#BlogTour! #Review of Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick (@franvicksays) @Bookouture

fv

There really should be some sort of club for Bookouture addicts as they produce some FAB books from FAB authors, and I am hooked on their books! Can you tell that this book was published by Bookouture? Thrilled to be one of the two blogs that Frances Vick is stopping at today, especially as the other blogger is super lovely! For my stop, I will sharing my review of Frances Vick’s new release, Bad Little Girl.

fv1
‘I’m not safe – you have to help me…’

Little Lorna Bell is from a notorious family on a rundown estate. Everyone thinks she’s a nasty piece of work. The schoolchildren call her a thief. But Lorna’s hair is matted, her shoes pinch her feet and school teacher Claire Penny can’t help herself; some kids just need a bit more support, a bit more love, than the rest.

As the bond between teacher and pupil grows stronger, Claire sees Lorna’s bruises, and digs to uncover the disturbing tale behind them. Heartbroken, Claire knows she has to act. She must make Lorna safe. 

Just when Claire thinks she has protected Lorna, a chance encounter brings enigmatic stranger Marianne Cairns into their lives. Marianne seems generous and kind but there is something about her story that doesn’t quite add up. Why does she feel so at home, and why is Lorna suddenly so unsettled? 

Claire has risked everything to save Lorna. But what can save Claire from the shocking truth?

What does TWG think?

Oh, my; I wish I knew how to begin! ‘Bad Little Girl’ had me changing my opinion on the book, multiple times throughout. One minute I was showing empathy and the next moment I was reading the book through my fingers. I found the storyline a little slow to begin with, as the first few chapters seemed to be centred around Claire and her instincts.

As Claire Penny is a teacher, she takes her job rather seriously and holds herself personally responsible when it comes to the pupils. Well, one pupil more than the others, Lorna Bell. Claire’s concerns over Lorna’s wellbeing, ends up taking over her mind and leaves her on tenterhooks every day. Can you really care TOO much?

Claire came across as an incredibly naïve and weak character as she always seemed frightened to say what she thought, and many times I shouted ‘get a backbone!’. Once the storyline got going, I’m surprised I didn’t break my kindle from the furious tapping to change the pages. There was  A LOT of information and wild characters to sink my teeth into (not the actual characters, just to clarify); it was really hard to step away from the book.

Lorna, Lorna, Lorna; I don’t think I can say too much about her as like Claire, she is one of the main characters, yet Lorna has a lot of layers to her. Frances Vick has written such a marmite character where Lorna is concerned as she is just a child, however, her antics made me go from empathetic to angry to concerned to shocked. The whole shebang to be honest. I think Lorna is going to get a lot of readers talking that’s for sure!

All of a sudden, the intensity of the storyline completely changed from an ‘on edge, looking over shoulder’ type feeling, to a ‘what the actual f…..’ kind of feeling. I will admit that the pre-bedtime-for-three-year-old wording was fudge and not the naughty word (that was used when she was in bed)! From that moment on, for me, the storyline became exceedingly uncomfortable to read. Not due to how the author had written it, no, it was because every situation and outcome was SO vivid in my mind, it was as though it was happening right in front of me there and then. All of the noises surrounding the characters grew louder in my head, as though a recording was getting played. It was a really surreal feeling but yes, I found those circumstances to be an uncomfortable read.

However!! The fact I felt uncomfortable didn’t deter me from finishing the book, at all. The author has quite clearly done what she set out to do where her genre is concerned, with a reader like me! I didn’t even guess the outcome of the book either!

Overall, despite having many, many goosebumps all over my body, Bad Little Girl is an intense rollercoaster ride of uncertainty. Full of a fair few ‘what the f…..’ moments, Frances Vick has written a novel which most certainly packs a punch….or two. Gritty, dark and intense, Bad Little Girl is a book you need to read, even if you’re a wuss, as you’ll be missing out!

Thank you Bookouture!

Buy now from Amazon UK
Buy now from Amazon US

About the author

The only child of parents who worked at a top security psychiatric hospital, Frances grew up receiving disquieting notes and presents from the patients. Expelled from school, she spent the next few years on the dole, augmenting her income by providing security and crewing for gigs, and being a guinea pig for medical trials. Later jobs included working in a theatre in Manhattan, teaching English in Japanese Junior High Schools, and being a life model in Italy, before coming back to London and working with homeless teenagers and refugees.
www.francesvick.com
https://www.facebook.com/FrancesVickAuthor/
https://twitter.com/franvicksays

7 thoughts on “#BlogTour! #Review of Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick (@franvicksays) @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

