#Review – The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher (@kerryfswayne) @bookouture #blogtour

tsw

How the bookmark are we in March already!?! Cor blimey! Today is the last day of Kerry Fisher’s blog tour and what a cracker of a tour it has been, just LOOK at the bloggers which have been involved! I am a HUGE fan of Kerry Fisher’s books, so when Kim from Bookouture asked me to be part of Kerry’s blog tour, I nearly bit off her hand saying yes. I am absolutely thrilled to be one of the two blog stops today, helping to round-up a page turning tour, for a page turning author. I have the pleasure of sharing my review for ‘The Silent Wife’, with you today, I hope you enjoy it! Big thanks to Bookouture for putting my quote on the blog tour banner, extremely honoured!

swkf
(*Previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives*)

Blurb.

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

A heart wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.’ Write Escape

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. The one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

What does TWG think?

Having LOVED Kerry Fisher’s previous novel, ‘After the Lie’, I couldn’t contain my excitement when I found out about her new novel; I really could not wait to get stuck into it.  Kerry Fisher, for me, had set the bar really high with ‘After the Lie’ and part of me did wonder how she was going to top my reaction to that novel, with this storyline. By golly, she did it though. Oh.My.Word. WHAT A BOOK! The speed at which my heart was racing throughout the entire novel was concerning; I’m surprised I didn’t faint! There was no time for me to compose myself from the moment I started reading, well, unless I put the book down and who on earth would want to do that?

Have you ever spotted a family and based on impressions and basic information (job status, house etc), thought of them as a ‘perfect family’? We have all done it; if we don’t do it to Joe Bloggs down the street, we take celebrities lifestyles as perfect…from the outside anyway. Lara and Massimo are THAT type of family; husband with a good job, wife ‘manning’ the house and childcare arrangements, beautiful house and the lifestyle to rival the Beckhams. Oh how looks can be deceiving eh! Massimo’s brother, Nico, has a new wife and seeing as she hasn’t been involved with the families shortcomings or questionable ‘caring’, her opinions are a little less…conceited.

By Maggie entering the family via marriage to Nico, she has a lot to prove to an already established family with many skeletons in their closet; and nobody likes being the new girl. The storyline really got going after the second chapter; introductions to the characters had been made and questionable circumstances were being highlighted. To be honest, ‘questionable’ is a little bit of an understatement! The amount of hair-raising and sweaty palm (nice!) moments that this book contained is outstanding. No matter how hard I tried I could not get one step ahead of the storyline, I had absolutely no idea what the outcome was going to be.

When bits and pieces started to connect and the true depth of the storyline was revealed, my heart was pounding and I felt incredibly sick. So much was going through my mind (if I told you it’d be spoilers, obviously) since a couple of the characters wanted to raise various alarms and my hands felt as though they were tied, I couldn’t help, all I could do was…’watch’.

Maggie started off as the new girl and ended up becoming the ultimate heroine, a change in title that had me in tears and I have no idea why.

The Silent Wife is a novel that will keep you on your toes and on high alert, the entire way through. Reading Kerry Fisher’s new book will take you on a journey of fear and secrets, and will have emotions pouring out of you in various different ways, without you even realising it.

A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you’ll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again; not only has ‘The Secret Wife’ become my favourite book of Kerry’s, it has also become one of my all time favourite books. absolutely outstanding, is there no end to this authors talents?! Next book please!!

Thank you Bookouture!

Buy ‘The Silent Wife’ by Kerry Fisher – Amazon

One thought on “#Review – The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher (@kerryfswayne) @bookouture #blogtour

Leave a Reply

