#BlogTour! #Review of Dead Souls by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie) @Bookouture #DIKimStone

angiem1

The truth was dead and buried…until now.

When a collection of human bones is unearthed during a routine archaeological dig, a Black Country field suddenly becomes a complex crime scene for Detective Kim Stone.

As the bones are sorted, it becomes clear that the grave contains more than one victim. The bodies hint at unimaginable horror, bearing the markings of bullet holes and animal traps.

Forced to work alongside Detective Travis, with whom she shares a troubled past, Kim begins to uncover a dark secretive relationship between the families who own the land in which the bodies were found.

But while Kim is immersed in one of the most complicated investigations she’s ever led, her team are caught up in a spate of sickening hate crimes. Kim is close to revealing the truth behind the murders, yet soon finds one of her own is in jeopardy – and the clock is ticking. Can she solve the case and save them from grave danger – before it’s too late?

An addictive, sinister crime thriller that will have readers on the edge of their seat.

What does TWG think?

Such an honour to be one of today’s stop on Angela Marsons’ blog tour for her new book, Dead Souls, which was published by Bookouture on the 28th April 2017! Thank you to Kim Nash from Bookouture for inviting me to be involved in such an outstanding authors blog tour.

First DI Kim Stone novel, ever! Yes, I know, you’re probably wondering where on Earth have I been hiding to not have read any of the previous books in the series, I even wonder that myself!

It didn’t take me long to fall for Kim Stone’s personality at all, in fact I think it only took me a couple of percent to agree with what other readers have been saying about her; FABULOUS. For me, Kim Stone’s character came across as such a down to earth and real individual, which I loved. It’s not often you read a novel where the leading character is severely kick ass and blunt, yet is still connected with her emotions.

I am a huge fan of storylines where there is a huge question mark looming from the very beginning, as watching the storyline unfold and waiting for the secrets to come to light, is what grips me and keeps me interested. I was so pleased when I noticed that ‘Dead Souls’ hopped, skipped, and jumped its way into that category. From the very start of the book, I was engulfed with information such as brand new characters, investigation information, as well as copious amounts of unanswered questions. And you know what? I literally rubbed my hands together in excitement, there was just so much grit and dirt to sink my teeth into! Part of me felt a tad apprehensive though, yet I have no idea why!

Even though the storyline was incredibly generous with its plot and levels of intrigue, there were several moments during the book where I felt like the speed of novel had slowed. Don’t get me wrong, it still kept me interested as more information was being given and the characters changed direction due to circumstances at the time, yet it seemed to take a while for everything to come together and the suspense levels to rise. When the storyline did come together it didn’t take long at all for goose bumps to cover my entire body and a nervous feeling to set up camp in the pit of my stomach. I just wish the last part of the book wasn’t so boom-boom-boom ‘the end’. That said, what a belter of a book!! Maybe it leaves the door open for Kim Stone to return, I don’t know. But, judging by the fact I wanted more, I really do hope that we get to see more of Kim Stone.

I thoroughly enjoyed Angela Marsons’ novel, especially the complex investigational skills and questionable character personalities; absolutely brilliant. I can definitely see why Angela Marsons’, ‘Kim Stone’, series has sold so many copies!! She certainly knows how to keep her readers dangling, and wanting more with her exceptional writing skills.

Again, remind me why I haven’t read a ‘Kim Stone’ novel before now? If you’ll excuse me, I’ll be making my way to Amazon right about now to hide in book one of this series!
Oh, and yes, I highly recommend this novel; such a brilliant and intense read that was led by a sassy and kick ass Detective. What more could you want?

Thanks Bookouture.

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

About the author.

Angela lives in the heart of the Black Country with her partner, bouncy puppy and potty mouthed parrot.

It has taken many novels to find that one character who just refused to go away. And so D.I. Kim Stone was born.  The D.I. Kim Stone series has now sold over 2 million copies.

www.angelamarsons-books.com
https://twitter.com/writeangie
https://www.facebook.com/angie.marsons

The party isn’t over yet, folks!! There is still more to come where this blog tour is concerned, so feast your eyes on the graphic below to follow the rest of the tour!

angiem

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review of Dead Souls by Angela Marsons (@WriteAngie) @Bookouture #DIKimStone

Leave a Reply

