#BlogTour! #Review #PilotJane by Caroline Baxter @IZZIpics @bigsunbooks @fayerogersuk

plane1

Don’t you wish that you had a plane like THAT?! ^^^
I am super excited to welcome Big Sunshine Books to TWG HQ today! Based in Oxford, Big Sunshine Books are taking the children book genre by storm (or sunshine), and, as a mummy to a three year old, I am so excited that I am able to enjoy such beautiful books with her.
You can find out more about Big Sunshine Books right here.

Today, Pilot Jane and the Runaway Plane are landing right outside TWG HQ for a re-fuel and a review. Enjoy!

plane

Information about the Book
Title: Pilot Jane and the Runaway Plane
Author: Caroline Baxter
Illustrator: Izabela Ciesinska
Release Date: 8th March 2017
Genre: Picture Book
Publisher: Big Sunshine Books
Format: Paperback
Goodreads Link
Amazon Link

Blurb.

Join Pilot Jane, a fun and fearless airline captain, as she travels the world with her

best friend Rose, a high-speed passenger jet. Together Jane and Rose have exciting
adventures and form a perfect team, delivering their passengers safely to
destinations as far afield as Alaska and Australia. But when disaster strikes and Rose
falls ill, Jane is paired with ‘lean, mean flying machine’ Mighty Mitch. Can she still get the Queen to her party on time? Featuring a clever and courageous heroine, this
action-packed rhyming story celebrates ‘Girl Power’ and shows what you can achieve if you work together. Fasten your seatbelt and get ready for take-off!

What does TWG think?

My little three year old daughter was completely speechless when I handed her Pilot Jane. She loves planes, tractors, fire engines and so on, so when she spotted the pink plane she yelled; ‘Mumma!!! That plane is pink and flowery!!! I want one!’. If anyone wishes to manufacture a miniature version of this plane, please shout me when you do as she wants one haha.

Any children’s books that come through my letterbox always get given to my daughter first, as it’s really her reactions and thoughts that my children’s book reviews are based around. This time though, we sat on the floor with Pilot Jane in front of us, and I began to read the story out loud.

My first impression of the contents were the incredible illustrations, they are outstanding, eye-catching and so perfect to look at. I loved them. Eva is at the age where she finds a lot of things hilarious, even grumpy, funny faces and funny noises; so when she spotted Jane pulling a lot of various faces through the book, she was in absolute hysterics. Hats off to Izabela Ciesinska for the amazing illustrations. Such beautiful, beautiful work that makes the storyline jump off the page and into your imagination.

I’m also such a big kid at heart, so when I spotted the plane refuelling on cake, I just knew that Pilot Jane would stay in my mind for a long time to come. The rhyming storyline was fantastic as it was easy to read and kept my little one’s interest.

‘But once in the air, Mitch raced through the cloud.
He looped and swooped, feeling clever and proud.’

Now, what I truly love about children’s books is the fact that they’re always centred around a topic that will help to guide the children through their childhood, and sometimes even further. Pilot Jane shows children, with the help of a plane or two, exactly what team work is all about, even including the possibility of calm moments before the storm. Well, or the runaway plane in this case. Pilot Jane doesn’t hide away from the true meaning of team work, no. What she does is show the good with the bad by keeping it real and showing the children that sometimes you just can’t fix things or do things by yourself. Sometimes you do need a little bit of help, especially if your helper is on the same page as you and knows how to listen.

What a brilliant message to highlight in a story! Even as adults we take team work for granted!

I asked Eva what she thought of Caroline Baxter’s storybook, Pilot Jane and the Runaway Plane, here word for word, is her reply:

‘Mumma, it made me laugh cause the plane swooped and swished and the Queen’s tee-eye-ra (tiara) fell off. She was a grumpy bum! Can I have a pink plane soft toy like Rose? It can come to bed with me! Thank you for my book mumma, I love it, it’s super cool!’

Just like Eva, I loved this storybook and I believe that both children and adults will read it with a HUGE grin on their faces. Fabulous!

Big thanks to Faye Rogers and Big Sunshine Books for this fantastic children’s book!
Buy now!

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review #PilotJane by Caroline Baxter @IZZIpics @bigsunbooks @fayerogersuk

Leave a Reply

