-book 2nd May). Big, big thank you to FaberBooks (Lauren) for inviting me to be part of this blog tour, here’s to many more! I really do hope you enjoy reading my review!

thequietman1

In Vancouver, the wife of a millionaire is dead following an explosion in her own home.

Everyone thinks her husband is responsible, but former FBI profiler Jefferson Winter isn’t so sure. The method is too perfect; the lack of mistakes, uncanny. He’s seen a series of carefully orchestrated murders – once a year, on exactly the same day, a woman dies in a situation just like this one.

That date is fast approaching and Winter knows another victim has been selected. Can he identify the quiet man before he strikes again?

What does TWG think?

Oh.My.Goodness!!!! Where on Earth do I begin?! I started James’ novel at the weekend, and I also finished it at the weekend! If you follow me on social media you would have noticed how animated another blogger and I were about this book (HI CLAIRE! P.S her tour stop is Friday!). Before now, I had only heard of James Carol’s books and unfortunately never read one; what a fool. What a major, major fool I am. WHY HAVE I NOT READ ANY OF HIS BOOKS BEFORE!?!?! If you know the answer to that please….don’t tell me as I feel utterly ashamed of myself -rocks backwards and forwards-.

Let me just clear one thing up – ‘The Quiet Man’ IS from the ‘Jefferson Winter Thriller’ series, however, you can read this novel as a standalone as it doesn’t require any knowledge of the previous books to enjoy the plot. That said, if you’re anything like me, you’ll read ‘The Quiet Man’ and head straight onto Amazon to binge buy his other novels. Yes, yes, I did do that. Lets just say I have found a new favourite author (& series) thanks to this book. OH, EM, GEE!

Jefferson Winter is AMAZING! Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t like to get on the wrong side of him or bump into him down a dark alley, but oh, he really is a phenomenal lead character. Not only does he have a charismatic personality, he also has an authoritative air about him which he adds humour to, A LOT. I don’t mean ‘knock knock, who’s there?’ type funny, I mean dry, sarcastic humour that makes you laugh out loud and think ‘burn!’. Ooops, pardon the pun…

As much as I would love to scream and shout about how amazing and complex the plot is with snippets, I really do not want to land myself in hot water by giving away spoilers. The storyline IS incredibly complex and every piece of information is linked to something else, which increases the suspense level with every turn of the page. Absolutely brilliant. What amazed me the most was the high level of detail throughout the entire storyline as every part of the investigation had been meticulously thought through by the author. I could tell that this storyline was a labour of love instead of a rush against time.

‘The Quiet Man’ is such a gripping, intense, and fast paced read which took me prisoner from the very beginning. Carol’s bold and addictive writing style had me hanging onto every word he wrote and every mood he described, whilst also pulling me into the storyline as though I was seeing things with my very own eyes.

Honestly, I could gush about this book all day, it really was THAT fantastic. I loved the entire book; there was absolutely nothing that I felt could have been done differently. Usually I find books like this to be out of my comfort zone, but with ‘The Quiet Man’, I honestly don’t think that I could have felt MORE in my comfort zone.

If you’re looking for a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat, forget how to breathe, and feel as though time is on fast forward; then this book is for you. Without Faber Books alerting me to this phenomenal read, I probably would have missed out on finding my brand new favourite book and series, just like ‘The Quiet Man’ and Jefferson Winter have become.

A truly unputdownable novel, I honestly cannot recommend this book enough.

Thank you so much Faber Books.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

6 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – #TheQuietMan by James Carol (@JamesCarolBooks) @faberbooks

Leave a Reply

