#BlogTour! #Review: The Beachside Flower Stall by Karen Clarke (@KarenClarke123) @Bookouture

karenclarke1
A heartening and uplifting read about lost love, true friendship, and blossoming romance. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Cathy Bramley, and Debbie Johnson.

Carrie Dashwood fled Dorset ten years ago when her best friend Megan stole her love, local heart-throb Tom. Now she’s back to help run her aunt Ruby’s flower stall in idyllic Shipley.

Trying to persuade herself that her feelings for Tom are in the past, Carrie plans to avoid him and Megan completely. But it’s not to be, because Ruby’s Blooms are arranging the flowers for Megan and Tom’s wedding.

Soon Carrie’s crawling under the stall to hide and accidentally inventing an imaginary boyfriend… But with the stall’s finances in jeopardy and Ruby needing her niece more than ever, Carrie has to keep her emotions in check.

With bouquets to arrange, family secrets to uncover, and Tom unavoidably a part of her life again, can Carrie keep her cool, save the stall, and find her very own happy ever after?

What does TWG think?

I am thrilled to be popping back to Beachside Bay for another visit, as today I have the pleasure of being one of the hosts on Karen Clarke’s blog tour! ‘The Beachside Flower Stall’ is book two from the Beachside Bay series with ‘The Beachside Sweet Shop’ being book one. You can find my review of that book right here: #BlogTour! #Review of The Beachside Sweet Shop by Karen Clarke (@karenclarke123) @bookouture.

What a book! Carrie Dashwood is back in her hometown after many, many years and, whilst a lot of things have changed, one thing in particular has remained the same over the years; her feelings for Tom. Whilst Carrie continues to brush those feelings under the carpet (or flower stall), she remains blissfully aware (for now) that her feelings for Tom will be making their presence known, as will Tom himself.

Considering Carrie’s working background, I didn’t know whether to laugh or hold my head in my hands when she went to work on the flower stall for her aunt. I’m not being nasty by giggling, but she really was completely out of her comfort zone there yet she handled it like a pro. Okay, the customers may have thought that their children could produce tidier bouquet’s than she did, but her ‘go with the flow’ work ethic and trying her hardest despite being a complete novice, relaxed the storyline and instantly made Carrie THE most relatable character.

I know that fiction is allowed to create ‘perfect’ characters who complete every job, or task like they’re dab hand at everything and anything. I get that, but sometimes it’s quite nice to come across a character who isn’t perfect at a new job at first and they don’t take to it like a duck to water. It makes them seem ‘one of us’, does that make sense? I think it’s safe to say that Carrie was my favourite character in book, that’s for sure. I found the other characters nice in their own ways, well, except one, and they all brought something different to the over all feel to the book.

I really fell for this storyline hook line and sinker because of its warmth and heartfelt layers, the entire novel gave me such a fuzzy feeling! Probably will explain how I managed to finish the novel in one day then…

When the storyline branched out, we were able to find out more about Ruby, Carrie’s aunt. Let’s just say that for several chapters my heart broke for her and I really did wish for her dream to become a reality. I kept my fingers crossed haha.

‘The Beachside Flower Stall’ is by far my most favourite book of the series! I loved how the overall feeling of the book was able to change dependant on each individual character, as it gave the storyline the edge. I did find a certain situation to be a touch on the predictable side which was a shame for all of 0.5 seconds, however, it didn’t ruin how I ended up feeling about the book as a whole.

A beautiful, touching storyline which will have you feeling fuzzy from your head to your toes, and possibly your shoulders and knees in between. I thoroughly enjoyed The Beachside Flower Stall, especially as I was able to enjoy flowers without sneezing due to hayfever! I’m looking forward to seeing what Karen Clarke brings out next.

Thanks Bookouture & Netgalley.

Buy: Amazon UK // Amazon US

About the author

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

https://twitter.com/karenclarke123

The blog tour isn’t over yet folks! To see what other bloggers are saying about Karen Clarke’s new novel, check out the other stops on the blog tour! Details below:

karenclarke

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s