#BlogTour! #Review – A Life Without You by Shari Low (@sharilow) @Aria_Fiction

shari

Touching, funny, and bittersweet, this is a story that will make you laugh, cry, and call your best friend to tell her you love her.

Dee and Jen have been best friends since their days of teenage crushes, bad 90’s make-up and huge hair.

They’ve passed every milestone of their lives together and now in their thirties own a successful boutique, sharing a bond that is as strong as the closest of sisters.

Until one day everything changes.

Dee is gone, killed by a reckless driver, leaving Jen to face the harsh reality of a world without her.

Jen vows to honour Dee’s dreams and take care of everything and everyone she loved.

Until she realises that sometimes the only way forward is to let go of the past.

What does TWG think?

Dee and Jen’s friendship was one of a kind; the storyline made that extremely clear from the very beginning. Witnessing how close they were, even for such a short space of time, was such a joy to see. But out of the blue, a nervous feeling started to come over me and as I hadn’t read the blurb beforehand, I had no idea what I was nervous about as I didn’t know what would happen. Just as I was trying to ignore the nervous feeling….

BAM!

All of a sudden, the storyline felt like it was unfolding in slow motion. The sheer horror, the pain, the distressing circumstances; every little detail was written with precision and intense clarity. I could see the event unfolding in my head. I could hear the screams. I could hear the sound of Jen’s heart breaking into millions of pieces. I wanted to cry but I couldn’t; I was numb.

Those events will forever be etched in my mind as they were so vivid! What a mighty good way to start the novel though, eh! If I could go through such a range of emotions in a chapter or two, then my hopes would be soaring for the rest of the storyline. Considering that Shari Low began the novel with such a belter of situation, she managed to keep the momentum going through the rest of the novel. Of course I was a bit concerned that the following chapters wouldn’t live up to what I read first, but I needn’t have worried.

My heart went out to Jen, and Dee’s family as reading about the aftermath was quite emotional and extremely heart breaking. It must have been quite a difficult subject to write about, yet Shari Low kept it realistic without adding any unnecessary outlandish features. Very sensitively written. It made a change to read a storyline containing the topic of death, whose characters didn’t just ‘get over it’ the next day. I really did appreciate how realistic the grieving time-frame was written into the storyline, as well as lightly touching upon individual characters grief.

The more that the storyline unfolded, the more skeletons came out of the closet which made for rather entertaining reading. Well, it also meant that I got rather annoyed with a character or two, but you can’t have everything though haha.

I have seen Shari Low’s novels on Amazon previously, but they have always been under the ‘oh I must read that soon’ heading. I am really glad that I got an AriaAddict kick up my tooshmanoosh to read one of her books; Shari is a phenomenal story-teller!

Shari’s words seemed effortlessly written, and flawlessly projected through such a heart-warming, emotional and intense storyline. If that’s not a description of a literary genius and an outstanding novel, then I have no idea what is.

From the bottom of my heart, ‘A Life Without You’ is a truly beautiful read which showcases Shari Low’s incredible literary talent, as well as her ability to trickle emotion through each and every chapter like a mini waterfall. Outstanding.

Thanks Aria.

Buy now from Amazon UK

About the author

Shari lives in Glasgow and writes a weekly opinion column and Book Club page for a
well-known newspaper. She is married to a very laid-back guy and has two athletic
teenage sons, who think she’s fairly embarrassing, except when they need a lift.

Follow Shari
Twitter: @ShariLow

To find out what the other bloggers on the tour are saying about Shari Low’s novel, you can find out who is hosting the next few stops, below:

shari1

 

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review – A Life Without You by Shari Low (@sharilow) @Aria_Fiction

Leave a Reply

