Author of ‘Those Who Lie’, @DianefJeffrey chats to TWG! @HQDigitalUK #authorinterview

dj1
I am absolutely thrilled to welcome back to TWG, author of the AMAZING ‘Those Who Lie’, Diane Jeffrey! I had the honour of being able to review that very novel and you can find my review here: #BlogTour! #Review – Those Who Lie by Diane Jeffrey (@dianefjeffrey) @neverlandbt.

It feels like ages ago that I last interrogated an author, and quite frankly, I was having withdrawal symptoms! Luckily for me, Diane was happy to step into that spotlight and I really do think that I was rather easy on her…this time anyway! I hope you enjoy reading the chat that Diane and I had! As always, the book link will be after the interview!

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time for this interview!

  • Could you tell us a bit about yourself and the genre you write?

    Hi Kaisha! Thank you so much for interviewing me! My name is Diane Jeffrey. I grew up in Devon and I now live in Lyon, France with my husband and our three children. My debut psychological thriller has just been published by HQ (Harper Collins).

 

  • What made you choose that particular genre as your niche?

    When I first decided to write a book to try and get it published, I wrote a Chick Lit novel. It didn’t get published and it was over ten years ago. At the time, I read a lot of Chick Lit. But, although my tastes in reading are quite wide, I read more thrillers than any other genre, and in particular psychological thrillers. So, years later, I tried my hand at that instead!

  • Have you always wanted to become a published writer?

Yes. Ever since I was little. I wrote stories and poems even when I was a little girl. I even illustrated some of them, which makes me cringe now as I am absolutely hopeless at drawing!!! I sent a novel off to an editor when I was eight years old. It was entitled The Stowaway. Needless to say, I was unsuccessful!

  • Where did you get your inspiration from for your debut novel?

    I wanted to write about a female protagonist who is harassed over the Internet. A friend of mine sent me an article in which a man complained that he’d been receiving disturbing messages on Facebook from his ex-girlfriend. He didn’t know what to make of these messages as she was supposedly dead! This inspired the beginning of Those Who Lie.

  • If you could pick a favourite character from your book, who would it be and why?

    It would probably be Emily, my main character, even though she’s not really likeable and I am not really like her! She is a complex, traumatised character. She can’t trust anyone around her, not even herself. She makes some bad decisions, avoids her problems and is dishonest, including to herself, but she’s smart, she does her best and I think she’s strong.

  • Did you dislike any of your characters along the way?

    Ooh, yes. All of them at some stage! Josephine certainly won’t be getting a nomination for mother of the year award! And Emily’s father was pure evil!

  • Time for a tough one, if you could choose any book that has already been published to be the author of, which one would you choose and why?

    I think the first time I read a book and thought: ‘God, I wish I’d written that’ was the first Harry Potter book. I thought it was absolutely brilliant! The fact that I would now be a multi-millionaire if I’d written that book just reinforces that feeling! More recently, I’ve had that same thought when reading The Fault in our Stars by John Green, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and The Hundred-Year-Old Man who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.

  • Do you have plans for your next novel? If so, what can we look forward to?

    I’ve started a second novel. It’s another psychological thriller. It focuses on domestic abuse and I’m currently discussing this with another central female character who has experienced it. Psychological abuse can be so much more insidious, but just as damaging as physical abuse, and I’d like to explore this.

  • Are there any authors you aspire to? If so, who and why?

Apart from the authors whose books I wish I’d written myself, my ideal author would be a mixture of Dennis Lehane and Stephen King but with a British voice. That’s who I’d like to be!!!

  • One final question. What advice would you give to a writer that wants to be published? Any words of wisdom?

Get in touch with authors who write in your genre. Via Twitter, Facebook and friends of friends, I got in touch with people who not only gave me sound advice, but also became good friends.

See, I wasn’t lying when I said that it was a tame interrogation! I really do hope that you enjoyed reading Diane’s author interview and I can assure you that the interrogation level will be higher next time. Whoops, sorry Diane haha.

If you’re curious at all about Diane Jeffrey’s novel, here is the blurb and the all important ‘buy’ link!

dj1

Emily Klein doesn’t know she has killed her husband until the day of his funeral.

At first, signs point to a tragic accident. Yet, as Emily pieces together the events before his death – events which led to her own memory loss – she begins to suspect that her husband’s death may have been the result of more than a terrible twist of fate…

But the accident is only the beginning. Because while Emily’s physical scars will heal, the trauma of the accident has awakened old ghosts. She hears strange sounds, catches things that can’t possibly be there in the corner of her eye. Before long, everywhere she looks, she seems to see her husband.

And suddenly, Emily finds herself asking the most dangerous question of all.

Buy now!

Can she really trust herself?

8 thoughts on “Author of ‘Those Who Lie’, @DianefJeffrey chats to TWG! @HQDigitalUK #authorinterview

Leave a Reply

