#BlogTour! #Review – Mystery at Maplemead Castle by Kitty French @KFrenchBooks @Bookouture

kittyfrench1
Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate pecan cookies come with a helping of sabotage.

Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally.

A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

What does TWG think?

Happy publication day to the FABULOUS Kitty French and book two in the Chapelwick Mystery series, Mystery at Maplemead Castle! You may remember TWG HQ being extremely vocal about the first book in the series back in 2016, when it was previously titled ‘Melody Bittersweet and the Girls Ghostbusting Agency’ (Book review of ‘Melody Bittersweet and The Girls Ghostbusting Agency’ by Kitty French.). Well, fast forward a year and the first book has had a make-over and is now called ‘The Skeletons of Scarborough House’ (FYI it’s only 99p for a limited time only buy here). That book made my top books of 2016 list, and my top books of all time list. I didn’t think that the series could become even better than was (super brilliant btw)….until I read book number 2. I am beyond thrilled to be one of the blogs kicking off Kitty French’s blog tour today! I hope you enjoy my review:

Melody Bittersweet is back with a bang; even more flamboyant and a MUCH looser mouth. Put it this way, I can no longer look at certain chocolate bars in the same way after reading this book. When I see them out and about in shops, I just burst out laughing and think of Melody Bittersweet and her antics. Although, the images my mind conjures up about her antics, leave such a mark on my imagination whilst taking my innocence along with it. HAHAH, sorry, I couldn’t even type that with a straight face. Innocence my double decker….

In book one of the series, Melody Bittersweet had a love hate relationship with the sweet treats. Basically she loved them and hated anyone that went anywhere near them or attempted to eat them. Book two sees Melody’s love of sweet treats rank even higher and it is absolutely hilarious. Some familiar faces join Melody as she takes on ghosts at Maplemead Castle, finding herself caught in the middle of a love triangle with the ghosts, AND her personal life (she doesn’t want to admit it though). Melody and her team (including the pug who attempts to take down a lion…) have got their work cut out where these ghosts are concerned. None of the ghosts which to talk, and when they do, they think that the truth isn’t what Melody wants to hear..so they refrain.

Having LOVED book one (as you already know), I was in a constant state of bouncing excitement whilst pestering Bookouture about the next book in the series (sorry Kim!). I couldn’t wait to hang out with Melody again! Part of me was a little bit apprehensive about it though as I truly loved the first one and really hoped that Maplemead Castle wouldn’t disappoint. It didn’t disappoint, AT ALL. Kitty French managed to raise the bar even higher for herself with such a hilarious and intense storyline. Yes, Kitty French has a truly fantastic sense of humour and she has written Melody Bittersweet to be a character who everyone wants to be, however, Kitty French also knows when to switch the storyline from hilarity, to deep. I really don’t know how she manages to do that so flawlessly. The history of the ghosts this time around, completely moved me and I did end up with something in my eye, cough. I couldn’t help it though, it was beautifully described and totally unexpected.

Kitty French knows how to write THE perfect storyline; covering all basis with amazing humour, friendship, romance, dog love and sugar love, leaving the reader feeling as though they have just won a prize by reading this book. Even though Maplemead Castle is book two, Kitty French’s unique writing style and vivid imagination made everything about the book feel brand new, once again.

I ADORE Melody, she is such a brilliant character in more ways than one, I would love it if she was a real person so that I could hang out with her for real! Kitty French has managed to have me crying with laughter and unable to conform to human duties, aka breathing, AND even looking at chocolate bars in a completely different way. I thought the first book was great and couldn’t get any better, but oh my God THIS one is a-m-a-z-I-n-g!!! Absolutely fantastic!

THIS is by far one of my top 5 books of 2017. I have no idea how Kitty French manages to do it, but she does and she owns it. Absolutely BRILLIANT, I was devastated that the book had to end and I want another one in the series!!!!!! You’ll be missing out if you do not have Melody Bittersweet in your life, seriously.

Thank you Kim at Bookouture!

Buy from Amazon UK
Buy from Amazon US

kittyfrench


Leave a Reply

