#BlogTour! #Review of Will To Live by Rachel Amphlett (@RachelAmphlett) @emmamitchellfpr

wtl1

Reputation is everything

When a packed commuter train runs over a body on a stretch of track known to
locals as ‘Suicide Mile’, it soon transpires that the man was a victim of a calculated murder.
As the investigation evolves and a pattern of murders is uncovered, Detective
Sergeant Kay Hunter realises the railway’s recent reputation may be the work of a
brutal serial killer.
With a backlog of cold cases to investigate and attempting to uncover who is behind a professional vendetta against her, Kay must keep one step ahead of both the killer and her own adversaries.
When a second murder takes place within a week of the first, she realises the killer’s timetable has changed, and she’s running out of time to stop him…

What does TWG think?

Stepping out of my comfort zone yet again today as I review Rachel Amphlett’s, Will To Live. Will To Live is the second book in the Kay Hunter series, and whilst it can be read as a standalone, if detective series aren’t your usual ‘go to’ genre, it might be beneficial to read book one first so that you’re introduced to Kay Hunter properly. I didn’t read the first book in the series, Scared To Death, and I am kicking myself. Detective style novels aren’t my usual genre, I’ll admit that, yet Rachel’s new novel intrigued me as I had seen it SO many times on social media. I just wish that I had read her first novel before this one so that I didn’t feel as though I was walking into a conversation half way, as it were.

‘Will To Live’ took me by surprise on more than one occasion. Not only does the storyline come across ‘tame’ to begin with, the gradual unfolding of nitty and gritty circumstances was a much welcome surprise. Although the descriptions of some of the deaths did make me feel a little bit queasy! Gruesome yet realistically written. If a death didn’t have an edge of gruesomeness to it in a police procedural novel, is it even worth writing it into the storyline? Luckily for Rachel Amphlett, she gets top marks from me for keeping the stomach churning events incredibly realistic. That said, I know it’s Kay Hunter’s job to be in the firing line, so to speak, in regards to deaths, suicide attempts and so on, finding those victims in that state and then having to deal with the aftermath must have been awful.

Compared to other detective style novels which I have read, Kay Hunter doesn’t seem to be lacking in her work ethic. She is incredibly feisty and fair yet she comes across as one of us. Thanks to T.V and the way crime scenes are portrayed, I just assumed that detectives/constables were made of stone and empathy wasn’t one of their go to emotions. Rachel Amphlett’s main character, Kay Hunter, completely blew my assumption out of the window (in a good way).

Reading Ms.Amphlett’s novel was quite similar to being on a rollercoaster ride, multiple times. There always seemed to be something going on in the storyline whether that was to do with an investigation or personal feelings, there was no let up or slow moments in the entire storyline. Well, I didn’t think so anyway. Even though I enjoyed the fast storyline, the chilling circumstances and a bulshy natured main character, I do feel as though I missed out on something by not reading the first book.

‘Will To Live’ kept me on my toes, and had me on the edge of my seat to the point of falling off and landing on the floor. No joke. Even though I stepped out of my comfort zone with one giant leap for….woman kind, there is something about this storyline and Kay Hunter, that has left me hungry for more. I never thought I would say that, but hats off to Rachel Amphlett for writing a novel to keep me interested enough to want more. I will be backtracking in the series before the next book (if there is one!), I refuse to miss out on any more of Rachel Amphlett’s nerve wracking, suspenseful and shocking storylines. A nice change from my usual read, Will To Live has left me wanting more. I may be hooked but shhhhh!!!

Thank you Rachel Amphlett & E.Mitchell

Will To Live by Rachel Amphlett will be released on the 4th April 2017, where it will also be available to purchase on Amazon (no link at present), as well as the two links below.

Buy – Kobo


About the author.

Rachel Amphlett is the bestselling author of the Dan Taylor espionage
novels and the new Detective Kay Hunter crime thriller series, as well as a number of
standalone crime thrillers. Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel’s novels appeal to a worldwide audience, and have been compared to Robert Ludlum, Lee Child and Michael Crichton.

She is a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association,
with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold, being sold to Fanucci
Editore’s TIMECrime imprint in 2014. An advocate for knowledge within the publishing industry, Rachel is always happy to share her experiences to a wider audience through her blogging and speaking engagements.

You can keep in touch with Rachel by signing up to her mailing list via her website
Twitter: @RachelAmphlett


wtl

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review of Will To Live by Rachel Amphlett (@RachelAmphlett) @emmamitchellfpr

  1. Hungry for more sounds really good. I do know a lot of detectives by now who are fleshed out like real people, with flaws and emotions but I’m still missing a Kay Hunter in the list, I’m curious about her. This novel is on my readlist ;-). Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

