#Tour! #Review: The Cows – Dawn O’Porter (@hotpatooties) @fictionpubteam #Dontfollowtheherd

dawnoporter

Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god. I cannot believe I am about to type the following sentence; today it’s TWG’s stop on Dawn O’Porter’s blog tour for her new book, ‘The Cows’!

Let me just let that sink in a moment…Dawn O’Porter is on TWG. THE Dawn O’Porter….can somebody pinch me please?! SQUEAL!! Can you tell I’m excited?! Huge thanks to the lovely Emilie from HarperFiction for giving me a stop on the tour! Anyway, lets get this tour stop started then shall we?

dawnoporter1Fearlessly frank and funny, the debut adult novel from Dawn O’Porter needs to be talked about.

COW [n.]
/kaʊ/

A piece of meat; born to breed; past its sell-by-date; one of the herd.

Women don’t have to fall into a stereotype.

Tara, Cam and Stella are strangers living their own lives as best they can – though when society’s screaming you should live life one way, it can be hard to like what you see in the mirror.

When an extraordinary event ties invisible bonds of friendship between them, one woman’s catastrophe becomes another’s inspiration, and a life lesson to all.

Sometimes it’s ok not to follow the herd.

The Cows is a powerful novel about three women – judging each other, but also themselves. In all the noise of modern life, they need to find their own voice.

What does TWG think?

Dawn O’Porter’s sought after novel, The Cows, has arrived!! Dawn’s book has been on my radar since late last year, so I was beyond thrilled when I was able to get my grubby mitts on a copy, shut out the big wide world and ignore everyone and everything for the duration of the novel. And you know what? I did just that!

Three completely different women; each with such individual life-styles, yet their paths manage to cross in the most unusual way.

Tara; a working mum who battles ‘working mumma guilt’ thanks to her male colleagues, as well as copious amounts of sexual frustration (in no way linked FYI). Oh! & she constantly battles the aftermath after a certain train incident. Ahhhh!
Cam; a misunderstood blogger who is all for women’s rights. She uses her blog as a platform to try to inform the world that maybe, just maybe, not all women want to have children. Who would have thought it!
Lastly, Stella; a woman whose personal life has gone from bad to worse in no time at all, and now her future seems to be taking the dreaded path of uncertainty. Stella is near the point of no return and to be honest, she’s a bit of a mess.

A lot of men say that females are incredibly difficult to understand. Maybe we are, but seeing as both genders are built-in completely different ways, it doesn’t take a scientist to work out that females are going to be wired differently than males. Saying that, should we constantly have to explain our actions and our choices to them, and anyone else, if they don’t fit into the box that society has allocated us? No, we shouldn’t and visa versa. Can you imagine 30 million females + in the UK explaining every single choice they made? I can’t, which is why I was over the moon to see that Dawn O’Porter had voluntarily become the voice for millions of women via her novel.

Dawn’s three characters cover just some of the issues that can arise on a daily basis, where females are concerned. Working mum, mum life, mummy guilt, social media highs and lows, choosing not to have children, and so much more. I have seen other people saying that the concept of the novel is far too busy and has too much content. My response to that is; ehhhhhhh no. Why? Because for starters its three different lifestyles and three different women. The issues discussed in the novel isn’t just one character choosing the short straw and having to deal with everything I mentioned, and more. Secondly, it is probably quite rare to come across a female who has just one situation to contend with; having multiple issues in the one novel is more realistic otherwise we could have ended up with ‘The Cows – Part One’, and so on
Thirdly, this book is severely kick ass and whilst some of the characters choices are quite questionable (although hilarious), nobody can fault Dawn O’Porter for taking taboo and often misunderstood topics, laying them bare and owning them.

This storyline has everything you could ever wish for in a book as it contains very colourful language, shameless situations and copious amounts of nitty-gritty honesty. Did I have a favourite character? No I didn’t. Did I dislike any of the characters? No. However, I disliked a few of the paths that the ladies chose to go down. Don’t get me wrong when we get caught up in an emotionally charged situation or two, our logical thinking goes out the window and we charge into things like a bull in a china shop; I just thought about those choices based on the decisions that I would make in the same instance.

As for favouritism, all of the ladies had something rather special about them and unfortunately I was able to relate to one of them in particular. I say ‘unfortunately’ due to what the character faced in the storyline but I was fortunate to be able to relate to them on a personal level.

Dawn O’Porter has written such an emotionally charged and high energy storyline, which highlights the importance of living your life the way YOU choose to without feeling guilty for making a different decision to those around you. The storyline also highlights the true extent of peer pressure and what can happened if someone is unable to fight against it. I absolutely loved this book from start to finish as the honesty and power made me feel like I could combat anything, as long as I believed in myself and my decisions.

I laughed, I raged and yes, I even cried whilst reading ‘The Cows’. ‘The Cows’ is what the book world has been waiting for. ‘The Cows’ is what the female population has been waiting for. ‘The Cows’ is what I, TWG, have been waiting for.

A truly outstanding, intense, emotional and honest novel from the incredible voice, Dawn O’Porter. I will be recommending this novel until the cows come home…literally. And you know what else? #Dontfollowtheherd has just become my new mantra and it SHOULD be YOURS too.

Dawn O’Porter, you’re an absolute legend, please can you bring out a handbag sized book of ‘O’Porter’ wisdom? The world needs more of you and so do I (not in a stalker way obvs).

Thank you SO much HarperFiction!

Buy NOW from Amazon UK.
Buy NOW from Amazon US

dawnoporter2(picture credit: David Loftus)

3 thoughts on “#Tour! #Review: The Cows – Dawn O’Porter (@hotpatooties) @fictionpubteam #Dontfollowtheherd

Leave a Reply

